We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derwentwater Independent Hostel(Borrowdale)(Great Value!)
US$61
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
George Hotel(Keswick)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
102
101
23
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
101
23
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering kitchenyouth hosteldrying roomstation roadgreat locationbunk bedsroom overlooking the riverbedded roomparking discbuilding workmountain bikingfirst floortown centreno liftlight sleeperstayed for one nightfitz park
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We spent a lovely few hours here enjoying pizza and a bottle of wine.

Lovely food and lovely friendly service, nice location overlooking the river.

A good place to eat away from the very busy pubs in the town.

Worth a visit!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank quirky-savage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thanks for the great review quirky-savage, we believe the hostel location is a major factor in such an enjoyable night here, the sound of the river and the dining room doors open wide make it a great spot in summer overlooking the park! Pizza and wine sound like a perfect combination, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal, why not take a peek at our specials board too. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

After 80mph wind-driven rain put paid to my wild camping in Langstrath Valley, helpful hostel staff found me a much needed bed in a mens dorm where I managed to dry-out except for the odd Sneck Lifter, of course. Great hostel, company, warmth etc. I will be back !

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank gpg208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

We're glad we could provide you with a warm bed gpg208, the weather has been a bit wild lately! It's good to hear that you enjoyed our dorm, and made use of our facilities to dry out. We're glad you had a great stay our hostel and we look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

What a lovely YHA. It’s a joy to stay there . Staff attentive and facilities akin to a 5* hotel . Rooms clean and catering facilities more than adequate . A very relaxing bar area with doors opening out to the river with views of Fitz park .Very relaxing

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Sherlock131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thanks for the kind words Sherlock131! We're thrilled to hear that our staff were attentive and that you thought so highly of the facilities. The cleanliness of our rooms is very important to us and we're pleased to hear that our work is appreciated. It's also great to hear you liked our recently refurbished riverside bar, with its range of wines, local ales and single malts. We're glad you had a relaxing stay and hope you will visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Staff at the hostel were very friendly and helpful with bith hostel and local information.
Good location for Keswick town centre.
Self catering area very spacious and clean.
I had the breakfast which was very good.
Stayed midweek which was good value. Not so good value at the weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank travelnjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thanks for the review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay at our hostel, particularly that you appreciated our helpful staff. We like to get out and exploring the northern Lake District so it's always worth asking us if you are looking for ideas. We agree that our is hostel is well located by the river Greta with easy access to the town centre. It's good to see you made use of both our recently refurbished self-catering kitchen and our dining facilities. We're pleased to hear you found us good value midweek, our prices vary throughout the year but check our website for seasonal sales when you grab a great deal on stays with us; something to consider next time you visit :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

This hostel, in the centre of the town is one of the YHAs flagship hostels and you can see why. The rooms, bar, dining area are well appointed and the self catering kitchen is very well appointed and spotlesly clean. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank Fellwalker63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Thank you for the superb review Fellwalker63! It's really great to hear that you would highly recommend us, we have a little something for everyone, our en-suite rooms are very popular and some have balconies too! We work hard to keep standards of cleanliness high and it's great to see you have noticed. The bar and dining area is such a great space to relax after a day on the fells, with local ales and our very popular house red! We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews