We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 242)
Filter reviews
2 242 results
Traveller rating
1 259
545
274
109
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 259
545
274
109
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea valley view senior suite steam room molton brown toiletries lake district buffet style sitting room beautiful hotel huge bed dove cottage restaurant manager birthday treat reception area scones high standard member of staff
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 2 242 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We had a meal here on the terrace and although the food was good (although a little overpriced) we were disappointed with the lack of attentiveness of the waiting staff. We had to ask for crudiments and after waiting 5 minutes after being served, had to fetch ourselves. We were expecting a better service and were disappointed with our experience.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lcolling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

After paying over £500 for two nights stay we arrived to find there was nowhere to park our car. I went to the reception and the guy behind reception moved his car for us to park. Not ideal !!! When trying to check in we couldn’t hear what they guy was saying for the noise coming from the bar area. Lots of people talking really loud which we found out were the wedding party. Not a very welcoming environment. When we finally got to the room it was quite basic. It had a creaky floor which was annoying. Also there was no fridge, slippers or bath robe. The shower was very temperamental and sometimes would only run cold. ‍♀️We went to the restaurant for our meal which took one and half hours. We sat for 35 mins with no food, not even a bread roll. That night the wedding party were noisey outside. On Saturday morning we went for breakfast to find staff dashing around making the atmosphere not very relaxing. We went to select our breakfast with lots of other guests so had to queue, to find there was no eggs, bacon, tomato or sausage. After a while waiting the waitress replenished these items except the sausage which we were told would be 10 minutes ‍♀️‍♀️Not a very pleasant experience. Then on Saturday the next wedding party arrived. This group were not as noisy but made the hotel very busy. Won’t be staying there again. Feel we were over charged for what we got. We expected much better.
A tip- ring to see if there are weddings booked before you book your room. If weddings on stay elsewhere.

Date of stay: April 2018
3  Thank lgkmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a lake view room which had a huge bay window with a fabulous view of the lake. The room was stunning. Comfortable bed. Molton Brown toiletries. We also had a meal in the restaurant with a table by the window again overlooking the lake. The food is amazing. Cannot recommend this hotel enough. We will certainly be staying again.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank shirls50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

This was our first time in a spa, with this beings a birthday treat for one if our party. We all enjoyed a gel polish and two hour spa session. The staff were brilliant, very friendly and calming making our first spa visit a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend for a half day revive visit after a long week on the fells!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank blackwhite85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Would definitely return, had the best time here such a clean hotel staff always friendly and Food was amazing great value for money, perfect location overall perfect hotel, wish we had stayed for longer lovely views from every window looked out of :)

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank S1320UTcharlotted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews