We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves the excellent rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Glen Guest House
Ranked #3 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Only a short walk from Oxenholme station and to the nearest pub The Station Inn, which is also excellent and does good food. Be careful on the pavements though as they are very narrow and cars belt along that road! The guest house is very comfortable with good quality furnishings including in my room (2) an excellent new shower. The owners are very friendly and the cooked breakfast ample and flavoursome. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alastair2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

After looking for a guest house to accommodate two adults, a toddler and a 9 month old baby, we came accross The Glen.
From the moment we stepped into the house we were made to feel welcome, as if nothing would be too much trouble.
When we booked we had selected our check in time would be 4pm, it was more like 4:30 by the time we had found the correct road, however Bill was there waiting for us, offering to help carry bags and giving us a brief introduction to the house.
We had a family room, which was lovely, clean and spacious with a very well stocked tea and coffee selection. There are mini tubs of milk supplied in the room and just down stairs guests can help themselves to fresh milk and bottled water.
Toiletries are good too, even make up remover pads were supplied in the bathroom.
A bottle opener and a little pair of scissors are also in the room, and a selection of toys, which were very popular with our 3 year old!
The tv has all the normal freeview channels and a dvd player is provided, which we used quite a lot.
Breakfast was perfectly cooked every morning and there are a selection of cereals, fruit and toast that guests help themselves to.
Each morning we took a walk up The Helm before breakfast.
Location wise, The Glen was ideal for us to explore the Lake District.
We had a very lovely stay and will definitely return and have no hesitation recommending this Guest House to anyone.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Myself and my partner booked 3 nights here visiting my brother and nephew. We have stayed before and knew when visiting again we would come back.
We were running late due to part of the M6 being closed and turned up up past 10pm and Pauline was waiting for us. Our room was lovely and the bed so comfy. The shower was also perfect. After a long adventure a lovely hot powerful shower is what you need.
Pauline is so accommodating and will make every effort to make your stay wonderful.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Flumpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Stopped here for 3 nights in august and what a lovely comfortable place to stay.
Stayed in room 1 with our pet beagle, nothing too much trouble and we really appreciated the many personal touches. Room was clean and of high spec.
Breakfast was excellent and plentiful.
Pauline & Bill make your stay welcoming and relaxing.
No doubt we shall return as we love visiting the lakes.
Thanks Ryan, Ruth & Alfie

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ry_Ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Booked for the start of our holiday for 2 nights, stayed in the ground floor suite and it was lovely, overlooking the woodland.

The room was huge and very comfy the king size bed was very comfortable, the room was nice and clean and fully equipped from different teas and coffees even fresh milk supplied. Bathroom was very clean and extremely fluffy towels supplied fresh every day.

Breakfast was plentiful and piping hot nothing was too much trouble for Bill & Pauline I really recommend the scrambled eggs!!

I would have no hesitation in going there again and probably will would definitely recommend this lovely place

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
3.0 km away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
3.4 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1 070 reviews
3.6 km away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
549 reviews
2.5 km away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
692 reviews
6.6 km away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#5 of 13 in Kendal
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen Guest House

Address: Oxenholme, Kendal LA9 7RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range: R1 410 - R1 871 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glen is a family concern with an excellent reputation for friendly service and large freshly cooked breakfasts using local produce. It is situated on the outskirts of Kendal, in a quiet location in its own grounds under "The Helm" (local walk and view point of Kendal, the Lake District Mountains and Morecambe Bay), but within a 200 metres of country Inn and restaurant. All rooms are en suite, with most having bath and shower. For that special occasion we have, our Luxury suite with en suite Bathroom with shower and a double room with large en suite bathroom with Double Bath and separate walk-in shower. We have a large family/twin room with view of 'The Helm' plus a large ground floor suite with king size bed. All rooms have freeview TV with DVD. Outside, relax on our patio before taking an evening walk on 'The Helm' to watch the sunset over the Lakeland Mountains, then a drink or meal in our local Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Glen Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing