We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation”
The Hyning Estate, Beautiful, Peaceful, a wonderful Retreat and wonderfully warm all year around
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Hyning Estate, Beautiful, Peaceful, a wonderful Retreat and wonderfully warm all year around
Beckside Barns - 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms with optional extra beds Beckside Barns is part of a traditional 'Bank Barn'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
116 reviews
The Hyning Estate, Beautiful, Peaceful, a wonderful Retreat and wonderfully warm all year around
Beckside Barns - 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms with optional extra beds
Beckside Barns is part of a traditional 'Bank Barn'
The large window upstairs has amazing views over the Parkland and Lakeland Fells
The 'default' layout - Kitchen & Dining Upstairs (optionally can be downstairs)
Dining for up to 10 people (potentially 12)
Optional downstairs dining for 8 people (for those with low mobility)
The kitchen with stairs down beyond
Bedroom No 1 (upstairs - double) - there is room for a cot where the camera is.
Bedroom No 2 (upstairs) - room for an optional extra child's bed if required.
Family Bathroom No 1 (upstairs)
Lounge area (downstairs)
Bedroom No 3 (King - downstairs)
Bedroom 4 (downstairs)
Family bathroom 4 (downstairs)
Optional extra bed (downstairs)
The Bar at Reception
The Patio at Reception
Summer drinks on the Patio at Reception
Amazing Sunsets
The Bar and Patio at Reception (at dusk)
The Hyning Estate in bloom (Spring)
Landscaped Grounds
Lambs on the fellside in Spring
EV charging point (free for guests)
The Hyning Estate uses Heat Pumps, Solar Panels, MVHR and low carbon electricity
The Hyning Estate in Winter (Wonderfully warm & Cosy)
Sheep in front of Beckside Barns in the snow
Fireworks on New Year's Eve
Fireworks on New Year's Eve
The nearby Howgill Fells
Lowgill Viaduct
The Lake District in the Autumn
Lakes & Mountains
Haystacks from the shores of Buttermere
The Lake District is a great place to bring kids walking, cycling or exploring in the woods
A New Year's Day Walk to Latrigg (The Hyning Estate's Walk 27)
Wonderful Views
7 miles from Kendal - A Gateway to The English Lakes
The Hyning Estate - Cumbria Tourism's Self-Catering Winners and Sustainable Tourism Finalists 2015
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dumbledor...
polzeath
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

we stayed in the Bake house. The standard of accommodation was extremely high. The shower the best ever. Amazing amount of goodies was there for us on our arrival.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place we have ever stayed in! Will return!”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Myself, husband and two children aged 10 & 12 had a 4 night stay from 10-14 August 2015. We stayed in the Bake house. We loved the accommodation and the location. Quiet, relaxing and catered for our every need. The quality of the furnishings and decor is outstanding and we really liked the fact that they were promoting green travelling and caring for the environment. The welcome pack, which consisted of a bottle of red wine, locally sourced jam, chutney, bread and cheese, along with the addition of a small bottle of milk and cordial meant we did not have to rush directly to the shops, (which were located quite close to the accommodation), but we were able to settle in before having to venture out.
The check in was speedy and we were greeted warmly by Jan and Richard, who really cared about our experience with them. The surrounding area is beautiful and we attempted and succeeded in completing the 5 mile walk around the estate using excellent directions given by the owners in their info brochure. We enjoyed a drink in the bar one evening and then a bottle of wine on other evenings in the accommodation, watching the children play or watching a film on the hi spec TV that was provided for us. Overall we would highly recommend this estate for its quality of accommodation, service and ease of getting around in the Lakes. An easy to find location with everything a family would need for a holiday here. Both children also commented on the quality of the wifi signal which was excellent throughout the course of our stay as was the TV reception, something they were quite concerned about but they were not disappointed!
They also loved the walks and seeing the sheep and cows around the estate as well as star gazing and spotting the meteorite showers this week. Thank you Jan and Richard for a wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JA1403
England
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful Accommodation - not really welcoming for Small Children though”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 4 nights in the Granary in June with our 17mth old son. This is a difficult review to write as we had really mixed feelings about our stay. The accommodation has been lovingly created is absolutely stunning, the apartment is incredibly well presented , everything is thought of , everything is high quality, the welcome pack is great , the accommodation spotlessly clean, though we just felt it wasn't really suitable for small children or the owners particularly welcoming either and I felt that might be because we had a toddler in tow . I am not sure what happened, as we didn’t have a good start to our visit which meant we had to rethink our holiday, maybe we misread the webpage as we booked based on the fact that this was great accommodation with a little bit more than normal self catering. We thought the bar would be open every evening and had understood from the webpage that we could pre-order a couple of evening meals in advance so after a full day out we may be able to have some dinner rather than cook ourselves. Unfortunately on arrival we were told the bar was open 3 evenings a week and quite coldly told pre-ordering dinner wasn’t an option. This wasn’t a great start as we had just spent 90 minutes trying to find the estate having come via Windermere. Unfortunately the estate is only signposted on one side of entrance so if you do happen to approach from the non–recommended route by the owners you are pretty much lost, we must have passed the entrance 3 or 4 times and didn’t even see it. My advice would be that not all visitors will always approach from the direction you recommend so please cater for these visitors also as they pay quite a lot of money to stay here. Jan laughed it off but when you have a tired child in the car , it was not overly funny. So our break did not start well but we were relieved to be there finally.

The bar area is very pleasant however some of the patio furniture is home made , there was one table that had very sharp edges on it that would have cut my son’s head open if he had walked into it so it was difficult to relax with a toddler in this area. Rich and Jan provided good quality child equipment in the apartment i.e high chair, travel cot etc however the combination of tiled floors, rugs and sharp cornered furniture meant our son came home with quite a few bumps and bruises and we could not relax so actually ended our holiday a day early as it was easier to come home.

I would recommend the hyning estate but I think it is best suited to middle aged couple or groups of people without children , for stays with a small child or if you want any option of having food provided this probably wont be the place for you however we do with Rich and Jan continued success, however we left feeling a little disappointed in our choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of the accommodation
Liked least: lack of signposting
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Large groups
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
We were very upset to receive this review as we try extremely hard to attend to every detail and to make everyone feel really welcome. We were very embarrassed for David & Jules when they first arrived and we are sorry if this was misunderstood. We love young children and we don’t understand the comments to the contrary. The accommodation is the very best but we do have stone floors and solid oak furniture (which by their nature have hard edges) and there is a stream in the garden so guests with toddlers will need to make their own judgement from the photos as to whether it’s suitable for them. We do provide melamine plates (so you don’t need to worry about breaking the Denby) as well as high chairs, cots and stair gates. We have a number guests with small children and toddlers who return several times a year, every year.

We are a stone’s throw from the main A685 and the Directions (which point out the potential pitfalls of using a SatNav) are excellent and have been tested many times… they bring people in from the South on the main road (via the Windermere roundabout) so when approaching from Windermere you can just pick up the Directions from there and there is no need to approach via single-track roads with no signs. (Potential guests with concerns can download the directions from our website and check them out for themselves).

Bar opening varies based on the expected demand but a notice in each property and a large red scrolling sign on Reception advertise the fact that we will open the Bar additionally on request (subject to 24 hours’ notice).

The Accommodation is Self-Catering and we don’t have a restaurant but we can provide catering (for Parties, Family Get-togethers, Events and Groups) by prior arrangement (which would normally be agreed when booking the accommodation). ASDA, Sainsbury’s and Tesco deliver as does a local take-away.

We have taken on the difficulties experienced by David, Jules (and toddler Jude) and will try to make our website clearer for the benefit of future guests. We are sorry that they weren’t 100% satisfied.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ridiculously high quality and sustainability of the property, and the peacefulness
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
That's wonderful, Thank so much. By the way, we have just been awarded Cumbria Tourism's Self-Catering Holiday of the year 2015!

The very Best to you all as you return to your homes in France & Oregon,

Jan & Richard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing