We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$72
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
US$100
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Kendal(Kendal)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (750)
Filter reviews
751 results
Traveller rating
209
277
150
60
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
209
277
150
60
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedgroupon dealpool and jacuzzichanging roomsevening meallick of paintbuffet stylelovely hotellambbirthday treatspa facilitiesbooked this hotelplenty of parkinglake districtself serviceone night stayboth nights
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 751 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Stoncross manor on groupon, arrival great reception staff extremely friendly and very helpful, as we asked quite a few questions and all our enquirers met, staff asked on arrival would we like glass prosecco on arrival or at the eve meal, got keys to room straight away midday, room Huge, very old but building is very old, jacuzzi bath very good, eve meal very really well presented and tasted lovely, good choice of three courses well done Stonecross we had very enjoyable stay

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacFellwalker, General Manager at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review about your recent stay at Stonecross Manor Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your comments have been passed on to the Team. Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Once again, thank you and kind regards. Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

The room: tired decor, broken kettle, no sink hole cover and a loud continuous fan noise through the night. The room, however, was very clean.The coffee we had served down in the lobby was lovely and the young woman at reception was very pleasant and helpful. I could not get wifi in my room but it was OK in the lobby.
The breakfast was tasty and the staff very attentive and the grilled tomatoes were cooked just right!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breuddwydio123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacFellwalker, General Manager at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your very constructive review about your stay at Stonecross Manor Hotel.

We are investigating the humming noise now and have addressed the maintenance issues you refer to about the room.

Thank you for such positive feedback in regard to the rest of your stay which we really appreciate. Your comments have been passed on to the Team and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind Regards
Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

We booked a 2 night stay at this hotel for the Easter weekend 2016.
On arrival we noticed that the hotels front entrance door was in a poor state with flaking and chipped paint. We were allocated our room and made our way up the staircase noticing the stair carpet was thread bare on many of the treads.
On entering our room, the first thing we noticed was the stains and dirty marks on the wall. On hanging our keys we saw a hole in the plaster down to the breeze block underneath. On closer inspection of the room we saw the bath panel was poorly maintained, the shower curtain rail and towell rail were both rusty and unsightly. The bedroom skirting board was filthy, the window had dirty handprints all over it and the window frame and sill had flaking and chipped paint. There was definately no 'wow factor' for £130 per night asking price. We asked for an alternative room but in all honesty it wasn't much better. The staff claimed the hotel was going through a refurbishment program but there was no mention of this on their website or at the time of booking our stay and no obvious signs of any on going work that we saw.
The staff were quite unmoved by our comments so for the first time in 30 years of travel, we walked out of the hotel.
I have attached a few pictures to back up my comments.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacFellwalker, General Manager at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Stonecross Manor Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and will take your points into consideration during our on going improvement programme.

Kind Regards
Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

Managed to get a cracking deal on groupon. Dinner proseco breakfast and a four poster bed room all for £109! Bargain

We took our dog too for £10.

Best thing hands down about this hotel is Connor the your waiter. True credit to the hotel. Such a chatty and friendly young man he made staying a pleasure

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Debiy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacFellwalker, General Manager at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review.

We are so pleased that you found the Groupon Deal to be such good value and really appreciate our feedback, particularly in regard to Connor. He has seen your comments and is thrilled to bits!

Many thanks once again and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Got a very warm welcome on arrival and told all the ins and outs and got booked in for dinner, so off to a great start. Up to the room on the top floor and have to say on the whole very pleased. Yes, it could do with some new furniture, but it was all very clean. Bathroom looked to have been updated and the shower was fantastic. Lock and key for the room, great. A little bit on noise from water, heating a few doors shutting, but after 10pm nothing had a great sleep.
Food
Dinner;
everything was great for the evening meal, in fact there was too much for us to manage, cooked fresh in a very clean and well set out room, service was spot on too.
Breakfast; Always the sign for us of a good hotel and this was as good as we have had for a long time, everything cooked fresh, quality food, as much as you could possibly eat, plus cornflakes ect, fruit, toast and as much tea and coffee as you wanted. Again top quality service we could not fault. Got a pool but we did not try, but will do on our next visit.
The hotel should be proud of the staff they have here, all in all a very good stay and we will be back in a few weeks time even though its a massive trip for us. I should mention the hotel is in a ideal spot, just outside of Kendal centre and very easy to get to the lakes, 15mins max.
Wifi was spot on, needed to send work home with photo's-no problem at all, linked up two ipads and a phone very easily.

Room Tip: We like the high rooms with no one above us, less noise!
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kenwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacFellwalker, General Manager at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive and positive review about your recent stay with us.

It is so encouraging to read and your comments have been passed on to our Team.

Once again, thank you, and we look forward to welcoming your back soon.

Kind Regards
Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews