We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buy a gift deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here as part of a gift our daughter had bought us for Christmas. We knew the hotel was under refurbishment but was pursuaded that no disruption to our stay would happen . We arrived around 3pm to the hotel and straight into a lovely new reception area and restaurant/bar. We rang the bell at the desk 4 times but still no one in sight approx 10 minutes later a guy who was collecting laundry said he had told them we were waiting. Eventually a lady arrived and booked us into our room 109 queen four poster but we changed this to room 106 king size which was spacious but in need of refurbishment. Small tv in room and bath water was only lukewarm although shower hot. After using the spa facilities which were good we went to the bar for a drink again no one around and you guessed it 5 rings of the bell and 10 minutes waiting the same lady turned up. I think only 2 other guests which were I believe contractors stayed that night. We were awoken around 4am ish by what sounded like a drilling noise above our room and the smell of paint on the staircase was very evident. After getting back to sleep we were again awoken before 8am with loud talking and drilling and banging. Breakfast was fine and filling but we may have stayed the night before in the restaurant for a meal but the area was never manned by a member of staff. All in all an ok stay but once the refurbishment is complete it will look nice but staff certainly need to be in key areas . Also noticed a fire extinguisher hidden behind Christmas decorations which were still up in a windowsill and maybe to stop noise close it until it’s nearly done.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Attended on Sunday for afternoon tea for 14 of us. Told to arrive at 1.30 for 2pm, myself and my daughter were last to arrive at 1.40 and coffee and tea were already served and no-one asked us what we wanted. One person was ill, and sandwiches were brought for that person, but no cakes, although I was charged for it. I had ordered a special plate of sandwiches for one guest, by the time these arrived (after asking 3 times) the rest of us has almost finished ours. On paying the bill, there was a discrepancy on the charges for wine, but this was sorted. Other places I have had afternoon tea provide cake boxes so you can take the leftovers home. The leftover food was removed from the table and 1 bag of sandwiches and 8 parcels of cakes were provided between 13, so we ended up having to unwrap and try and share our as best we could. (This definitely needs improving on).

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night new years stay. Have stayed previously and knew a refurb was due but OMG what a transformation!! the new brasserie is stunning compared to it's past look. very swish and modern. Food was good on Saturday and the food on the gala night equally good.... Breakfast better than previous stays as now better choice.
Staff once again make the place and a lot of new faces but Helen (manager) and Rosie were particularly impressive and friendly and Adam who we met last time made such an effort to chat to us... look forward to seeing the rest of the refurb when we return in summer

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lowey82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

Stayed three nights between Christmas and New Year.
As others have mentioned in the reviews I read before booking the hotel is undergoing a major renovation. Much has already been done but some rooms are now being worked on. The noise of this was minimal.
The staff were helpful and polite but the whole place felt confused because of the older rooms and modern restaurant bar area which in all honesty had a distinct lack of atmosphere. It was almost silent in the restaurant ( a little music leaked from the bar area) but so quietly that everyone had to whisper so as not to be overheard. I am not advocating 'lift music' but it needs some sort of background music when mainly empty because if you can't chat freely you don't want to be there.
The same could be said of the food. Confusing. Great starters... Goats Cheese Salad with red onion and the Mackrel Pate were delicious and a plain old vegetable soup was very tasty, but we both chose the haunch of Venison as a main. Cooked as requested (which is rare with venison) it cut like a knife through butter but actually turned out to be very tough to chew...so much so we both left over half the meal.
As the waitress collected the plates I was expecting to be asked if there had been a problem with the food...but no question was forth coming except would we like to see the desert menu?
Food is obviously down to personal taste. The Full Cumbrian breakfast was excellent with a wide choice.
My partner used the swimming pool, Jaccusi and Sauna all of which were clean and in fine order.
Would I stay again? ... probably not but it wouldn't kill me.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

My husband and I have just got back from Stonecross Manor where we booked for Christmas Day lunch. All we can say is WOW!! From start to finish nothing was to much trouble. Fabulous staff amazing food!! Looking forward to returning with family and friends. Massive Congratulations to all working today. Xxx

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank scary66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
2 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1 139 reviews
2,4 km away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
1,9 km away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7,8 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
565 reviews
4,6 km away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
459 reviews
8,5 km away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecross Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecross Manor Hotel

Address: 84 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range: R 976 - R 2 131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonecross Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of Kendal with ample FREE parking, easy access from M6 junction 36 and A591. All 30 rooms have en suite bath & shower and have been decorated to a high standard, some boast elaborate 4-poster beds. Established in 1857 as an orphanage Stonecross Manor Hotel has since been extensively modernised and converted into the fine hotel that it is today. Close to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and is also an ideal stop off point when travelling to and from Scotland. Catherines Restaurant and the Westmorland Bar offer an ambience of relaxation coupled with quality Cumbrian and regional cuisine and a wine list to please all tastes. The Newly refurbished heated-indoor pool and poolside Spa with Steam Room and massage jets is now open to guests and members. Stonecross Manor Hotel is also a perfect Wedding venue, with function rooms to suit small or large receptions, both formal and informal while the Civil Ceremony Licence ensures your special day can be enjoyed all in one place. Conference and banquet facilities are also available offering a light and airy environment for your seminar or dinner with quality equipment and extensive menus to cater for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonecross Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecross Manor Kendal
Hotel Stonecross Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing