We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Hen House

Lovely views over the surrounding countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely views over the surrounding countryside
Fresh eggs daily (hens willing!)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Lovely views over the surrounding countryside
Fresh eggs daily (hens willing!)
Take a peak inside the nesting boxes and help yourself to eggs
Stunning sunsets
Outdoor space with patio and chairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Barbara96...
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We found the Hen House to be a lovely little cottage, really cosy and comfortable with lots of homely touches. Everything we needed for a break away with our dogs. We only managed 1 night here as we had a plumbing emergency at home so didn't get to try the local pubs etc. We will come back again as it's in a great location for sightseeing in the Lakes as we felt really at home here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
Thanks for the lovely review Barbara and hope all was dry when you got home. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
Thank you for the lovely review and hope to see you again sometime.
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely stay thanks ,with lovely walks with the dogs in the local woods and very friendly owners

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
Hi there - delighted you enjoyed your stay and took full advantage of the great dog-walking weather :-)

Thanks for your 5* review
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A really lovely cottage in idyllic location. 2 adults and 2 children would be very comfortable staying here. We loved it. Very friendly owner. We will be recommending this cottage to our friends and may stay again ourselves next summer

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
Thanks for such a super review and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevdale19...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Needed break”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a short break was absolutely idea great location and very nice clean and everything you need you really couldn't ask for more fresh hen eggs and we even owe for a tub of clover as we forgot to pack only problem I have now is my wife wants chickens as they came to door every day
Thanks for a great relax

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thanks for the great review and I'll be sure to let you know when we have some chicks available :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing