We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short visit between Christmas and New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Glen Guest House
Ranked #4 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2016

My wife and I came for 3 nights with our French bulldog, travelling up from London by train to Oxenholme train station, literally 5 minutes away down the hill. We enjoyed every minute of our stay! Bill and Pauline Connell took care of every detail. Our family-size room had an inspiring view of the Helm hilltop above us. Everything we could possibly need was in the room, including tea, coffee, and hot chocolate making facilities, a hair dryer and vanity mirror, free Wi-fi, TV and DVD player, a setee and cushions, and a variety of toiletries in the en-suite bathroom (which actually had a bath!). A hearty breakfast to order was cooked by Bill and served with a smile in the breakfast room at the pre-selected time. Pauline was most attentive and kind and took a genuine interest in our activities each day! To be honest, our stay left nothing to be desired, a real eye-opener! We'll be back, and I must try that home-made marmalade and jam next time.

Room Tip: The family room we stayed in had a great view of the Helm hilltop above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2016

just stayed for a few days at the Glen everything was 100% so many little touches that a lot of b/b, hotels and guest houses don,t do ,too many to mention ,have been in lots of b/bs etc .but this needs to be visited to be appreiciated,will be back again.

Room Tip: all are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CARMAN1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Absolutely superb!!!Beautiful spacious room...sitting area...bathroom with jacuzzi. ..four poster bed...Pauline was soooo lovely..nothing too much trouble. I've never stayed anywhere that paid so much attention to even the tinest detail. Breakfast 5 star..loved every minute of our stay.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank violet emma C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

We Stayed a couple of nights to check the lakes district out, good location. Every little detail had been thought of, nothing forgotten. Its very comfortable with a warm welcome. The breakfast is good nothing but excellence thankyou!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Brindle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Fabulous stay. Warm, genuinely friendly welcome. Glass of sherry on arrival - lovely. Clean comfortable room with plenty of tea and coffee options and fresh milk. The freshly cooked breakfast was outstanding and catered for a gluten free diet with plenty of GF options. Excellent value

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyWatts2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
2,3 km away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
3,6 km away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
6,4 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6,7 km away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
447 reviews
3,4 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1 096 reviews
4 km away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen Guest House

Address: Oxenholme, Kendal LA9 7RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range: R1 402 - R2 063 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glen is a family concern with an excellent reputation for friendly service and large freshly cooked breakfasts using local produce. It is situated on the outskirts of Kendal, in a quiet location in its own grounds under "The Helm" (local walk and view point of Kendal, the Lake District Mountains and Morecambe Bay), but within a 200 metres of country Inn and restaurant. All rooms are en suite, with most having bath and shower. For that special occasion we have, our Luxury suite with en suite Bathroom with shower and a double room with large en suite bathroom with Double Bath and separate walk-in shower. We have a large family/twin room with view of 'The Helm' plus a large ground floor suite with king size bed. All rooms have freeview TV with DVD. Outside, relax on our patio before taking an evening walk on 'The Helm' to watch the sunset over the Lakeland Mountains, then a drink or meal in our local Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Glen Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing