We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 271)
Filter reviews
1 271 results
Traveller rating
460
504
213
62
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
460
504
213
62
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river swimming lessons leisure facilities sauna and steam room swimming pool lovely hotel kendal castle car park self service town centre family room good size buffet breakfast evening meal night break short break reception staff
Filter
Updating list...
413 - 418 of 1 271 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights. The room was a little disappointing - bland, pictureless, faded paintwork on wall, river view if you climb into the alcove and a small double bed (with one of those lifeless flat duvets). The heating didn't work - the staff didn't seem surprised when we complained about that, One of the bathroom lights didn't work, and there was no toilet roll holder - surely housekeeping report such things in between guest staying. Shame as breakfast was decent, undercover parking and really central for the town. But value for money not really. A little more attention to detail and upkeep and this place could be very nice.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Many thanks for your review. We always appreciate feedback, both good and constructive and yours will certainly help us so thank you. We work hard to offer our guests excellent value for money and we are sorry that this was not the case for you. We shall set to fixing the issues you've raised. We have a variety of different rooms and we're sure we could find one more to your liking if you were to visit us again. We hope you will give us another chance. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Location, Location, River and bridge views, walking access to railway station, shops, library and restaurants. Free undercover parking as part of the property. Full english breakfast in the restaurant included in price. A winning combination for us.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Many thanks for your delightful review and for staying with us. We're happy you have enjoyed the location and views from the hotel. Thanks for mentioning our delicious breakfast as well. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

This was our second visit to the Riverside Hotel. Room very clean,staff very helpful and food in restaurant was very good.Excellant location and will be returning for a third visit.Discovered the Gingerbread factory in Grassmere.

Room tip: We stayed in room 4 nice view of the river.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elmo292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Thanks so much for visiting us again. We really appreciate your nice, 5* review as well. We'll work hard to keep the hotel a great place to visit for you so that you may discover more things in the Lakes in the years to come. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

The Riverside hotel is a lovely hotel situated in the centre of Kendal. It's easy enough to get to you just need to make sure that you get into the right hand lane in plenty of time.

I was in room 308 which is excellent a nice big bathroom with a nice powerful shower. Room 308 is on the 3rd floor and is half way between the 2 bridge's with a view over the River Kent.

A double bed and single bed with plenty of tea coffee hot chocolate and Horlicks with a couple of packets of biscuits as well. A nice big tv and the bed is so comfortable as well, you feel like you are floating on air.

The receptionist Jennifer was excellent at her job she was happy and friendly and she booked me a taxi to a nearby hotel for a friend's wedding.

The food that I had when I stopped was brilliant, I had the fish and chips for my tea and the fish was so sweet and succulent. The breakfast buffet was really good and the Cumberland sausages were excellent and tasty. The bar staff were really helpful and friendly.

I used the leisure facilities which were really good which is the swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and the steam room really nice and relaxing for a one night break.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Christopher I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Lovely review, thank you for posting it. We're always appreciative of 5* ratings so thanks for that as well. We're so pleased to read all of your nice comments about the food, standard of accommodation as well as the friendliness of our staff. We do hope to welcome you back again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Booked last minute for a weekend family break and really enjoyed it. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Stayed in one of the newly refurbished family rooms which was very spacious. Would say the room was very hot but didn't get round to requesting if we could have a fan while we were there. Lovely to have a pool to use. Breakfast was very nice and plenty of choice and again all the staff were approachable and very helpful.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lesleyf671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Thanks so much for visiting and posting your nice review. We're so pleased to read your comments about our newer rooms and those about our staff as well. We'll continue to work hard to offer our guests a relaxing break with excellent staff and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews