We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
14
6
6
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
6
6
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini break every morning booked this hotel clean rooms top floor warm welcome tlc lounge
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Had 3 rooms booked for the weekend we arrived and checked in with no problems. We had 2 rooms on the 3rd floor and 1 on the 1st. All rooms were clean and of an ample size. Couldn't fault the service from the hotel especially during breakfast which for £4.99 all you can eat is amazing. The hotel does not serve alcohol but you can sit in the lounge with your own without any problems. The hotel has only been taken on recently and its great so far. The only downfall is the bathrooms need a bit of tlc in the finish and the water pressure is a bit low on the high floor rooms. Will be back next year.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank richardcI6295MF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Clean rooms.Clean Comfortable bed. Owners really nice Lift to rooms on top floor . Shower that works with hot water .Good location.Buffet Breakfast available @£4.99
One of the Cleaner ones in Blackpool.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank corbylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Fourth time of staying at Oak leaf Found out it had been taken over when I rang to book Sajid said we could have the same room at the same price this Time but would have to pay Extra for breakfast at 4.99 each. Discussed with my sister and she said we will try it. The Room was okay but the breakfast that was advertised as full English wasn't no bacon fried bread or black pudding . I heard a few guests complaining about this. Well we give the New owners the benefit but no we won't be going back.

Room Tip: If you like bacon don't book the breakfast
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jennywild30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

I stayed here on the 29/05/18 for one night. The room was cleam, a nice size and the staff were friendly. The room I was in was a little dark and very thin walls but it was great for one night and would recommend

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
Thank helenwillett18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

At an affordable price and ideal location, my partner and I stayed at the Oak Lea Hotel for a long weekend.
Unfortunately the warm welcome we received was quickly diminished by the cleanliness of the room. After finding 3 hair boubles below the bed, a cracked bathroom wall panel, small curly hairs on the bathroom floor and a wipe-away amount of limescale built up on the shower head face; we decided to investigate the room.

We then found a plethora of issues with the room alone. The bathroom shaver light wasn’t working, there were ‘discontinued’ soap dispensers left empty in the shower and above the sink, the bathroom light pull cord didn’t have a holder/knob, there were splatter stains on the wall, miscoulered paint splotches on wall, dust on top of wall mirror, dust on top of picture frames, yellow stains and make-up marks on bedding, a window not fully surrounded by a frame leaving around a centremeter of a gap to the outside, no bathroom ventilation as window was screwed shut, cracked window pane in bedroom with one missing latch leaving the window always a bit open.
But most unimpressive of all was the thick carpet-like layer of grey dust above our window that had clearly taken months to build up to.

When these issues were raised, I was met with a defensive manager and a cleaner that couldn’t see the problems and had never had a complaint like this in her “ 9 years working here”. With the staff deeming that the poor state of the room was acceptable in compliance to their cleaning schedule, I learned that the areas of concern were “not a part of our cleaning list”.

After these issue were raised, I was assured that the room would undergo a thorough clean and have all the dust removed with the aid of the chef, for whatever reason.
After returning to the room that night we found a noticeable level of cleanliness had been achieved. The carpets had been hovered, the dust removed, the bedding changed, the surfaces polished, the bathroom bleached and sanitised and our belongings neatly put in the cupboard.
It was clear that there had been a real effort made to improve the room to a suitable standard. Even the patronising empty soap dispensers had been removed from the wall. But this standard should not have needed to be asked for.

We then found we had been charged for another night in the manager’s mistake. After talking with him, he had already issued the refund through the card that was used. But being at the weekend, the money we needed would not return to the account until after the holiday. Then offering us to pay for yet another night and him give us cash from his pocket didn’t help in anyway. We were offered a free extra night stay but that wasn’t going to give us the money we were intending on spending outside the hotel.

Overall I was very dissatisfied with my stay here and have no intention of returning. With their introduction booklet in each room stating “high standards are always maintained through cleanliness to service” didn’t seem to match up to my recent stay. I don’t see where the “major refurbishment” had been made as mentioned twice in said booklet.

Staff were friendly enough but there were too many issues from the first foot in. And I have recently found that the account used to pay for the rooms which had been overcharged has now been charged once again for currently unknown reasons.

Having wanted to spend a romantic few nights in Blackpool, ended up being a hassle and a needless let down from the Oak Lea Hotel.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rubiseany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOaklea, Manager at Oak Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Sean,

Thanks for your time for your feedback & we are really sad that one of our many guests went dissatisfied. Sean, you raised some points the next day (after spending a full day and the night in the room) however our staff were straight on their feet to assist you, who re-cleaned everything to your satisfaction which is acknowledged by yourself above thus you refused alternative options and confirmed to stay in the room.

We have checked your account twice and confirm that there is no over-payment what so ever unless there is some limitation on your card.

Regardless, we take this review positively and constructively aiming to improve experience of guests like yourself.

Please visit us again and be our special guest by calling us @ 01253 623071 where a discounted rate always awaits our guests.

Many thanks
Oaklea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews