We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wedding of our dreams!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2018

My husband and I recently got married at Castle Green in December last year. From the dedication and friendliness of the staff to the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms-everything was spot on. We had our reception in the Kendal suite which was just stunning with the views from the balcony of the gardens and the fells in the distance. Our guests enjoyed every minute and all commented on how fantastic both the venue and staff were. Thank you Castle Green.
From the Medways :-)

Room Tip: Rooms with a garden view are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for this 5/5 review!

I'm so pleased to learn how your big day was such a special one, I'm sure the team will enjoy reading this review and knowing that they were a big part in making it all come together.

All the best for the future and we hope to see you back at the hotel soon.

Best regards,
Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 1 911 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

I have stayed here on several occasions and has always been nice but I thought there are a couple of things worth mentioning. The room was nice and comfortable and very clean. The food was very nice, especially the breakfast. We had room service which was nice but the portion sizes were disappointing for the price. I tried to check in online but had problems with the website. I eventually called directly and was offered a price and a deal that didn’t appear on the website so it worked out quite well. When we checked in, although friendly, the person that checked us in offered no information or guidance on the hotel facilities. There was no mention of the refurbishment Work that was ongoing and no mention of Alexander’s restaurant being closed. However, I do still like the hotel and will stay again if I am in the area.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank scottishhobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for this account of your stay with us.

I am sorry that you weren't provided with all the information you should have been on this occasion, your feedback will help in these areas going forward.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best regards,
Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Twenty years after our first New Year celebratory stay, we returned to be greeted by Jill, who we met the very first time and also completed our booking on both occasions. It was like old times. Friendly, welcoming yet still professional, Jill’s exceptional qualities continue to impress. Fabulous room with four poster bed & well appointed spacious en suite made the stay feel extra special. Lovely afternoon tea in the Greenhouse with soulful singer crooning in the background add for a great start to the festivities. Just enough time for a swim & a chill out before luxuriating in the beautiful bathroom and preparing or the big night. Welcome fizz & canapés were a nice way to have the meet & greet prior to a sumptuous meal which was delicious and beautifully presented. Service was second to none, they made it look effortless. Band played a range of funky tunes. Midnight fireworks continued to impress. A fabulous night! New Year’s day meal in the Greenhouse was relaxing and the following morning’s cooked breakfast was as good as it has ever been. It was lovely to see so many familiar staff faces - the sign of a happy workforce across the Castle Green family.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

What a lovely review, which I will share with Jill and with the rest of the team. It's fantastic to learn that as we have evolved and developed as a hotel, the same great service and welcoming personalities still shine through. I'm sure others will find this review helpful and we look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully for many more years to come.

Best regards,
Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Very nice hotel with great facilities. We walked in the lakes early in the day and reached Hotel at Tea time good service nice Bar area on Saturday evening. Good choice of breakfast next morning. A hotel I have already recommended to friends and would most definitely visit again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for this review.

I have shared your kind words with the rest of the team and we always appreciate a recommendation to others! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Check in was very easy and the reception staff lovely. Our room was gorgeous and very clean' tea and coffee included.
We stayed for a wedding and thought it all went just perfect, all the staff involved were very attentive. Food was outstanding. We were in bed before 11 so not sure what time the bar closed.
The breakfast was buffet service with tea and coffee offered from waiter. Everything else self service. Thought the bacon and sausage had been there quite a while so not as hot. Everything else was fine. All in all I would probably stay there again as just a couple. Xx

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Blondidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review and for sharing your experience of the hotel with others. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay.

Best regards,
Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1,5 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1 138 reviews
13,6 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1,9 km away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36,9 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
8,6 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
565 reviews
14,2 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: R 1 444 - R 2 904 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing