We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Overwhelmed”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Living room with wood burning stove
Meadow View Barn is located within Simgill Farm where Alpacas roam over its many acres
Main bathroom with separate shower cubicle
Oak dining table seating 12
One of the en suites
Views from the kitchen door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Di G
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overwhelmed”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I've just returned from a hen weekend and not one of us were disappointed with Meadow View, in fact we were all overwhelmed rather than underwhelmed as is often the case with holiday lets. The pictures and website description do not do it justice, you just have to trust these reviews and visit yourself and believe me the place is a Tardis, one hen actually commented she kept getting lost it was so spacious (and that was before she started drinking!!). The accommodation was spotless, and furnished to a very high spec. Little touches such as the dining table being already set with place mats, cutlery and napkins, all ready to use, just helped to make our stay even more enjoyable. Never at any point did anyone feel they were in the way, it was plenty big enough to accommodate 16 of us, so even at full capacity of 17 adults you won't feel cramped. There are stair gates built into the staircases so safe for young children. Our only disappointment was the weather was too warm for the time of year and we didn't get to light the log burner, which we wanted to do just to witness the beautiful stone fireplace in all it's glory. Visiting and feeding the Alpacas is a must, whatever your age and completed the visit for us. Plenty of parking (we easily accommodated 8 cars). All in all, for large groups (either family or friends) this place is ideal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky2419...
1 review
“Luxury stay that is simply superb”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Every two years my rather large family head to the Lake District for a week. We are a mixed bunch - 18 in number aged 9 months to 67 years - and we need a base that will enable good access to the fells as well as places of interest for the children. Meadow View Barn was perfect. The accommodation is spacious and there is enough space to park 6 cars comfortably. It has a lovely feel - lots of oak and natural colours - that was both cosy and stylish. The location is good in that access to both the Lakes and the Dales is fairly straightforward and we were able to pack our week with activities in both locations. We were also treated to a visit to the alpacas which is an experience we won't forget in a hurry! I'm not sure that our ever expanding family will fit Meadow View Barn in two years time, but if it does we will definitely be returning. Thank you so much for a brilliant stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire e
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing place for a hen weekend ”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely amazing place to stay for my friends hen weekend. Every single one of us loved it. The barn was so spacious and very clean with great little touches.
Wendy and Joe were brilliant, so welcoming.
Letting us get to see and feed the alpacas was a great experience which we loved.
We hired a hot tub from Cumbria hot tub hire and it was well worth it.
I would highly recommend this place to stay, and I would definitely like to return again.

Thanks again Wendy and Joe for our great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizS464
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stunning cottage in a stunning location”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Just had a great weekend at Meadow View Barn for my daughters hen party. There was ample space for 15 hens. The cottage has everything you could ask for and is very well presented, with little added touches that make it personal. The highlight of the weekend was our date with the Alpacas where we could feed and touch them. They are so friendly.
We had a Tesco delivery at the cottage which was great. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, and they assisted with many email requests before our stay. We hired hot tubs from Cumbria Hot Tubs which were ready to use on our arrival.
Everyone who came has left with many happy memories of the weekend. I would highly recommend this cottage if you're looking for a 5 star holiday break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Driveway a bit uneven
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Glad you all enjoyed your stay and all the best for the wedding.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb place to stay”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just spent the weekend of 20-22 May here for my daughters hen do along with 15 "hens". The setting and facilities were outstanding and of a very high standard. The tour of the alpacas by the very friendly owners was an unbelievable bonus. Highly recommend all round.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
Thank you for the review, nice to see so many smiling faces with our alpacas and you got to see our first cria of 2016. Hope everything goes well for the upcoming wedding. Wendy & Joe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing