We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Floss Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Discover7...
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed 22 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Perfect little cottage with all you need in a beautiful garden. Very kind and helpful hosts. Comfortable location if you travel without car, shops, restaurants and a bus stop are in a short distance. The lake is also not far away. And the Lake District is so beautiful - we come again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2018
Many thanks for your kind review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daviace
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lakes Gem”
Reviewed 3 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We have been to the Lake District several times so we knew we would love the area. We can now say that we love Floss Cottage, too. Perfectly situated a short walk from Windermere and Bowness, it was the perfect base for our daily adventures. Beautiful inside and out, with all the comforts, amenities, and delightful extra touches you could ask for, it was also the perfect place to return home to every evening. Many thanks to Val, Ron, and Michael for a great week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin S
East Grinstead
2 reviews
“Great place in great location.”
Reviewed 12 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Floss is warm, comfortable, very clean and had everything we needed. (Apart from it could do with a few hooks for coats and in bathroom for towels etc.) Lovely setting in Ron and Val's beautiful garden. They were helpful and friendly. Lovely welcome with cakes and milk in the fridge.
Walking distance of pub with food, bus stop and Windermere town.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2017
Thank you for your review. My parents (Ron and Val) spend a huge amount of time in the garden and work hard to keep it beautiful. There is nothing like sitting out and enjoying a glass of wine on those warm and sunny days! Shame we can't guarantee the weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wistow9
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant cosy stay”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Loved The Floss. Immaculately clean with modern fixtures and fittings. We had bad weather but it was great to come back every day to a warm and cosy place. The gift of cupcakes on arriving was an added personal touch. The only downside was that there was no wifi so my husband could not do some work he needed to do. Luckily that meant we could do more walking! Great location too as we only had bicycles so close to the town for our evening meals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Sorry we couldn't guarantee the weather but the Lakes are still beautiful even in the wet! We do have plans to put WiFi into the cottage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
369tony01
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

First time visiting the Lakes - the scenery took our breath away!!!
The Floss is set in a beautiful & peaceful location, but within a ten minute walk to Lake Windermere or Bowness which has many restaurants & bars.
The Floss is decorated & equipped to a very high standard, we wanted for nothing.
The cottage is set in the owners gardens which are kept so beautifully.
We can highly recommend this superb cottage we had a lovely week & will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2017
Many thanks for your kind review. We're glad you loved the Lakes, it certainly does take your breath away! Also we're really pleased that you wanted for nothing and what better recommendation than wanting to return to The Floss. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing