We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stretton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Clifton Court Hotel(Blackpool)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$90
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$79
US$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Blue Hotel(Blackpool)
US$134
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Oak Lea Hotel(Blackpool)(Great Value!)
US$51
US$49
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$115
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Blackpool South Promenade(Blackpool)(Great Value!)
US$45
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
42
22
9
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
22
9
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh fruitnorth piersea viewone nightbreakfast was includedhandy hotelnew ownerscooked breakfastfull englishwater pressurethoroughly enjoyed our staybudget hotelvery nice staybooked this hotellocation is excellentbreakfast was amazingkeep up the good work
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Stratton Hotel is located on the Promenade adjacent to the North Pier.

This is a tired looking budget hotel in need of refurbishment. I understand new management have taken over the hotel in January of this year. In fairness to them only time will tell if they can lift it from its current condition.

Small reasonably well stocked bar. Old stained glass window-lights add a nice touch to the room.

Large dining room with a further seating area overlooking the Promenade, beach & North Pier.

Staff are pleasant, helpful & efficient.

There is a lift to upper floors, however mezzanine floors are reached by staircases.

The room my wife & l occupied was small, a vanity sink & mirror with tiled splash back occupied a position opposite the foot of the bed. The toilet & shower cubicle were cramped. Water pressure was poor from the electric shower.

Draughty I’ll fitting transom window kept the room chilly.

Tea & coffee makings & biscuits on offer.

Comfortable mattress, plump pillows. Reasonable quality bath towels.

Good choice of cereals, various bread/toast, orange juice, tea & coffee. Nicely cooked full English breakfast.

WiFi was only available in public areas, but this was apparently a temporary measure.

Appears to be wheelchair/disabled friendly, but upon booking this would need to be specified/verified.

Clearly some remedial repairs etc have been carried out. I wish the new management every success with their venture.

All in all this is cheap accommodation including a breakfast choice.









Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gregory O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Owner at Stretton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you so much for your well thought out and helpful review!

We are aware that some areas of the hotel are looking a bit tired/dated and we ask that guests bear with us as we work hard to bring The Stretton back to its former glory. Although keen to get it 'looking right' we felt that the guests' warmth and safety were of the utmost importance and have therefore spent our initial few months making sure that all safety regulations are adhered to, installing a new boiler system, a new ventilation system and new roofing.

Over the course of the next two years we will be refurbishing all the rooms and public areas.

We would be very interested to know which room you were in as we have been draft proofing the windows and if they are still not quite right in the room you were in we would like to remedy that.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you to The Stretton at a future date.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Where to start... booked a weekend stay here , rooms are VERY basic, with a dirty bathroom included. Meals are VERY basic - so not a lot of option. There is also a lot of building work / alterations being carried out which is disruptive. A few of the younger staff was certainly rushed off their feet - but was very polite while serving breakfasts. Would be a lovely view out of the Windows- if they were cleaned ! The hotel in general is shabby and I certainly would not be recommending it.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere !!!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank andyandjen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Owner at Stretton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback.

We're not sure which weekend you stayed but there has been no building work carried out at The Stretton recently. The staff area is being decorated but that is well away from any bedrooms or public areas.

Unlike many chain hotels, we offer our guest far more in the way complimentary products and friendly service. Yes some of our rooms are basic but we believe we offer exceptional value for money.

We are puzzled over your claim that the windows are dirty because the entire building has had its windows cleaned - it would have been very helpful it you had pointed out this issue to a member of staff during your stay.

We provide a great choice for dinner at a very reasonable price and firmly believe that our offering is both tasty and great value for money.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

I stayed for one night as a last minute thing. What a lovely hotel. Spotless room + en suite. Breakfast was lovely. Location was perfect. Deffo returning. Bonus was i've known Cheryl who works there for years but not seen her for over 15 years! Keep up the good work guys

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lozzie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Owner at Stretton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely review!

We're so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and are thrilled that you 'found' Cheryl.

We hope to welcome you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed here and well what can you say.... its a budget hotel and it was excellent. The staff are very helpful and the hotel was spotless.

They was having work done while we was there and you didn't even know.

The room.
Everything you want is there.
BED check
Kettle check
En suite check

Perfect for a night away.

Would I stay again.....
YES I would. Right on the sea front and only 5 mins to the tower and all the hype that's there.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Phillandnics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Owner at Stretton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay!

As you rightly say, we are having work done to update the hotel but are working around our guests to minimise any kind of noise or discomfort.

Thank you once again and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

We had booked for a 3 night stay
It was out of season so we got a great price
When we arrived we were greeted by Steve and Jo
extremely friendly and welcoming
we were shown to our room and to be honest the whole hotel needs to be upgraded as the Hotel is in a great place and over looking the sea and with a bit of investment it would be a great hotel as it clearly was years ago
Listen, yes there was a lot wrong with our room and the Hotel but like I have said from the start, you get what you pay for, the sheets and the towels were clean and that's all that mattered
Had it been perfect then I am sure I would be paying well over £80 a night
All of the staff were really helpful as we had issues with the TV and it was a great hoot coming down each morning to tell Steve that the TV had lost all its channels again!
The breakfast was brilliantly cooked each morning and the staff were great and attentive
Would we stop here again? yes without a doubt as long as we can have room 209 again :-)
Well done all of you, we really enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Room 209 was the best
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Foody-Buff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Owner at Stretton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Hello and thank you for your review!

We couldn't agree more that the hotel needs some updating and we have a 2-3 year improvement plan that we have implemented. We are focusing on getting the core offerings right - staff, cleanliness, good food, etc - and most guests find this is working :)

I'm sorry you had a problem with your TV. We recently purchased a number of new TV's for some of the rooms, we'll take a closer look at the TV in room 209 and see if it needs replacing.

Thank you once again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews