We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely outstanding accommodation at an...”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful open plan living space with original beams and exposed sandstone walls.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful open plan living space with original beams and exposed sandstone walls.
The huge wood burner really throws the heat out. Perfect on a cold evening to enjoy. The farmhouse table seats everyone and with antique wooden settle meals together are a real pleasure
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Beautiful open plan living space with original beams and exposed sandstone walls.
The huge wood burner really throws the heat out. Perfect on a cold evening to enjoy.
The farmhouse table seats everyone and with antique wooden settle meals together are a real pleasure
Plenty cosy and comfortable chairs and sofas make a relaxing seating area
The large open plan space upstairs is so great for socialising.
Furnishings have all been specially chosen or made by me to capture  the old feel of the property.
Lovely wooden panelled ensuite shower room.
Beautiful roll top bath and seperate shower in this lovely spacious bathroom.
Huge ground floor bedroom with king size bed and fantastic view towards the village church and fells
Relax in this light and airy bedroom after a day walking
Ground floor bright twin bedded room with 3ft beds which can be made into a super 6ft bed if needed
Large entrance hallway with sandstone flag floor and plenty room for boots and coats.
Beautiful entrance hall to welcome you to Toddles Barn - plenty of space for boots,coats  and more.
Toddles Barn is tucked away in this lovely village next to the owners house  overlooking the fields
Historic St Michael's Church -  next to the barn - the bell will ring but only late Sunday morning.
Toddles barn is situated at the end of a quiet lane  with no - through traffic - parking in front
Down by the lake at Ullswater
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
panda73_1...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding accommodation at an exceptionally high standard”
Reviewed 21 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

located in a small village this rural setting was quiet and restful with an outstanding local pub serving exceptional meals . The very high spec on the accommodation gives a warm and welcoming but comfortable place to retreat whilst exploring the local attractions. In easy travelling distance to both lake district and Scottish borders. The barn is fully equipped and the host gives a warm welcome and ensures that even the smallest provision is catered for . The kitchen has two fridges and a dish washer which makes self catering a breeze. A revisit is a must!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for this review. Every guest is important to us and continuing reviews are still important as each person sees different things and wants certain things from their holiday. Taking the time to tell us and future guests helps us make sure we are providing what guests want. i am delighted you enjoyed your stay here and would be happy to welcome you again. Many thanks and best wishes Joanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Sep 2017
Thank you for the review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I do like to ensure guests are welcomed but am also keen to not bother guests too much, a hard one to get right sometime, so thank you. Joanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
George H
1 review
“Stunning cottage in a fab location”
Reviewed 9 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We were so impressed with the cottage on arrival, the photos really don't do it justice, it's really well kitted out and furnished to a high standard, (think country Laura Ashley style). Couldn't believe there wasn't a picture of the bathroom as it was gorgeous and had the most comfortable bath I've ever used. The kitchen was well equipped, no need to bring teabags, and Joanne provided us milk so we could get straight in with a brew. The local area is smashing, stunning scenery and it was close to Ullswater. We really enjoyed going on a boat ride and we went to Aira Force waterfall which was so peaceful and lovely. Joanne was very friendly and welcoming. We loved our stay & we're planning for 2018 already!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2017
Thank you for this review. We have nearly had 2 seasons with Toddles barn and am delighted guests like staying here.We have the best of both worlds, quiet country village, handy for the lakes and motorway and also an extra bonus now of a great little pub serving lovely homemade food. Well worth a trip again , thank you Joanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corky851
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We, four adults and a toddler, had a fantastic break in Toddles Barn, which is really well furnished and equipped. Although the weather was a bit wet, we managed to find plenty to do, including a boat trip on Ullswater and trips to the seaside. Our not quite two year old grandson was thrilled with the nearby working farm, and the cottage was relaxing to come back to, as well as having space for him to play.
A very friendly welcome from Joanne started the holiday well, and we had all we could wish for.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Thank you for this great review. The weather was awful this summer but that is the joy of Cumbria. Thank fully most guests come prepared and take it whatever it is like. Many thanks Joanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sceptical...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great accommodation”
Reviewed 17 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Skelton is a quiet village on the edge of the Lakes. Nearest main shopping is in Penrith. Toddles Barn was as described and was very clean/comfortable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to place this review. It is good that you found the barn to your liking and as described which is valuable to other guests thinking about staying here. Best wishes Joanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing