We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“JUST AMAZING”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Living room with wood burning stove
Meadow View Barn is located within Simgill Farm where Alpacas roam over its many acres
Main bathroom with separate shower cubicle
Oak dining table seating 12
One of the en suites
Views from the kitchen door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
loughras
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“JUST AMAZING”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Had an amazing 5 days at Meadow View Barn with friends for a 70th birthday celebration. Joe & Wendy made us very welcome, and feeding the Alpacas was a highlight of the holiday for us all. The house is beautiful and so spacious, everything you could possibly need is there for you.
We will definitely go back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: The access road!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cannot recommed enough”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The moment we walked through the door we were blown away with the luxury of the house. I went with 12 other female friends to celebrate a friends hen party, and I could not have picked a better location to stay. Joe and Wendy are very friendly and a pleasure to deal with. I cannot recommend this house enough! The house is well furnished and has everything you need.

For those who wonder about the night life in Kendal, (as I had no idea when booking it and took a chance) - Its about a 10-15 min drive from the centre of Kendal, cost us about £30 in a taxi on the way home. There are plenty of pubs and a couple of nightclubs, bootleggers was the busiest. This house made the hen party for us! Get it booked. Perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: That we had to go home
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennyFalc...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“luxurious and comfortable accommodation in a stunning setting”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Spacious, comfortable, tasteful and well equipped accommodation.
Joe and Wendy are the very helpful and friendly owners.
Alpaca feeding and fresh duck eggs highly recommended.
Kendal accessible, about a twenty minute drive through the countryside to get there.
We got an on-line shop delivered which made life easy.
Some take aways do delivery, we used the Thai Kitchen, the food was excellent.
Neighbouring properties were occupied, but each house is secluded enough to be almost oblivious of your neighbours if you want to be.
A fantastic weekend in a lovely property with helpful and friendly owners in a beautiful setting.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the high standard of the refurb and decor, surrounding scenery and alpacas
Liked least: the drive into Kendal
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewL0
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, fabulous and beautiful”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Brilliant communication in the booking process and local information offered when requested.
Beautiful clean house with gorgeous rooms, very comfortable.
We holidayed for a hen weekend, 11 ladies in 30s/40s, found the house not too far from the M6 yet surrounded by breathtaking scenery.
We hired a hot tub which was an incredible way to watch the clear sky show the beautiful stars (saw my first shooting star)
Just about close enough to Kendal to taxi in and out - had a great night at some bars but particularly at Bootleggers - live band were excellent!
But back at the house - how fantastic - the Alpacas - Joe took us out twice to feed the 'girls' (might need your wellies), they are like lively giant teddy bears with personality. Loads of information and time offered but not pushed
Could do all the "well equipped kitchen (it is!) etc,,,," but I think take all the good stuff you read and add a bit more personality and friendliness - Joe and Wendy and the Alpacas offer all this
I can't wait to find a reason to go back..............

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: friendly, helpful owners. Beautiful surroundings and house
Liked least: we ran out of loo roll.................
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAThomas1
1 review
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Excellent accommodation and a very warm welcome from Wendy and Joe. Perfect destination for a group with children. Our kids loved feeding the alpacas and collecting duck eggs. We hope to visit again soon. Will definitely be recommending to friends and family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$899
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing