We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$139
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
US$140
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
187
19
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
19
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstation innlake districtwonderful dogeye makeupdog treatscotton budscooked breakfastexcellent hoststhought of everythinghomemade marmaladepre orderwarm welcometrain stationplace to staystayed in the family roomsitting arealocal pub
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2016

just stayed for a few days at the Glen everything was 100% so many little touches that a lot of b/b, hotels and guest houses don,t do ,too many to mention ,have been in lots of b/bs etc .but this needs to be visited to be appreiciated,will be back again.

Room Tip: all are very good
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CARMAN1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Absolutely superb!!!Beautiful spacious room...sitting area...bathroom with jacuzzi. ..four poster bed...Pauline was soooo lovely..nothing too much trouble. I've never stayed anywhere that paid so much attention to even the tinest detail. Breakfast 5 star..loved every minute of our stay.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank violet emma C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

We Stayed a couple of nights to check the lakes district out, good location. Every little detail had been thought of, nothing forgotten. Its very comfortable with a warm welcome. The breakfast is good nothing but excellence thankyou!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Brindle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Fabulous stay. Warm, genuinely friendly welcome. Glass of sherry on arrival - lovely. Clean comfortable room with plenty of tea and coffee options and fresh milk. The freshly cooked breakfast was outstanding and catered for a gluten free diet with plenty of GF options. Excellent value

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyWatts2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

This was by far the best B&B experience we have had. We chose this based on cost, location and of course the 5***** reviews and were more than impressed.

We arrived late (after 9pm) but this was not a problem for Pauline who greeted us with a smile and made sure we were ok. She explained the breakfast pre-ordering system and invited us to help ourselves to water from the fridge. As others have mentioned, you get a wee torch to guide you home from the nearby pub and in the room itself are plasters, shoe shiner, sewing kit, cotton buds, eye make up removal and some nice toiletries.

The room was lovely and modern and felt like we were staying at a friends house - a true home from home. Our room was at the back and looked on to a couple of bird feeders. The downside was that natural light was non-existent but in the grand scheme of things it did not detract from a wonderful stay.

We were only there 2 nights but towels were replaced and the room was smelling clean and fresh. The bedding and towels were made of good quality materials and plenty pillows on offer. In the breakfast room I overheard a couple saying their bed was extremely comfortable. We prefer a firmer mattress but that is personal preference.

I loved that the breakfasts were pre-ordered so no wastage. Fantastic quality of food and the first place the fried eggs stayed hot!! Impressed that Bill knew from our request sheet who wanted what and just put it down to us without asking... Cold food selection was great too and although Bill & Pauline wouldn't have known, it was great to have a fruit salad that excluded fruits that i am allergic to :). In addition, the home-made marmalade was delicious. Don't know why anyone would take a Golden Shred sachet!

Bill and Pauline took a genuine interest in their guests and asked how their day had been etc.

As dog lovers, it was great to see so many 4-legged guests and for those not keen on dogs, there is a separate doggy exit so that they aren't traipsing through the dining room. There were some kids' books as well as maps on a book shelf. Seemed like nothing was too much for Bill & Pauline.

We hope to be back and will definitely recommend to friends a family visiting the Lakes.

Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank entyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews