We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice as a pub not the best for food.”

O'Neill's Leicester
Ranked #452 of 1 275 Restaurants in Leicester
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: You'll always find a warm welcome at O'Neill's in Leicester. Ours is a place where you're free to go with the flow. Where great food and drink is always served with a smile. And where, no matter whether you're a regular or a newcomer, our friendly team will make you feel at home. Irish pubs are known for their hospitality - a point we love proving here at O'Neill's in Leicester. We are one of the best pubs in Leicester for Irish food, drink and atmosphere. Come and see for yourself - drop by for a bite to eat, to watch some sport, to enjoy our live music or just for the craic. Slainte! What We are Famous For... Our live music nights on Friday and Saturday have been packing out the place for many a year now because good, honest entertainment never goes out of fashion. And the grill menu has seen our tasty and filling Irish food offering go from strength to strength. Leicester Tigers fans tell us there is no place (apart from Welford Road!) they'd rather be on big match days, plus we provide a home from home for supporters and players during Irish provincial matches.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We popped in for a drink and the place is clean and tidy and the bar staff were very nice too, we then decided to sample the food so we placed an order. My wife had the ribs which she found quite nice the chips could have been better, I chose a pizza which I ordered extra thin which you then get some salad. When my pizza arrived it was half a pizza yes half! the pepperoni was the most bland pepperoni I have ever tasted and it lacked cheese so all in all it was a let down. Oh the mushrooms in batter starter was nice but can we have a side plate with that please.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for your rating!

We are very sorry to hear about the experience you had on your visit and would like to inform you that we have since had a menu change and this particular meal has been removed.

We would love for you to come back and give us a second chance and try our new menu!
We hope to see you again soon!

Tara
FOH Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2018

This is our ‘go to’ place for something to eat when we are out and about in Leicester. We have eaten breakfast, lunch and dinner here on many occasions, and not once have we had any reason to complain about either the food or the service. The menu is extensive, and the meals arrive shorty after ordering them, are always piping hot, well cooked and tasty. The staff are a credit to the establishment, as they always seem happy, and are always polite and friendly. There are large flat screen TV’s throughout the place showing various sports channels. The table layout is well thought out with plenty of space around them. Another advantage when eating here is that I can use my Defence Discount Card, which gives me 10% off food, but even if I did not have this card I would still eat here as the food and service is so good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlexTheJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you Alex for an absolutely craicing review and rating!

The team will be recognized for their efforts and this review will encourage them to keep up the great work!
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Tara
FOH Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Me and my wife came here for st Patrick's day but we quickly left due to the lack of atmosphere. The music is just a background hum, they barely played anything irish and its so poorly lit it's like having a drink in the toilet of a working mens pub. We've come here many times over the years and it was great so its a real shame to see it decline like this.

Thank Anthony Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit on St. Patricks day.
We would like to look into this further and gain a little more feedback from you. With this being our biggest day of the year we always strive to improve and would love to hear your opinion. Please feel free to contact us directly at Leicester@oneills.co.uk.

we look forward to hearing from you.

Tara
FOH Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Alright place to drink but don't eat here me and my wife have on several occasions and received stale bread and cold food arwful

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Hello Jonathan,
We are very sorry to here about your experience with us. We would like to here some more information about your time with us so we can investigate further. Please feel free to E-mail us directly on the below address.

Leicester@oneills.co.uk

Again we are very sorry for your experience with us and hope to hear from you soon.

Tara
FOH Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

We visited here Thursday Lunchtime for drinks and food.
The place looks more welcoming since the renovation.
The staffs were friendly and welcoming.
The Lunch Menu was appealing. At £5 it was very good value.
Food was good and tasty. Beer choices always good here especially Craft beers.
We enjoyed our visit here and I would recommend the place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rameshlcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Thank you for a Craicing review and rating!
We’re so glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Tara
FOH Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Neill's Leicester also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Oadby, Leicester
 
Enderby, Leicester
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to O'Neill's Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing