We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
US$98
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$92
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Beech House(Kendal)
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
182
18
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
18
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstation innlake districtcar troublewonderful dogdog treatsking size suitecotton budspre ordercooked breakfastthought of everythinghomemade marmaladeamazing settingwarm welcometrain stationplace to staylovely guesthousemorecambe bay
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We stayed in the double suite which had been recently refurbished including a new bathroom. The room was a very good size with a large suite area. There was a very good selection of hot beverages provided in the room. Breakfast was a pre order system for both food and time.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sandie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Only a short walk from Oxenholme station and to the nearest pub The Station Inn, which is also excellent and does good food. Be careful on the pavements though as they are very narrow and cars belt along that road! The guest house is very comfortable with good quality furnishings including in my room (2) an excellent new shower. The owners are very friendly and the cooked breakfast ample and flavoursome. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alastair2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

After looking for a guest house to accommodate two adults, a toddler and a 9 month old baby, we came accross The Glen.
From the moment we stepped into the house we were made to feel welcome, as if nothing would be too much trouble.
When we booked we had selected our check in time would be 4pm, it was more like 4:30 by the time we had found the correct road, however Bill was there waiting for us, offering to help carry bags and giving us a brief introduction to the house.
We had a family room, which was lovely, clean and spacious with a very well stocked tea and coffee selection. There are mini tubs of milk supplied in the room and just down stairs guests can help themselves to fresh milk and bottled water.
Toiletries are good too, even make up remover pads were supplied in the bathroom.
A bottle opener and a little pair of scissors are also in the room, and a selection of toys, which were very popular with our 3 year old!
The tv has all the normal freeview channels and a dvd player is provided, which we used quite a lot.
Breakfast was perfectly cooked every morning and there are a selection of cereals, fruit and toast that guests help themselves to.
Each morning we took a walk up The Helm before breakfast.
Location wise, The Glen was ideal for us to explore the Lake District.
We had a very lovely stay and will definitely return and have no hesitation recommending this Guest House to anyone.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Myself and my partner booked 3 nights here visiting my brother and nephew. We have stayed before and knew when visiting again we would come back.
We were running late due to part of the M6 being closed and turned up up past 10pm and Pauline was waiting for us. Our room was lovely and the bed so comfy. The shower was also perfect. After a long adventure a lovely hot powerful shower is what you need.
Pauline is so accommodating and will make every effort to make your stay wonderful.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Flumpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Stopped here for 3 nights in august and what a lovely comfortable place to stay.
Stayed in room 1 with our pet beagle, nothing too much trouble and we really appreciated the many personal touches. Room was clean and of high spec.
Breakfast was excellent and plentiful.
Pauline & Bill make your stay welcoming and relaxing.
No doubt we shall return as we love visiting the lakes.
Thanks Ryan, Ruth & Alfie

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ry_Ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews