We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveller rating
112
119
76
49
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
119
76
49
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews booked through blackpool promotions free travel pass mystery hotel central hotel mon fri new carpet food was lovely hotel staff every evening staying at this hotel coral island beans last weekend bar prices couldn't fault single bed see you next year
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 413 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Cabaret weekend with my 2 daughters arrived quite early and was allowed to leave our casesin the reception told to come back at 12 which was ok but somebody needs to tell receptionists to either brush there teeth after smoking or use mints cause it was disgusting when he was talking to me got our keys at 12 room was ok apart from the big gouges out of the wallpaper and tele didnt work which didnt bother me first night dinner was ok scampi was nice lets face it you only pay 99 pound for three nights so not expecting gordon ramsey breakfast is a total and utter shambles went down at 9 and there wasnt a clean table anywhere sat down at a dirty one to wait waited about 5 mins she dusted the tables down and was ready to put settings down and i said can you please wipe it and was given a dirty look im sorry but thats badic hygeine and i couldnt believe it when other people were sitting at dirty tables and were given there meals just totally unacceptable in this day and age basic foid hygiene and i know cause i have a certificate with working in a care home and i used to be a chef didnt have a meal on saturday night went out to a chinese which was amazing but thats another review sunday night came down to dinner at our time stated and there was somebody sitting at our table waitress said it was her fault then asked us to sit at a table with someone else i said no so i walked out to go see the manager she came after us and said the table was ready but she was making the lady who was at the table and was already eating her meal move which is just not on so out of courtesy i just said that i would sit next to the lady cause it wasnt her fault this is just not acceptable all in all i wont be back said it is refurbished but has a lot of work to be done maybe later on in season will be better but in my opinion spend more and stay at the seabank i go to blackpool 4 times a year and dont think will use blackpool promotions again there prices have went up and self drive discount has been halved

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Lindsay1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Lindsay1972,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent holiday to the Royal Alexandra Hotel.

I have spoken with our management team at the hotel regarding the issues raised in your review and unfortunately we do not recall any complaints being made by yourselves during your time at the hotel – this saddens us as it doesn’t give us the opportunity to make right and ensure your stay is the best it can be.

With reference to our receptionist – we have spoken with staff regarding the issue of personal hygiene to ensure our excellent standard is maintained.

In regards to your room – as mentioned above unfortunately no issues were raised during your time with us, should you have made staff aware of your dissatisfaction we may have offered another more suitable room subject to availability as a resolution. Our team will always do everything they can to make your stay the best it can be. We have passed on the issues relating to the wallpaper and the television to our maintenance team for investigation – we do thank you for bringing matters to our attention.

The food and service at the Royal Alexandra usually gets extremely good feedback from many returning guests – It’s great to hear you enjoyed our lovely scampi on the first evening however we are sorry to hear there were issues with service during breakfast time the following morning, our staff will always usually endeavour to get guests seated and served as quickly as possible, should there be no available tables during busy periods – staff will kindly ask guests to please take a seat in our lounge area until a table becomes free. Staff are all trained and sanitize tables as per procedure – we will speak with our serving team to ensure our standard of procedure is being followed and implement further training should it be necessary.

With continued investment into the Royal Hotels – we are constantly upgrading and updating, in 2017 we completed a section of our ground floor rooms to a wonderful modern standard and continue with our exciting refurbishments – recently we have updated the exterior of the hotel and have many more exciting changes coming in the future so we do hope you will choose the Royal Hotels again for another holiday to Blackpool, with 5 hotels in the resort there is plenty of choice for a fantastic holiday with us.

Thank you once again for your feedback, best wishes from the team

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Room was a bit tired but comfy staff were all brilliant couldn't do enough for us , food was really tasty and filling , the shopping was within walking distance .
I couldn't fault anything about our break Theresa's also entertainment in the bar .

Room Tip: Doesn't matter where your room is as there are lifts to all floors X
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Dear Susan,

Thank you for the excellent 5 star review.

We're pleased that overall you had an enjoyable visit to the Royal Alexandra.

With regards to your room - with continued investment into the Royal Hotels, we do aim to update and upgrade all of our guest bedrooms in due course however this does take time so we ask our lovely loyal guests to please bear with us.

Thank you for the feedback on our food, we work hard to deliver great food and exceptional service so it's really wonderful to hear such kind words - the restaurant team and management will be very happy.

Our location really is great isn't it! Being so close to Blackpool's amazing attractions... it's also an added bonus our guests can save up to 50% on tickets to many of them too!

Once again we're delighted you had a fabulous time away with us, please do come and see us again soon - from myself and all of the team,

best wishes

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

This is my 2nd stay at this hotel, nothing had changed. The meals were great value very tasty and filling and the staff are lovely and friendly. Hotel is still in need of a little TLC although this appears to be in the making as the hotel is in the process of undergoing some work. We were a little disappointed that we had not been informed prior to our visit that it was under going maintenance. Scaffolding surrounds the front if the building. It did not however interfere with our stay. This hotel is in a great location with Coral Island and the main precinct practically on your door step.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Kelly,

Thank you very much for Taking the time to leave us feedback.

Overall we are so happy to hear you had a fabulous holiday with us and that you found our food to be of excellent standard as with previous visits with great choice and plentiful portions!

It’s also great to learn our wonderful customer service delivered once again and our staff made you feel so welcome during your stay. Mark, Phil and the team will be delighted with your feedback.

With regards to TLC – as you say yourself, the hotel is currently underway with repair work to the exterior of the building. We would like to assure our loyal guests that all work is outside and does not affect the guest holiday experience. This is due to be completed over the quieter months, we do apologise for any inconvenience caused however it is great to hear that your holiday was completely unaffected by any of the work underway.

Thank you for the great comments on our location too – we’re in the perfect spot for theatre goers and those looking to be close to Blackpool’s many great attractions and shops – we’re happy you found our position to be ideal! And don’t forget, Blackpool Promotions guests can save up to 50% on major attractions!

Please do come and visit us again in the near future, thank you once again for the great review,

from all of us at the hotel – best wishes

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

The staff here are certainly there to assist with anything.The meals were excellent lots of choices.The only complaint we had were the floor boards.I suppose you can expect that in an old building.Would certainly stay again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jeancam441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear Jean,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted that overall you had a brilliant stay at the Royal Alexandra and it's great you found our staff to be extremely helpful and welcoming. In regards to floors boards thank you for your feedback, guest comments are extremely important to us. We will pass this on to our maintenance team for investigation, as you say yourself - the building is quite old so therefore explains the slight creaks here and there however we'll do our best to rectify. Thanks again, we will look forward to welcoming you on your next holiday to the hotel, best wishes from the team

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

we went here as a party of 12 ladies the rooms are very small and the blind in my room was very dirty my room was small but adequate the evening meal was of poor quality but the breakfast made up for it the bar staff are great and very accomodating

Stayed: December 2017
3  Thank 268lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear 268lorraine,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are pleased that all in all your group had an enjoyable visit to the Royal Alexandra. In regards to your rooms, we are sad to learn these didn't meet your expectations, we do kindly ask guests to notify us immediately of any issues whatsoever so they can be rectified there and then to ensure a more comfortable stay, we would have ensured your blind was tended to by our cleaning staff once made aware of the issue. Alternatively we may have offered other more suitable rooms to yourselves once notified of your dissatisfaction, staff will always do everything they can for guests to ensure their holiday is the best it can be. In regards to food, we do usually get very good comments on the excellent food and service on offer at the hotel, should there be any problems during meal times - our restaurant manager is available to rectify any issues that may arise and arrange for replacement / alternatives. Overall we are very pleased you found our staff to be extremely welcoming and friendly and we do hope you will choose us again for a future holiday to Blackpool, best wishes from us all at the hotel

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews