We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Travellers Rest Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Side(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grasmere Hotel(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveller rating
195
167
70
32
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
167
70
32
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteak menuroad noisecoal firelake districtmain roadtwo coursesreal aleate hereweekend staycumberland sausagepiping hotpuddingan evening mealroom was clean and comfortablecouple of nightslovely mealtwin room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 498 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were warmly welcomed by one of the female staff and were very impressed by all the staff throughout our stay of 3 nights. Lovely location , comfortable room and lovely shower. We enjoyed a hearty breakfast with plenty of choice and also the 3 evening meals were all really good... Overall an excellent base for fell walking in the Lakes .A big thank you to the friendly and helpful staff and the chef .

Stayed: March 2018
Thank GraceHaywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica J, Manager at The Travellers Rest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi GraceHaywood,
Thank you for taking some time to share your thoughts on your break with us.
It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that the team helped make your stay that little bit more special.
I am pleased you found the shower in your room good too, we know how much you want an amazing hot shower after a day exploring The Lakes!
Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Jess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Saturday evening meal only (didn't stay overnight). Nice pub, nice food, great service, especially from their Romanian & Portuguese waitresses/barmaids. Selection of Jennings ales - I'd recommend the Sneck Lifter.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank MaccLad2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica J, Manager at The Travellers Rest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Macclad2010,
Thank you for your kind words on our Inn.
The girls really make our cosy Inn that bit more special, plus they know how to pull a good pint.
Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Jess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Our stay at the Traveller's Rest was again as enjoyable as previous visits. As soon as you walk through the door into the bar area you are greeted by a very helpful member of staff and a nice coal fire.
There are a variety of nice real ales, one being Jennings Sneck Lifter which always goes down well with my partner. There is plenty of drinking/dining area which also has a roaring coal fire, which was welcoming on cold days.
The menu is varied, and as previously mentioned the steak and kidney pudding with traditional suet coating is amazing....great for if you are hungry because it is a 'big pudding'. The chicken breast coated with parma ham and stuffed with feta cheese, spinach and sun dried tomatoes is to die for, so tasty I had it on consecutive nights!
The room was very cosy with fantastic views, and you could hear a pin drop at night as it was so quiet.
One of the main reasons we keep returning is the friendliness of the staff. We would like to say a big 'thank you' to Christina, Mikaela and Marta and also Gareth. We think you are wonderful and nothing is ever too much trouble. Thank you for looking after us again and look forward to seeing you soon Diane & Chris xx

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica J, Manager at The Travellers Rest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Hi Diane G,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us.
It is lovely to hear from returning guests and that you still enjoy coming back to us. I am pleased to know that you think we are very welcoming when you enter as the team work very hard to create a relaxing warm environment.
The Chef and his team will be pleased to hear more great reviews on their food too. The Steak and Kidney pudding always goes down a treat!
Please know the team are happy you enjoyed your stay, and that they could help you enjoy your visit to The Lakes that little bit more.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards,
Jess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Lovely friendly staff thank you for making my birthday weekend special. We really enjoyed our stay in your warm cosy inn. Food was excellent and the breakfast was yummy! We will see you in the summer!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Inder D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica J, Manager at The Travellers Rest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Hi Inder D,
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words on our Inn.
It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your birthday weekend and that it was partly due to staying here with us. The team work really hard to ensure all guests visits are as welcoming and comfortable as possible.
It would be lovely to see you again in the summer, hears hoping the sunshine will join us as well.
Kind regards,
Jess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

Me and my my wife stayed here for many years from soon after we got together until our daughter started toddling around. It was then that we started staying up the road at the Kings Head, so I it's at least 20 years since we last stayed at the Travellers Rest.
What a treat it was to return.
We stayed in Room 7 at the back of the inn for 3 nights from 25th February. We would have preferred a room at the front but we booked late and this was the only room available. The room was lovely and warm with twin comfy beds. The view from the window over the fells was superb but you needed to crouch down to see it because of the low window All part of the character of the building and I wouldn't want it any other way.
We stayed 3 nights and had evening meals each night. I had 3 different meals off the menu and every one was delicious; Cumberland sausage, Steak Pudding and Sirloin Steak. My wife had the lamb 2 nights (can't remember the 3rd meal) but she said all were delicious.
The cooked breakfasts were also very good but I'd suggest heating the plates before plating up the food. My wife did mention it to one of the staff so hopefully this can be addressed.
Our outstanding memory of this break is the attention given by all the staff on duty while we were there. Every one went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. A big thank-you from us for giving us a lovely short break in the lakes. We will return.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica J, Manager at The Travellers Rest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Hi Stephen B,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us.
It is lovely to hear your story and that you stayed at our sister Inn up the road throughout your other visits to The Lakes.
We are very proud of our Inn. We have lovingly refurbished the rooms last year, and even though they are a lot more modern now, we love how they still have the old charm of the coaching Inn.
I will let our Chef and his team know how much you enjoyed their food too. I totally agree it is delicious. They are very particular about what leaves the kitchen and only use fresh local produce which is definitely reflected in the taste.
I am very happy to know you were made to feel welcome and at ease. The team try very hard to create this atmosphere and generally want our guests to have the relaxing break away they want.
I know for sure, we would love to have you stay with us again, but don't leave it as long next time.
Kind regards,
Jess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews