We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 407)
Filter reviews
1 407 results
Traveller rating
628
488
186
62
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
628
488
186
62
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park table table meal deal parking is limited pay and display council offices police station attached restaurant lake district per day parking space central location reception staff high street adjoining pub good nights sleep cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 1 407 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Great central location, close to restaurants, bars etc. All the team were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay, very comfortable room.
Downside is the lack of free parking, if you can get a space it's £5 for 24 hours. Rooms overlooking the car park can be a bit noisy.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Thank H4733AFemmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Let's get the negative over first. I was really disappointed with the evening meal at the hotel,s restaurant. Admittedly it was Saturday evening and the hotel was quite busy, but when I sit down with 2 young children, I don't expect to have to ask for someone to take our order and then wait almost an hour for our main course. The children did get their starters in reasonable time, but then we had a long wait. I did get an apology of sorts when I complained, but the table adjacent to ours had also just complained about their order. The food when it did come was pretty standard, but nothing to complain about. Other than that I was really pleased with our stay. The breakfast buffet was good, in particular the fresh bread was great. The room was standard, clean and comfortable, even with a family of four. I appreciated the large bathtub too. The hotel is well located for sightseeing and the town itself and very quiet during our stay. The adjacent car park is expensive but at weekends there is free parking nearby. I was very pleased that the hotel rang to advise this ahead of our stay. The staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

We were allocated a room which was not accessible by lift - the lift goes to the floor below and then there was a long walk to our room, but first we had to haul our cases and ourselves up several sets of stairs. This is really not good enough - there was no warning about accessibility and no question about our mobility. The least I would expect from a chain like this is: cleanliness, a comfortable bed and accessibility. This hotel failed on two counts for us. The room we had smelled awful - there was no opening window so we couldn't freshen it. The source of the stink was a shower curtain . The reception staff promised to change it, but when we got back at the end of the day it still stank so either they hadn't or they changed it for an equally stinky one!. The bed was comfortable though! We won't be back.

Room tip: Make sure you are not on the floor which the lift doesn't reach unless you are fit and well.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fisherwoman2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Hi,

I'm terribly sorry you found the location of your room inconvenient.

Unfortunately, our hotel layouts vary. However, as we always to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. We welcome requests and recommend you make us aware of special requirements so we can try our best to arrange these.

I'm also sorry you noticed a smell within your room as all rooms should be checked before you arrive. It's most disappointing this was resolved even after making the the team aware. The Manager will be working alongside both Housekeeping and Maintenance to make sure our high standards are being met at all times.

Kind Regards,

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

This is our second stay at the Premier Inn in Kendal. On both occasions the hotel as been clean and staff friendly and efficient. Parking at the hotel is limited but there are council run car parks in the vacinity if required. We ate ate the Wakefield Arms which is next to the hotel. They serve the usual pub grub which was nice. Again the Staff were friendly and efficient. All in all a nice hotel for a short break.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We spent two nights here and paid up front for the meal deals, after the first evening, we asked for a refund, as the service and food in the adjoining pud was not up to our expectations.
We would like to thank Jenny, who sorted out the mess and refunded both of our meal deals, and we eat elsewhere.
The room was very quiet, over looking the park at the rear, which we took a walk in and noticed on our way back that there are five parking spaces that do not have pay and display signs up, so if you get there early, free parking!
Great hotel, close to Windermere, crap pub!
We did notice on both of the days we were there that our coffee mugs were dirty as were the tea spoons, more attention to cleaning needed.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews