We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family and friends Lake District half term holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Barn Court Cottage is locates within Simgill Farm where Alpacas roam over it's many acres
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barn Court Cottage is locates within Simgill Farm where Alpacas roam over it's many acres
Large private garden Living room with french doors opening onto patio, garden area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Barn Court Cottage is locates within Simgill Farm where Alpacas roam over it's many acres
Large private garden
Living room with french doors opening onto patio, garden area
Arched window leading upstairs
First floor main bathroom with seperate shower cubicle
Seating area with beautiful views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sallysig
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family and friends Lake District half term holiday”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our large party consisted of my 86 year old dad, aunty and uncle, cousins and my husband and daughter. We stayed at this lovely barn for the half-term hols. We found travelling around the Lakes good from this location easy. We enjoyed returning to Barn Court Cottage each day and enjoying the comfort, warmth, space and peace of this rural location. We felt really relaxed and peaceful in this wonderful valley. The owners were very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed meeting the incredibly beautiful alpacas in the barn one wet and windy day. The cottage was very well equipped with everything we needed. We enjoyed lots of lovely meals in the kitchen and sitting by the log fire in the sitting room in the evenings. I would definitely go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and the location.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S
1 review
“Fab weekend getaway”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Me and my friends had just graduated from Durham University and we wanted to go away for a few days in the Lakes for a bit of a break. We couldn't believe our luck when we turned up at Barn Court. The house itself was lovely and the fact that it was on an alpaca farm made it even better.
We had travelled by train and we didn't have a car but getting taxis to and from Kendal was very easy and not particularly expensive so we were able to go further afield to go on walks around Lake Windermere,
I would recommend getting a Tesco food order to be delivered when you get there as it made things much easier,
Wendy and John were very hospitable and on the whole we really enjoyed our stay. Would definitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the property was very good
Liked least: The location wasn't as close to as many walks as we would have liked
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P
Lee on the Solent
1 review
“Perfect setting for a relaxing break”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Perfect setting for a relaxing break with family or any large group. Property completed to a high standard and well equipped for a large group. Very comfortable. Enjoyed meeting the alpacas. Would love a return visit.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breadmike...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, great location.”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed here at the weekend with a group of friends. The location is lovely and the house is perfect. Really comfy furniture and beds. Would definitely recommend this property to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avis c
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful property and super environment!”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This property was first class - modern and well appointed. The owners live on site and are very friendly and amenable. We spent part of one morning feeding the alpacas and the children stated it was their number one activity of the holiday. Simgill is a10 minute drive into Kendal but the scenery is wonderful and there are large supermarkets nearby.There is the chance to use the local footpaths for walks from the door and Kendal Castle is a must for visitors and also Kendal has a great variety of shops.
A great holiday venue!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very warm and cosy.
Liked least: There was no real area for drying/ hanging wet clothes.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing