We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous as usual”
Review of Cedar Manor

Cedar Manor
Reserve with OpenTable
Cedar Manor is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 84 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$44 - US$57
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: First built in 1854 as a private country retreat and housing an unmissable 200 year old cedar tree in its grounds, tradition and a sense of place are important to both the look and the food at The Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant. You will find Cedar Manor offers a seasonally changing a la carte and table d'hote menu of classic British food on which all produce is sourced from providers based in the surrounding Lake District. Open to guests and non-residents, one might want to relax with a book in the cosy hotel bar before taking a seat in the restaurant which has been awarded an AA Rosette for Fine Dining.
Reviewed 9 October 2018

We try and go this restaurant every time we visit the Lakes as it is a favourite for us. And so much better than Miller Howe (or it was last time we visited MH). The host is very friendly and courteous, and the food is delicious with little extras that make the evening such a joy. Not cheap but worth every penny.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank rabandted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent dinner at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you keep returning and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Lakes.
best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2018

I booked a table here on the recommendation from a friend who I was visiting for an evening. Turned out that it far exceeded my expectations. Personally greeted and shown into the lounge for drinks and to peruse the menu, my companion and I, without collusion, picked the same starters and mains. We were escorted to our table in the cosy dining room, and presented with a surprise amuse-bouche, setting the scene for what followed. Crab starters then lamb rump, cooked to perfection, were accompanied by a bottle of the house Merlot, and followed by desserts, rounding off a perfect meal. My companion was delighted that I shared her opinion of the Cedar Manor!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent evening with us at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed dinner with us. We hope to see you again on a future visit to the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

Booked a table at this hotel for an anniversary meal whilst on holiday in Bowness.
We booked through an internet based third party that required a credit card for account set up, and due to circumstances beyond our control, we were unable to make the booking, and so cancelled through the third party website.
After checking my banking, I was shocked to discover that this hotel had obtained my card details from the online provider, and debited my account to the tune of £30.00.
As I had made no such arrangement with the hotel, and had not authorised the booking agent to disclose my card details to another party, I immediately contacted the hotel, and was subjected to a tirade of arrogant dialogue from the owner, an experience that left me shocked and upset.
Perhaps, the management/owners should take a step back from their own self-glorification, and remind themselves that we the consumers, are their bread and butter.
I cannot recommend this restaurant because we didn’t eat there, to be honest, and after experiencing the ‘customer service’, I’m glad we stayed away...

Date of visit: October 2018
3  Thank paulsE7583HV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Of course, we have been expecting this review having been threatened following the conversation by the reviewer Paul S earlier this morning and this evening. And as he put it "you will not hear the end of this. I will post a bad review on Facebook and TripAdvisor and I will damage your business"!!
You can see by all our other reviews that we aren't arrogant or rude, or dishonest. Open Table, the booking agent you used, can 100% prove that this reviewer did not cancel his booking by telephone, email or online. If he had cancelled he would not have been charged.

Our response will address particular problem restaurants have been dealing with for many years. Many people think its ok to book restaurants and not have the manners to contact them if they decide to dine elsewhere or do something else altogether. It's really very unfair to expect a restaurant to hold a table for you and then not turn up.
For several years we came off online booking due to the high level of no-shows. It was very damaging to our business. At the beginning of this year we rejoined Open Table on the proviso that credit card details could be taken and used should the guest not show up. We really don't mind people changing their plans, you just have to give us a courtesy call, drop us an email, tweet us - just do something to say that you aren't coming and you will not be charged. The issue here is that the reviewer made the booking, provided his details and card details (which we don't get to see but can authorise a charge against) and then didn't turn up for his booking. We always attempt to call the guest to advise them that the restaurant would be closing and to find out if they are coming, but in this case, the phone just rang and there was no option to leave a message. If he had picked up we might have found out what had happened and why he wasn't here enjoying dinner.
A week after we charged your card giving you plenty opportunity to ring to explain your no-show £15 per person no-show charge was charged. Is this steep? Well, not really. The price of a 3-course dinner is £45 per person, plus drinks - that revenue was lost. The opportunity to offer the table to other guests was also lost because it was never cancelled.
Having checked with Open Table, they can confirm 100% that they didn't have a cancellation from you.
Extra staff were needed as the restaurant which only seats around 20 guests were going to be full, in the end, it wasn't, as we lost your booking. All of this has to be paid for, we can't afford to have empty tables.

Back to your review - we asked you to show us the text or email that you received from Open Table when you allegedly cancelled, if you can just forward that to us we will be able to issue you a refund. You advised us that you don't have this. Of course, you don't, you didn't cancel, you just didn't turn up.

With regards to rudeness and tirade from the owner. Caroline at no point was not rude or arrogant, she was simply trying to explain why we have charged you and the booking conditions, but unfortunately, you weren't happy with this explanation. We don't charge guests a cancellation fee if they cancel their booking prior to arrival, but those who don't cancel or do not to get in touch with us, unfortunately, will be charged.

And finally, to all readers - please do book your restaurants and please do go and enjoy them, but if you can't make it please do cancel and just phone them, text them, email them -do what it takes to let them know that you aren't coming. It is very difficult in the restaurant industry at the moment and its inconsiderate people that are putting restaurants out of business every day. The restaurant industry just can't afford the current high numbers of guests not turning up for their bookings.

Thanks for reading.
Caroline and Jonathan


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

We dined here last night and it was superb. Wanted something special to celebrate a special anniversary and it did not disappoint. Booked online. On arrival we had drinks in the lovely lounge and then were shown to our table. Lots of help with choosing our dishes and also great wine suggestions. Amuse bouchee was divine; everything else sublime - potted crab, haddock mousseline, pork, lamb rump. Great service - attentive but not overly intrusive. Lovely little touches (anniversary decorations on the table). Loved it and hope to be back in the future (and next time we'll stay there instead of down the road)......

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank lgbudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you very much for reviewing your Anniversary dinner at Cedar Manor. Really pleased that you enjoyed the dinner and service and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Went to the Cedar Manor on a Sat night. first thing that struck me about the place was the beautiful grounds. We were welcomed by Jonathan who sat us down in one of the lounges where we had a nice chat and perused the menu.

The food was excellent, potted crab, lamb rum and the pork main was possibly the best pork i have tasted. The server was very good (sadly i didn't get his name) he talked me through the cheese course with a real passion. Recommend as a place to go for that special occasion.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cc0u2135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent dinner at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal - a great compliment for the pork! Chris looked after you at the table, he is a fantastic asset for the hotel and is very much into his food, especially cheese!
We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cedar Manor also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Cedar Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing