We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ashstead Farmhouse

Ashstead Farmhouse, Semi detached, rustic, tradtional,  exposed stone walls, wooden beams.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ashstead Farmhouse, Semi detached, rustic, tradtional,  exposed stone walls, wooden beams.
Piano room, dvd& lamp, WIFI, books, wooden train track, games, and toddler toys in the cupboards.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Ashstead Farmhouse, Semi detached, rustic, tradtional,  exposed stone walls, wooden beams.
Piano room, dvd& lamp, WIFI, books, wooden train track, games, and toddler toys in the cupboards.
Dinning room, seating for eight and a High chair if required.
Dinning room
The Kitchen, accessed down one step from the dinning room, there is also a door leading outside.
Downstairs toilet and sink
Stairs from the sitting room
Landing
Pink double bedroom
Pink double bedroom
Bathroom, electric shower above the bath.
The view from the cairn on Ashstead Fell
Borrowdale between Shap and Tebay.
Walk from Ashstead to High Barrow Bridge
Leicester ewe with her quads
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
laura_889
Rishton
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a fantastic find, we recently stayed for 2 nights, there was myself, my husband, our 13 month old daughter and our friend from Belgium.
We wanted to show our friend the beautiful sights of the lakes and couldn't have asked for a better place to do it from.

The owners couldn't have been more helpful. There was a high chair and travel cot all set up so we didn't have to waste space in the car bringing our own and we were left some essentials such as milk, bread, tea, coffee etc. these were very welcomed after a busy day hunting sheep and lambs in Windermere.

Fantastic value for money, will be recommending to anyone who will listen and hope to book again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views, great communication with owner, excellent perks (Highchair, travel cot, tea/coffee etc).
Liked least: Nothing, everything was just fab
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sekurugeo...
Neath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Booked this place without hesitation based on all the other reviews, we were not disappointed!! We stayed for a few days with our 8 month old son and his grand parents and Ashtead had everything we could possibly need including high chair and travel cot. The one thing I was a bit nervous about was if it was going to be warm enough for the little one and I was immediately satisfied as we walked through the door and it was nice and warm, without even having the fire going! We did stay in November when it rained, a lot, and the house was really nice and cosy for us all. We loved the fact that it was on a farm so nice and peaceful and enjoyed having the cats and chickens to greet us in the morning when we opened the kitchen door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexArnel...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely farmhouse in a beautiful location with a great host”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stayed here for a friend's 40th birthday. Can't fault the property or the owner. It's rare that a property is bigger than in the photos, but this one was! I would highly recommend it and will definitely look to book again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemmawill...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Enjoyed our stay, better than initially expected, very friendly owners just next door and in a really nice area! Worth the price

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala A
1 review
“A great holiday place surrounded by beautiful views”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Nice place for a holiday, surrounded by beautiful views. Had some quality time in the cottage, esp kids had fun playing with farm animals. The cottage has sufficient facilities for a relaxing holiday. The only problem is that there is no mobile network to make calls, so be prepared for that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing