We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
US$241
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
US$199
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$380
US$356
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Suites(Windermere)
US$288
US$274
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Windermere(Windermere)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$271
US$222
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Windermere Hotel(Windermere)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1 545)
Filter reviews
1 545 results
Traveller rating
1 305
153
52
19
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 305
153
52
19
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitehot tubjetty spaspa lodgesthe main hoteldollywagon pikecunliffe familyspice restaurantjunior suitemichelin stardining roomstasting menumaster roomcrinkle cragsafternoon teaboat housenew chef
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1 545 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I met friends from Scotland at the Gilpin Lodge Hotel a venue that I have always said was excellent. We arrived at about 2 pm and our clothes were unloaded and taken to our room ,the car was taken and parked. It was time for us all to have a glass of champagne and chat. Our rooms were fabulous and everything needed was there. Dinner was booked for 8.30 with canapés in the bar for 8. Dinner was nouveau cuisine and was excellent. The hotel had built a new fab restaurant named spice next door. We chose to eat there the next evening. I should have said that the breakfasts were very good. The food in Spice was of an Asian/Indian influence and was very good.
The Hotel has another property The Lake House for couples luxury of the best. I will leave that one for you to find out. The two days were perfect and so was the Hotel.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin H, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

How kind, thank you so much, we always aim for perfection but it's a tall order so it's so lovely to hear that it felt like that for you (despite the shower control not behaving!). We've made a few changes since your last visit so we're delighted that you still recommend us, thank you - next time perhaps we'll see you at the Lake House?

We hope to see you again soon,
Zoë & Barney x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So many reviews have been written that I too struggled to find something new to say, so I’ve decided to write a review from a different viewpoint – that of my 2 large rescue collies who have just returned from a stay at the Gilpen.
We couldn’t believe it when we saw the room - it was HUGE, and that was just the bathroom! We were told we weren’t allowed on the furniture but you should have seen the dog bed they provided – it was amazing, so much better than the chaise longue anyway. In fact we were so excited we didn’t even notice the treats that had been left for us. Then it got even better, there were patio doors that opened onto our very own enclosed private garden – plenty big enough to play ball! We weren’t allowed to go into the main hotel where the restaurant is (who wants a dog hair in their Michelin starred dinner?) but we had no adjoining neighbours so our owners knew they could leave us and if we had a little bark we wouldn’t disturb anyone. We had a lovely surprise in the morning though as the very lovely staff (who gave us lots of fusses) set up a table on the outdoor terrace so we could have breakfast (sausages cooked especially for us) with our owners. It gets 5 stars from us!

Stayed: June 2018
2  Thank FionaMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin H, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Woof woof, thank you for your very kind doggy review! We only started taking dogs relatively recently, and haven't really shouted about it as we only have two rooms that we take dogs in, and as you say the internal public areas aren't suitable, so it's lovely to hear that when we've got it right for our canine visitors. Lots of us have dogs ourselves so having a bit of outside space was crucial - most of our rooms lead straight onto the gardens as our human visitors like the feeling of freedom, so it was even more important for our visiting dogs!

We hope to see you again soon,
Zoë & Barney x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from a two night break at this oasis of tranquility in the Lakes. We stayed in a Junior Suite (Patterdale) which was perfect for us. All the comments already made are true its hard to find the words. From arriving at the door in the thunder storm to leaving on Monday morning to the sun peeping through the clouds it was perfect. Nothing too much trouble for ALL the staff they make you feel as though you are visiting them in their own home and they make the place so special together with obviously the surroundings. We ate in both restaurants and each was superb in totally different ways. I could go on and on but try this place and find out for yourselves. There are so many little touches which make it head and shoulders above other Hotels in the area. We will definitely return. Special thanks to the lady who greeted us on arrival it was in the middle of a downpour and as she had shown us to our room she said is there anything else I can help with we said a little sunshine please and as by magic some 20 minutes later the sun came out! That is service beyond words!! Thanks also to Sarah and her team she made our stay so special with her friendly manner. Michele and Tim Balcombe

Room Tip: All the rooms will be superb it depends on what your preference is we loved staying in the main hotel in the traditional junior suite.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank I2182TTmicheleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin H, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

What a lovely review, thank you so much. It means such a lot to all of us to receive such kind words, our team are amazing and work so hard to make every guests' stay special. If only we had the control over the weather, that would be an amazing skill!

We hope to see you again soon,
Zoë & Barney x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked as a birthday treat, hotel responded to my requests of a bath and lake view and provided a birthday card which was a lovely personal touch. Ethel was a wonderful room, huge comfy bed, it is the smallest room but you won't want to spend much time in there given the beautiful grounds. Ordered room service sandwiches when we got there and ate in the garden and boat house, £10 service charge each which is a tad expensive for ordinary sandwiches. Another wonderful advantage about the lake house is it feels like you are the only couple staying there. Ate at the Gilpin spice taken by a delightful chauffeur with a wonderful sense of humour and great directions to the alpacas and lamas . Lovely meal, tentative knowledgeable staff. Very romantic drinking wine on the jetty with all the twinkling lights in the evening. We ate breakfast in our room, perfect portions, you can just let the staff what you would like from the menu. Very pleasant stay would highly recommend. PS bring your own hairdryer they only had a wall mounted one in Ethel, very retro.

Room Tip: Lake view every time, maybe rooms without a bath are bigger?
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nippyems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin H, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're so glad that you enjoyed your birthday with us at the Lake House, it's lovely to hear your kind comments about house and team. Our apologies about the missing hair dryer - we do have the rather retro ones in the bathroom but we also provide a second hairdryer in one of the drawers in the room. Yours was missing, and has now been replaced. The jetty is a romantic spot - especially with the clear skies at the moment, long may it last!

We hope to see you again soon,
Zoë & Barney x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My first time staying at the Gilpin I stayed in the Lake side house in the Maud room and all I can say is WOW from start to finish this was the most amazing magical night away truly felt spoilt by all the staff and I was made to feel like royalty!!

Me and my partner had treatments in the spa could not fault it in any way! Lovely staff very relaxing treatments and the view it breathtaking...

Also big Thankyou to the chauffeur that took us to and from the Spice he was extremely friendly helpful and made us feel very safe and welcome he told us about the bar in the main hotel witch was lovely so big Thankyou to him!

Can’t wait to come back soon as possible!!

5***

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Billy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin H, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind words, the Lake House is in a magical location, sometimes it feels like being in another world. Hopefully next time you come we'll have another bar for you to enjoy!

We hope to see you again soon,
Zoë & Barney x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews