We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Friendly welcome on arrival and lift to first floor. Room was nice but mould on the ceiling and walls in bathroom which is my main concern - white vinegar kills this! Think when renovations are finished it will be much better. Had a drink in the bar and the staff are very friendly but it felt like we were in a barn.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecrossOffice, General Manager at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback relating to your stay. Apologies for the issues you encountered and I will certainly look into this. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment so we have had to move our bar area into the function suite so apologies for the odd layout. I hope to welcome you back once the refurbishment is complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017

We stayed at Stonecross Manor Hotel in Kendal for one night in September while on the way up to Scotland. The hotel was easy to find on the outskirts of the town, about 20 minutes’ walk from the centre. We had a lovely welcome from the girl at reception and we were allocated Room 116 on the first floor. They did have a lift. It was a quiet, comfortable room with plenty of space plus a sitting area. It was light and airy and had the usual TV, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board. There was a nice bathroom with shower over the bath, a few complimentary toiletries and lovely thick bath towels.
There was a lovely menu for dinner. The food was good, beautifully presented and the staff were great.
Breakfast the next morning was extra to the room rate. It offered a good selection of hot food and a reasonable cold buffet
There was supposed to be free Wi-Fi in the room but we were told that, as they were having some refurbishing work, it was only available in the public areas at that time.
There was ample free parking. Would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Annathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecrossOffice, Reception at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

We are so pleased to read your positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

As many other reviewers have said the property if tired and shabby, carpets stained and bathrooms with mildew. Beds small and very uncomfortable and walls so thin that we could hear which television program next door were watching. However the building itself is nice and has potential and the staff were pleasant.
The dining room is a little odd, its a function suite that they have just thrown some tables and chairs in to have dinner hence there is no atmosphere. The service was chaotic when we first arrived in the dining room and the staff apparently had very poor knowledge of the menu that they were serving. That being said the food was far better than expected. Breakfast buffet was average in selection and quality.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Get_away_fr0m_it_all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecrossOffice, Reception at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

We are currently undergoing a full refurbishment and the restaurant has been temporarily relocated to the function suite, which may account for the "odd" lay out. We hope you visit again once the work has been completed to see our new look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We arrived early and building work was ongoing so our room was incredibly noisy. The work did stop at 5pm.

The room was pleasant enough otherwise, although I could get a very warm shower in morning. But still a nice room.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAMBODAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecrossOffice, Reception at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

We apologise for the noise you encountered from the ongoing full refurbishment. The work is being carried out during daytime hours to minimise guest disruption. We hope to see you again when the work has been completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

The potential for this hotel is clear but there is much needed to be done to bring it up to a high standard. Our room was a fair size and had been decorated but lacked finishing ( handles missing off wardrobe, cracks in bathroom). Our meal was very poor. Table cloths and candles on the tables would have lifted the ambiance.
However, the staff were very pleasant and accommodating at all times. A very dog-friendly hotel. Close to Kendal and ideal situation to walk in to town.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pear13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecrossOffice, Reception at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

We hope you visit again once the refurbishment has been completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
2.4 km away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
2.0 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1 088 reviews
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
557 reviews
38.0 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
12.4 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecross Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecross Manor Hotel

Address: 84 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range: R1 097 - R2 213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonecross Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of Kendal with ample FREE parking, easy access from M6 junction 36 and A591. All 30 rooms have en suite bath & shower and have been decorated to a high standard, some boast elaborate 4-poster beds. Established in 1857 as an orphanage Stonecross Manor Hotel has since been extensively modernised and converted into the fine hotel that it is today. Close to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and is also an ideal stop off point when travelling to and from Scotland. Catherines Restaurant and the Westmorland Bar offer an ambience of relaxation coupled with quality Cumbrian and regional cuisine and a wine list to please all tastes. The Newly refurbished heated-indoor pool and poolside Spa with Steam Room and massage jets is now open to guests and members. Stonecross Manor Hotel is also a perfect Wedding venue, with function rooms to suit small or large receptions, both formal and informal while the Civil Ceremony Licence ensures your special day can be enjoyed all in one place. Conference and banquet facilities are also available offering a light and airy environment for your seminar or dinner with quality equipment and extensive menus to cater for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonecross Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecross Manor Kendal
Hotel Stonecross Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing