We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (810)
Filter reviews
813 results
Traveller rating
234
295
160
64
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
234
295
160
64
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed travelzoo offer steam room and jacuzzi evening meal groupon deal lovely hotel spa facilities set menu birthday treat booked this hotel salmon plenty of parking one night stay lake district lovely room a lovely stay kendal town
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 813 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Attended on Sunday for afternoon tea for 14 of us. Told to arrive at 1.30 for 2pm, myself and my daughter were last to arrive at 1.40 and coffee and tea were already served and no-one asked us what we wanted. One person was ill, and sandwiches were brought for that person, but no cakes, although I was charged for it. I had ordered a special plate of sandwiches for one guest, by the time these arrived (after asking 3 times) the rest of us has almost finished ours. On paying the bill, there was a discrepancy on the charges for wine, but this was sorted. Other places I have had afternoon tea provide cake boxes so you can take the leftovers home. The leftover food was removed from the table and 1 bag of sandwiches and 8 parcels of cakes were provided between 13, so we ended up having to unwrap and try and share our as best we could. (This definitely needs improving on).

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night new years stay. Have stayed previously and knew a refurb was due but OMG what a transformation!! the new brasserie is stunning compared to it's past look. very swish and modern. Food was good on Saturday and the food on the gala night equally good.... Breakfast better than previous stays as now better choice.
Staff once again make the place and a lot of new faces but Helen (manager) and Rosie were particularly impressive and friendly and Adam who we met last time made such an effort to chat to us... look forward to seeing the rest of the refurb when we return in summer

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lowey82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

Stayed three nights between Christmas and New Year.
As others have mentioned in the reviews I read before booking the hotel is undergoing a major renovation. Much has already been done but some rooms are now being worked on. The noise of this was minimal.
The staff were helpful and polite but the whole place felt confused because of the older rooms and modern restaurant bar area which in all honesty had a distinct lack of atmosphere. It was almost silent in the restaurant ( a little music leaked from the bar area) but so quietly that everyone had to whisper so as not to be overheard. I am not advocating 'lift music' but it needs some sort of background music when mainly empty because if you can't chat freely you don't want to be there.
The same could be said of the food. Confusing. Great starters... Goats Cheese Salad with red onion and the Mackrel Pate were delicious and a plain old vegetable soup was very tasty, but we both chose the haunch of Venison as a main. Cooked as requested (which is rare with venison) it cut like a knife through butter but actually turned out to be very tough to chew...so much so we both left over half the meal.
As the waitress collected the plates I was expecting to be asked if there had been a problem with the food...but no question was forth coming except would we like to see the desert menu?
Food is obviously down to personal taste. The Full Cumbrian breakfast was excellent with a wide choice.
My partner used the swimming pool, Jaccusi and Sauna all of which were clean and in fine order.
Would I stay again? ... probably not but it wouldn't kill me.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

My husband and I have just got back from Stonecross Manor where we booked for Christmas Day lunch. All we can say is WOW!! From start to finish nothing was to much trouble. Fabulous staff amazing food!! Looking forward to returning with family and friends. Massive Congratulations to all working today. Xxx

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank scary66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night on Saturday the 16th
We came but early but it was no bother to check in , room was good clean and all the stuff u need. Went down to Kendal for a walk takes about 15-20 min to get there . Came back got ready for dinner at the restaurant which is a lovely place to eat. The food was very good aswell we had the steak and ale pie for main . After are meal we went to the bar and had a few drinks which were nice by the fire .
The staff were all very helpful in every way so thanks to all.
We will be back in the new year

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 366kevenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews