We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs!”
Review of Ape Index

Ape Index
Ranked #27 of 87 things to do in Leicester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ape Index is an indoor bouldering, ninja warrior and obstacle race gym. We have a 200 sq metre bouldering wall and many ninja warrior and obstacle race obstacles and climbing training aids. We offer a training environment for children, beginners and supermen. There is something to pull every muscle in every direction and under every duress imaginable. You can learn to balance, swing, jump. You will get stronger, more supple, more agile and more aware. You can build strength, and not just specific single plane pushing or pulling strength, but overall strength from your toes to your head, pushing, pulling and gripping. You can develop power, not lifting power, but explosive pulling and jumping power. Then you can work your strength endurance on the pegboard or power endurance on the salmon ladder, or overall endurance by running through the obstacle courses.
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

I bought this 'experience' on Groupon for my 2 children. It's hideous! Shabby and unsafe. No harnesses on climbing wall. Solid concrete floor next to climbing obstacles. It's dreadful. I'm surprised this place has passed health and safety regulations! Avoid!

Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlixA112, Public Relations Manager at Ape Index, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Julie,

Sorry about the late reply, we have only recently claimed this as out business listing. We are sorry you were disappointed with your visit, however this is a bouldering wall, which means a wall without harnesses and ropes on a height restricted wall that has a large crash mat underneath. No bouldering wall anywhere in the world has harnesses and ropes.

As for the ninja obstacles, there are more than sufficient crash mats available. Ape Index is a ninja warrior, obstacle course racing and bouldering gym and there are endless ways to set different courses and train on different obstacles, it is not a soft play area, but a training gym, so the same as in other gym you need to move the crash mats to the obstacles you are training on.

I really hope this helps, we are sorry to hear you we disappointed, but it is incorrect that it is unsafe as there is a standard bouldering mat all along the bouldering wall (as in any other bouldering gym) and there are sufficient crash mats throughout to be moved to the obstacles you are training on.

Regards,
The Ape Index Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bouldering wall"
in 3 reviews
"warrior training"
in 3 reviews
"obstacle course"
in 2 reviews
"purpose built"
in 2 reviews
"brilliant place"
in 2 reviews
"ninja"
in 8 reviews
"obstacles"
in 10 reviews
"skills"
in 3 reviews
"gym"
in 3 reviews
"rightly"
in 2 reviews
Filter

29 - 33 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed what was on offer and the staff were very friendly and welcoming with plenty to see and do which I think I will return with the family

3  Thank kelvingunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Great new bouldering facilty in Leicester!
Run by a really nice guy with a sense of humour who has obviously put his heart + soul into creating a challenging wall that he understandably loves + takes pride in. That's no surprise really as he's scrubbed the floor, repaired the building, designed the venue, built the wall, set 70 routes, done the marketing + was standing behind reception when we arrived (albeit dragging a planer over some new home-made plywood holds)!
This place ain't shiny but has the feel of the loft/basement of an elite climber where he + his mates hang out, train + dream. Nigel (the owner, builder, route setter and receptionist) was helpful, polite + chatty showing us routes we hadn't discovered yet, moves we should try + grades we can only aspire to.
Gradings seemed realistic although the very low grades weren't so easy and there seemed to be a lot of pinches + long reach moves (at least in most of the routes I was able to try in 90mins) so I'm waiting to see how my little 8 year old daughter fares. Nigel has his own numbering system (based on the Ninja apparatus gradings, from an easy 1 up to an evil 10) alongside the more familiar Bouldering V Grade and French Sports Grade but as the gym rules state "if you understand how unrealistic these comparisons are then you don't need them" (paraphrased, sorry). The wall tops out at the maximum allowed 4.5mtrs with varying degrees of overhang but no cave and there are deliberately no usable arrets. The mat is new + VERY firm but he has additional soft mats that you can drag around with you if you're working on a problem that pushes your limits near the top.
There's also a side room with custom-built endurance testing boards, campus boards, rings, etc and a partially finished kids' "Hard Play Area" (as opposed to Soft Play) as well as the tempting Ninja Warrior training obstacles which require an hour's induction before use.
The planned Phase 3 includes the construction of a mezzanine to house a future café / canteen. Phases 4, 5, 6 + 7 are eagerly anticipated, whatever they are, but don't hold your breath...this whole project is a one man operation + that man still has a lot to do to make his complete dream become reality.
Entry price was mid-range for what we usually pay to climb indoors locally but a "12 visits for the price of 10" offer and 3 month or 12 month membership option makes it more affordable as a regular activity. However, having looked at the website after we left, Nigel now owes me £1.50 as my son is under 18 but paid full price this evening. Chances are though it will probably end up in his honesty box for coffee when we next return anyway
This exciting new climbing gym needs customers + it's biggest plus for us is it's location so we shall be back, hopefully we'll see you all there!

3  Thank TeeKayeWun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

I went for the ninja competition and I loved it, they're has been a lot of hard work put in to make obstacles to replicate the ones on ninja warriors and sasuke. I will definitely be going again soon to play despite being over an hours drive away from me

3  Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2016

If you want a taste of obstacle course racing or ninja warrior training without signing up for the real thing or a race, then this is the place to go! Play for an hour or spend half a day there, it is definitely worth a trip. Located on a small trading estate not far from Fosse Retail Park it is in easy reach of lots of other great things to see and do (National Space Centre, Abbey Pumping Station, etc.). It is all indoors, so completely independent of weather conditions outside.
I have been several times now and this was the second time we went as a family, extremely helpful and family friendly. The children loved it and can't wait to go back. It is set up to suit all sorts of abilities and we also follow their Facebook page for upcoming events.
There is already a great range of OCR and ninja warrior obstacles there and a grip strength training section in the back room, but the massive bouldering wall is going up right now and we can't wait to go back!

3  Thank Alix A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ape Index also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Ape Index? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing