We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

James M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at the barn cottage, and were made to feel very welcome with some delicious chocolate cake that Joyce had made for us. Loved the wood burning stove and used it every day and it warmed the place up a treat. The barn has all the things you need and is well equipped. The garden is very nice and enjoyed watching all the birds, just wished we had a bit better weather to sit out! There is no phone signal as yet but there is WiFi which is very handy. A good base for exploring the north lakes and fellwalking, and is in a nice quiet part but still close to Keswick and Penrith. As a couple we would have preferred a double rather than two single beds, although we do understand that this is to cater for singles as well as couples.

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Hegglehead we loved having you .
Come back in the summer and sit out in the sunny seat near the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca T
Tenbury Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A warm welcome awaited us at this lovely little converted barn in the unspoiled rural valley”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our half-term at Barn Cottage. We arrived to a warm welcome and a great carrot cake! The cottage was very comfortable and had everything we (and the dogs) needed for a relaxing break in this stunning part of the Lakes. The log stove kept us really snug in the evenings and there were plenty of free logs available to top it up with. The location is fairly remote but this suited us fine. We recon that Mungrisdale was around 10 minutes away and the A66 a further 5 minutes drive. We really enjoyed our meal at the Pheasant at Bassenthwaite and the Old Crown at Hesket Newmarket brews and serves some fine beers. We have booked again for next year.

Date of stay: February 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Thank you Rebecca I am so glad you all enjoyed your stay you were very nice guests and it will be great to see you again next year, Joyce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We made a short notice booking to celebrate my 50th birthday. Despite being plagued with inclement weather, it did not dampen our spirits. The extremely warm welcome included a homemade chocolate cake for the extra mile. The dog friendly cottage was as advertised, with the log burner and constant supply of logs being worthy of particular mention. The surroundings were ideal for our two working cocker spaniels, who were clearly in their eulement and enjoyed their stay. Yes, it's a country cottage, it might have the odd fly, but I am struggling to understand how a previous review reads damming and there was absolutely no evidence of rats as reported. I suppose one cannot please everyone. So if you are looking for peace and tranquility in a dog friendly cottage, I would not hesitate to recommend Barn Cottage.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy and location
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your review I am so glad you and the dogs enjoyed your birthday treat. The weather was terrible but I hope you were warm and cosy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
819Cather...
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful rural retreat”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Fantastic to read so many lovely reviews of our favourite cottage from all the nice people who have enjoyed staying in Barn Cottage as much as we have over many years. Thank you for letting us enjoy this peaceful, warm, cosy cottage yet again. Lookin forward to seeing you and that view again next year.

Date of stay: October 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2015
Thank you see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon B
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, comfortable and relaxing Lakes Retreat”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We travel lots, rarely return to the same place twice and have sampled holiday properties at most price points. However, we must have stayed at Barn Cottage half a dozen times over the last few years, which says it all.
Each week we have spent there has been wonderfully relaxing and memorable.
The cottage has everything you need for a Lakes holiday and is in a fabulous spot, accessible for both the Northern Lakes and Solway Coast but nicely tucked away.
The cottage is set in a private spot within the grounds of the owners property. They are very welcoming and helpful should you require their assistance, but otherwise leave you in complete peace to enjoy your holiday.
We can't recommend the cottage enough, and hope to return again soon.

Date of stay: September 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2015
Thank you Jon I am so glad you have enjoyed your stays with us see you again soon I hope, Joyce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.