We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant ”

Lyth Valley Country Inn Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 164 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Snuggled beautifully between the majestic limestone outcrops of Scout Scar and Whitbarrow Scar, lying in the rolling, pastoral, damson tree-strewn landscape of the Lyth valley, is our luxuriously refurbished 9 bedroom hotel and restaurant. If you're looking for a place to eat or drink that's got that something special, or a place to stay that delivers something extraordinary, then the Lyth Valley is it!
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Delicious food especially mackerel salad , chats and beet salad also fresh and beautifully presented. A lovely cool spot on terrace on hot evening with wonderful views towards scout scar , great service
Highly recommended

Thank Tonya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LythValleyInn, Front Office Manager at Lyth Valley Country Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you for your review and comments. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018

we decided to visit the Lyth Valley Inn for the first time late on Sunday afternoon , it is situated on the country road through the beautiful Lyth Valley as the road winds its way through this mainly flat bottomed valley from the main A590 dual carridgeway towards Windermere it begins to rise through the hills and there on the right hand side of the road is the Lyth Valley Inn with views across the valley towards the large limestone escarpment that runs for miles from the restaurant windows . there is flat car parking to the side of the building and a small outside area down some steps with tables to sit and enjoy the views. a flat and slight incline into the front entrance (no steps) where the bar is on the left , the furniture in this area is worth mentioning as not only is it top quality hardwood but the design is stunning. a beautiful bright sunny afternoon we were given the option of eating on the terrace outside or in the restaurant with views from the windows . with drinks from the bar our waiter gave us a table for two in the oak paneled restaurant and the menu's to look through . a comprehensive main menu and a specials board , i decided on an in house prepared beef burger with cheese, onion rings , relish and french fries with side salad , my partner went for the traditional roast beef with all the trimmings ,both meals arrived in an acceptable time and were generous portions , my partner was impressed by the amount of beef on her plate and enjoyed it immensely ( although she couldn't finish it all) i had fun eating the large burger in its bun with my fingers , a most enjoyable meal ,we adjourned to the bar and sat in the booth with a huge square table and admired the unusual furniture whilst watching the last of a world cup match . the end of a relaxed afternoon eating experience which we both enjoyed it won't be long before we return

    • Service
Thank ford07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LythValleyInn, Front Office Manager at Lyth Valley Country Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for your review and comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit and do look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

What more could anyone want? This place has superb views across the Lyth Valley. We found the staff extremely pleasant and helpful and the food was excellent and nicely presented with all fresh vegetables and local produce. The portion size is good ( possibly too good ! ) even for hungry cyclists so we sadly didn't have space for dessert. We will be back again soon!

Thank Tryfoodlakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LythValleyInn, Front Office Manager at Lyth Valley Country Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for your review and comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

After having our first meal here there was no way that we'd eat anywhere else. Jacob and Estelle were very efficient, friendly, and enthusiastic.

The restaurant has ample seating and there is an outside terrace where you can have a pre- dinner drink or just eat.

How good it is that foods are locally sourced and indeed, Tim grows a choice of herbs and vegetables, which are used in the restaurant. He took pride in telling us what he'd grown and was used in the meal choices we made.

The dishes on the menu are innovative and presented well. The meals are more than adequate.

We were given a good choice of breakfasts and the service was again friendly and efficient.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LythValleyInn, Front Office Manager at Lyth Valley Country Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

We ate 4 breakfasts and 4 dinners in this delightful establishment during 2 visits within the past 10 days and loved every meal!

The menu choices are good; the ingredients primarily locally sourced; the food is self-evidently cooked with love; the service sublime in every respect (so friendly - so helpful) and all of the experience set within an Arcadian rural dream.

Our special thanks and commendations go to Estelle, Callum, Tim & Jacob in the restaurant and to Chantelle & Luca at the bar - all of whom provided such tip-top service. Excellent.

Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TonyB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LythValleyInn, Front Office Manager at Lyth Valley Country Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Thank you Tony for your lovely comments, we are very proud of all of our staff here and are glad they made your stay so enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lyth Valley Country Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Lyth Valley Country Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing