We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a very relaxing holiday away from everything”
other travellers have booked this property
Traditional lakeland slate semi-detached cottage with lovely peaceful south-facing garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Traditional lakeland slate semi-detached cottage with lovely peaceful south-facing garden
Private & secluded  location,  glorious views,  but only 5 mins drive / 20 mins walk into Hawkshead Perfect location amidst the south lakeland fells below Latterbarrow, surrounded by woodland
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Traditional lakeland slate semi-detached cottage with lovely peaceful south-facing garden
Private & secluded  location,  glorious views,  but only 5 mins drive / 20 mins walk into Hawkshead
Perfect location amidst the south lakeland fells below Latterbarrow, surrounded by woodland
Great  for wild-life and bird watching. We regularly see deer in the fields opposite the cottage
Warm and cosy living room with relaxing soft-furnishings
Wood-burning stove and high end hi-fi / TV equipment in living room with lovely outlook  onto garden
Kitchen / dining area with slate flooring and under-floor heating and granite worktops throughout
Utility area off kitchen with full-size dishwasher, washer / dryer, microwave and slow-cooker
Upstairs shower room and toilet with walk-in shower and heated towel rail
Main upstairs double bed room with views over garden
Small single upstairs bed room - views of private driveway, fields, and distant Fairfield Horseshoe
Larger single upstairs bed room - convertable to twin-beds for additional guest if requested
Generous upstairs landing area serving the bed rooms and shower room
Generous hall-way leading to gardens with ample space for wet clothes and walking boots etc
Logs available on non-profit basis and large selection of CD's and DVD's or bring your own Ipod
Secluded location / access to Gillbank Cottage along private driveway, off the public highway
Shared drive to rear with sole-use garage and private car parking space for one motor vehicle
Wine or Welcome Pack  & we do all our own meet-and-greets to help guest settle in fully on arrival
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hawkshead, Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mr Mrs R
1 review
“a very relaxing holiday away from everything”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Our stay was for a week at the end of March 2015. Geoff corresponded with detailed information leading up to our stay.
We were greeted by Geoff, with a lovely welcome pack. Geoff had made the cottage very warm and cosy with the heating on and evrything ready for our stay. Before Geoff left he talked through everything we needed to know about the cottage, where everything was etc and laid the log fire ready for us to light.

The cottage is in a quiet, relaxing position with outstanding views.It is within walking distance from Hawkshead over some fields or via road and beautiful walks right from the door step. The cottage is well suituated for having fun in the mountains and on the Lakes

We would like to thank Geoff for all his hard work and attention to detail to make our stay as pleasurable and enjoyable as possible.

Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outdoor12...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing break in the lakes.”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Gillbank cottage is just stunning. Set in a peaceful area overlooking beautiful countryside this place provides the perfect getaway. Geoff and Amanda meet you on arrival and are very knowledgeable on the local area and tell you how everything works in the cottage. The cottage is lovely and clean and provides an excellent base for exploring the local area. Would recommend highly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twiggytoy...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect in every way, I booked last minute & found Geoff and Amanda so helpful, Geoff met both my partner and I, explains everything & where the best local restaurants, pubs ,walks are,
The cottage is very well equipped with all that you would need.The views from every window are breathtaking, the peace and quiet along with the surroundings made it perfect for my escape from the hustle and bustle of working in London, will definitely visit the Lakes again and hopefully will stay depending on bookings at Gillbank. A big thank you to Geoff for making our stay perfect.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jowheatle...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 15 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We are a family who wanted a few days away in the lakes- chose this house due to location and price. Geoff couldn't be more helpful even before we actually booked the house. He also provided recommendations for things to do, walks, restaurants etc before our arrival.
It helped as we were so lucky with the weather for the 5 days- not a drop of rain.
Great location- can walk to hawkshead, 5 min drive to Ambleside for everything you'd need. Great walks direct from house, particularly Latterbarrow out the back of the house for a 365 degree view of the lakes.
House was immaculate, and Geoff met us on arrival to ensure we knew how to work everything, with a lovely welcome pack and sweets for the kids! Will definitely be returning.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elle22222
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a long weekend, which was no problem for Geoff and Amanda to accommodate.

On arrival, we were greeted by Geoff. A lovely greeting from Geoff with a delightful welcome package. Geoff made us feel at home straight away, helping us in every way possible.

The cottage is a dream, in a tranquil, relaxing spot. Walking distance from Hawkshead and beautiful walks right from the door step. The log burner is a lovely touch, from walking in the rain to sitting with a glass of wine in front of the cosy log burner... Our perfect day!

We can't wait to return to the dream cottage :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$140
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing