We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
70
41
16
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
41
16
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew ownersfresh fruitsea viewnorth pierair showcooked breakfastbudget hotelnight porterlovely hotelwould stay here againone night stayon arrivalideal locationtown centrethoroughly enjoyed our stayup to datefull english
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

I booked this hotel for a 1 night stay for my parents. They were very happy with the standard of the hotel and cleanliness of the room. They said the breakfast was very nice and staff were very helpfull. Thanks for a lovely stay!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Owner at Stretton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

You're more than welcome!

We are so pleased that your parents enjoyed their stay and hope to welcome them once again to The Stretton :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

just returned from the stretton hotel. the hotel is basic but I believe it is being renovated so I am sure it will improve,the staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful even though they were rushed off there feet due to staff shortage, donna and Irene the entertainment was excellent making it a very pleasant evening, the cooked breakfast was very good and tea and coffee was provided in the room,the only negative, was that our room was not cleaned or towels changed for the three nights we stayed even though we did mention it to reception,i think house keeping needs some improvement.

Room Tip: sea view but can be a little noisy
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank christopher w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Owner at Stretton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback!

Unfortunately, due to three members of staff being off sick, we were short staffed during your stay. We apologise for the lack of room cleaning. Even though were short staffed this should have been done for you.

We're really pleased that you enjoyed Donna and Irene, they really do make a super team.

We are beginning renovations and hope to see you again soon.

Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The location of this hotel is near the tower and almost opposite the North Pier.
On check in we were allocated our room at the far end of the hotel with a rear view over the car park. The hotel staff are brilliant with nothing being a problem for them.
The breakfast is very good with a selection of juices and cereals and English breakfast with unlimited toast/bread, butter coffee or tea.
On the Monday evening we had entertainment with Irene & Donna and it was a very enjoyable couple of hours of singing and games which involved everyone. As I said the staff are very good but for us, Lewis, the evening barman/night porter was excellent.

Room Tip: Small rooms at the back.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Owner at Stretton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our staff are a great group of people and they work incredibly hard so it is lovely to hear your thoughts about them.

We will be sure to pass on your feedback.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you once again to The Stretton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Stratton Hotel is located on the Promenade adjacent to the North Pier.

This is a tired looking budget hotel in need of refurbishment. I understand new management have taken over the hotel in January of this year. In fairness to them only time will tell if they can lift it from its current condition.

Small reasonably well stocked bar. Old stained glass window-lights add a nice touch to the room.

Large dining room with a further seating area overlooking the Promenade, beach & North Pier.

Staff are pleasant, helpful & efficient.

There is a lift to upper floors, however mezzanine floors are reached by staircases.

The room my wife & l occupied was small, a vanity sink & mirror with tiled splash back occupied a position opposite the foot of the bed. The toilet & shower cubicle were cramped. Water pressure was poor from the electric shower.

Draughty I’ll fitting transom window kept the room chilly.

Tea & coffee makings & biscuits on offer.

Comfortable mattress, plump pillows. Reasonable quality bath towels.

Good choice of cereals, various bread/toast, orange juice, tea & coffee. Nicely cooked full English breakfast.

WiFi was only available in public areas, but this was apparently a temporary measure.

Appears to be wheelchair/disabled friendly, but upon booking this would need to be specified/verified.

Clearly some remedial repairs etc have been carried out. I wish the new management every success with their venture.

All in all this is cheap accommodation including a breakfast choice.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gregory O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Owner at Stretton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you so much for your well thought out and helpful review!

We are aware that some areas of the hotel are looking a bit tired/dated and we ask that guests bear with us as we work hard to bring The Stretton back to its former glory. Although keen to get it 'looking right' we felt that the guests' warmth and safety were of the utmost importance and have therefore spent our initial few months making sure that all safety regulations are adhered to, installing a new boiler system, a new ventilation system and new roofing.

Over the course of the next two years we will be refurbishing all the rooms and public areas.

We would be very interested to know which room you were in as we have been draft proofing the windows and if they are still not quite right in the room you were in we would like to remedy that.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you to The Stretton at a future date.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Where to start... booked a weekend stay here , rooms are VERY basic, with a dirty bathroom included. Meals are VERY basic - so not a lot of option. There is also a lot of building work / alterations being carried out which is disruptive. A few of the younger staff was certainly rushed off their feet - but was very polite while serving breakfasts. Would be a lovely view out of the Windows- if they were cleaned ! The hotel in general is shabby and I certainly would not be recommending it.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere !!!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank andyandjen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Owner at Stretton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback.

We're not sure which weekend you stayed but there has been no building work carried out at The Stretton recently. The staff area is being decorated but that is well away from any bedrooms or public areas.

Unlike many chain hotels, we offer our guest far more in the way complimentary products and friendly service. Yes some of our rooms are basic but we believe we offer exceptional value for money.

We are puzzled over your claim that the windows are dirty because the entire building has had its windows cleaned - it would have been very helpful it you had pointed out this issue to a member of staff during your stay.

We provide a great choice for dinner at a very reasonable price and firmly believe that our offering is both tasty and great value for money.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews