We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff great location ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here overnight while visiting friends. The spa and pool was a great bonus, the staff were very friendly and welcoming and the 3 course meal was excellent. The hotel is located a short distance from the town centre, easily walkable along the pretty riverside. Would stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank barryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacFellwalker, General Manager at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the spa facilities to be a bonus. Your comments have been passed on to the Team who are delighted by your praise.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 213 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Stoncross manor on groupon, arrival great reception staff extremely friendly and very helpful, as we asked quite a few questions and all our enquirers met, staff asked on arrival would we like glass prosecco on arrival or at the eve meal, got keys to room straight away midday, room Huge, very old but building is very old, jacuzzi bath very good, eve meal very really well presented and tasted lovely, good choice of three courses well done Stonecross we had very enjoyable stay

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacFellwalker, General Manager at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review about your recent stay at Stonecross Manor Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your comments have been passed on to the Team. Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Once again, thank you and kind regards. Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

The room: tired decor, broken kettle, no sink hole cover and a loud continuous fan noise through the night. The room, however, was very clean.The coffee we had served down in the lobby was lovely and the young woman at reception was very pleasant and helpful. I could not get wifi in my room but it was OK in the lobby.
The breakfast was tasty and the staff very attentive and the grilled tomatoes were cooked just right!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breuddwydio123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacFellwalker, General Manager at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your very constructive review about your stay at Stonecross Manor Hotel.

We are investigating the humming noise now and have addressed the maintenance issues you refer to about the room.

Thank you for such positive feedback in regard to the rest of your stay which we really appreciate. Your comments have been passed on to the Team and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind Regards
Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

We booked a 2 night stay at this hotel for the Easter weekend 2016.
On arrival we noticed that the hotels front entrance door was in a poor state with flaking and chipped paint. We were allocated our room and made our way up the staircase noticing the stair carpet was thread bare on many of the treads.
On entering our room, the first thing we noticed was the stains and dirty marks on the wall. On hanging our keys we saw a hole in the plaster down to the breeze block underneath. On closer inspection of the room we saw the bath panel was poorly maintained, the shower curtain rail and towell rail were both rusty and unsightly. The bedroom skirting board was filthy, the window had dirty handprints all over it and the window frame and sill had flaking and chipped paint. There was definately no 'wow factor' for £130 per night asking price. We asked for an alternative room but in all honesty it wasn't much better. The staff claimed the hotel was going through a refurbishment program but there was no mention of this on their website or at the time of booking our stay and no obvious signs of any on going work that we saw.
The staff were quite unmoved by our comments so for the first time in 30 years of travel, we walked out of the hotel.
I have attached a few pictures to back up my comments.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacFellwalker, General Manager at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Stonecross Manor Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and will take your points into consideration during our on going improvement programme.

Kind Regards
Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

Managed to get a cracking deal on groupon. Dinner proseco breakfast and a four poster bed room all for £109! Bargain

We took our dog too for £10.

Best thing hands down about this hotel is Connor the your waiter. True credit to the hotel. Such a chatty and friendly young man he made staying a pleasure

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Debiy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacFellwalker, General Manager at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review.

We are so pleased that you found the Groupon Deal to be such good value and really appreciate our feedback, particularly in regard to Connor. He has seen your comments and is thrilled to bits!

Many thanks once again and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
2,4 km away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
2 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1 135 reviews
1,9 km away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7,8 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
565 reviews
4,6 km away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
458 reviews
8,5 km away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecross Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecross Manor Hotel

Address: 84 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range: R 949 - R 2 127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonecross Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of Kendal with ample FREE parking, easy access from M6 junction 36 and A591. All 30 rooms have en suite bath & shower and have been decorated to a high standard, some boast elaborate 4-poster beds. Established in 1857 as an orphanage Stonecross Manor Hotel has since been extensively modernised and converted into the fine hotel that it is today. Close to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and is also an ideal stop off point when travelling to and from Scotland. Catherines Restaurant and the Westmorland Bar offer an ambience of relaxation coupled with quality Cumbrian and regional cuisine and a wine list to please all tastes. The Newly refurbished heated-indoor pool and poolside Spa with Steam Room and massage jets is now open to guests and members. Stonecross Manor Hotel is also a perfect Wedding venue, with function rooms to suit small or large receptions, both formal and informal while the Civil Ceremony Licence ensures your special day can be enjoyed all in one place. Conference and banquet facilities are also available offering a light and airy environment for your seminar or dinner with quality equipment and extensive menus to cater for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonecross Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecross Manor Kendal
Hotel Stonecross Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing