We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$131
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
US$97
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (771)
Filter reviews
771 results
Traveller rating
220
280
153
62
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
220
280
153
62
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedtravelzoo offersteam room and jacuzzievening mealgroupon dealchanging roomsbuffet stylelovely hotellambspa facilitiesbirthday treatbooked this hotelplenty of parkingone night stayroom was clean and comfortablelake districtfood was lovely
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 771 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We stayed at Stonecross Manor Hotel in Kendal for one night in September while on the way up to Scotland. The hotel was easy to find on the outskirts of the town, about 20 minutes’ walk from the centre. We had a lovely welcome from the girl at reception and we were allocated Room 116 on the first floor. They did have a lift. It was a quiet, comfortable room with plenty of space plus a sitting area. It was light and airy and had the usual TV, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board. There was a nice bathroom with shower over the bath, a few complimentary toiletries and lovely thick bath towels.
There was a lovely menu for dinner. The food was good, beautifully presented and the staff were great.
Breakfast the next morning was extra to the room rate. It offered a good selection of hot food and a reasonable cold buffet
There was supposed to be free Wi-Fi in the room but we were told that, as they were having some refurbishing work, it was only available in the public areas at that time.
There was ample free parking. Would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Annathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecrossOffice, Reception at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

We are so pleased to read your positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

As many other reviewers have said the property if tired and shabby, carpets stained and bathrooms with mildew. Beds small and very uncomfortable and walls so thin that we could hear which television program next door were watching. However the building itself is nice and has potential and the staff were pleasant.
The dining room is a little odd, its a function suite that they have just thrown some tables and chairs in to have dinner hence there is no atmosphere. The service was chaotic when we first arrived in the dining room and the staff apparently had very poor knowledge of the menu that they were serving. That being said the food was far better than expected. Breakfast buffet was average in selection and quality.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Get_away_fr0m_it_all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecrossOffice, Reception at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

We are currently undergoing a full refurbishment and the restaurant has been temporarily relocated to the function suite, which may account for the "odd" lay out. We hope you visit again once the work has been completed to see our new look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We arrived early and building work was ongoing so our room was incredibly noisy. The work did stop at 5pm.

The room was pleasant enough otherwise, although I could get a very warm shower in morning. But still a nice room.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAMBODAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecrossOffice, Reception at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

We apologise for the noise you encountered from the ongoing full refurbishment. The work is being carried out during daytime hours to minimise guest disruption. We hope to see you again when the work has been completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

The potential for this hotel is clear but there is much needed to be done to bring it up to a high standard. Our room was a fair size and had been decorated but lacked finishing ( handles missing off wardrobe, cracks in bathroom). Our meal was very poor. Table cloths and candles on the tables would have lifted the ambiance.
However, the staff were very pleasant and accommodating at all times. A very dog-friendly hotel. Close to Kendal and ideal situation to walk in to town.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pear13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecrossOffice, Reception at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

We hope you visit again once the refurbishment has been completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Fortunately got the last double room after a days driving.
the hotel is just outside Kendal with free parking and reasonable rates.
Staff very good welcoming you when you get there and especially at breakfast.
Food also good with the breakfast buffet the best we found on this trip.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Felixstowe2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecrossOffice, Reception at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

We are pleased you had such a pleasant stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews