We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house in a lovely location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining room seats 14 Kitchen/diner - Range cooker, granite worktops
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Dining room seats 14
Kitchen/diner - Range cooker, granite worktops
Kitchen/diner
Kitchen/diner
Lounge leading to kitchen
Lounge with multifuel burning stove, beams.
Twin bedroom
Hallway - leading to back garden, parking area and detached garage
Gill Side Barn front entrance
Alpacas in the paddock  having a paddle can be seen from the barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Catherine...
Billinge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful house in a lovely location”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We have just returned home from a hen weekend away in this gorgeous converted barn and all I can say is that I would highly recommend. Wendy and her husband were very friendly and in the preparation for the weekend replied to emails promptly providing all the information needed to make the weekend as special as it was.

On arrival it was clear that the accomodation was well cared for, it was so clean and the furnishings are all of a very high standard. Beautiful kitchen with American style fridge freezer and large oven, lovely bathrooms, gorgeous dining room and living room and the bedrooms were beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Wendy recommended Thai kitchen in Lakeland to come and cook a meal for us, and the food was delicious and was a lovely treat to be able to relax and enjoy the meal without having to worry about the preparation or cleaning up!

I just want to say thanks so much for letting us stay in your gorgeous house, it made the weekend so special for Natalie and a weekend that we'll never forget! I will definitely be returning at some point with my family as I know they will love it just as much as we all did.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OOMEARA91
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 30 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We went to stay at Simgill Farm with our two young children and extended family. Joe and Wendy are really friendly and welcoming and the accommodation is 5*. The views are beautiful and the Alpacas are a must see. My daughter Aoife loved feeding them, as much as I did. All the facilities were very high spec and really comfortable. Its also within a short drive from the lakes and towns nearby. All in all a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury accommodation and the Alpacas.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMSmith20...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect in everyway.”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

I spent my Christmas in Gill Side Barn along with 11 other members of my family. We had a fantastic holiday. We cooked Christmas dinner in a well equipped and spacious kitchen and then sat around an enormous dining table to enjoy our lunch. That was just the first day. The rest of the week we spent our days visiting the local towns, villages and tourist attractions. It was the perfect base. The evenings were spent in the large lounge of the barn with ample seating for all playing games and having a tipple or two. The bedrooms again are spacious and the beds extremely comfortable. There are enough bathrooms and showers to stop any queueing. All rooms were spotless and well equipped. I would recommend Gill Side Barn without a moments hesitation. Knowing full well that it will not disappoint in any way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size, quality of the furnishings and cleanliness.
Liked least: No pub within walking distance.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lol-Mo-Fo...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous-Perrrrrrrfect.”
Reviewed 10 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Meadow View Barn: This property was just perfect for our family get together adults and children (13+4) high standard, quality finished facilities and furnishings, warm and cosy. Close enough to Kendal for provisions, yet far enough to appreciate the beautiful surroundings. The property is well looked after inside and out with landscaped gardens and spacious parking. Sensibly priced.

We have used many such properties and would recommend this one for any family/party/occasion.

Laurence & Maureen.... Formby Merseyside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No soft close toilet seats
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kryan84
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend break!”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

After searching online I stumbled across Simgill Farm and booked it for my 30th birthday. We all thought it was excellent, superbly clean, really comfy and the perfect location. I will definitely recommend it to all of my friends and who knows we may be back! Thanks again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing