We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in an ideal location”
Dipper Cottage is part of the old mill building at Sunny Bank Mill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dipper Cottage is part of the old mill building at Sunny Bank Mill
Sunny Bank Mill's own jetty - a wonderful place to sit Dipper Cottage entrance, right beside Torver beck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Dipper Cottage is part of the old mill building at Sunny Bank Mill
Sunny Bank Mill's own jetty - a wonderful place to sit
Dipper Cottage entrance, right beside Torver beck
Dipper's living area
Dipper's smart new kitchen
Comfy reclining sofas and TV
The master bedroom, with view over the beck
Dipper's second bedroom
The bathroom has a powerful electric shower over the bath
Dipper's lounge window overlooking Torver beck
The grassy lane leading down to the lake
The wooded field - plenty of space for dogs or children to run around
Delightful Torver Beck runs right past Sunny Bank Mill Cottages
Dipper's canoe in action
Sunny Bank Mill's private lake-shore
Looking north to the central fells
Sunny Bank Mill from the air
Looking south from the jetty
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michellen...
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in an ideal location”
Reviewed 8 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We recently stayed in Dipper cottage and it was lovely. The cottage is nicely furnished and has everything you would need in a home from home.
We stayed with our 20 month old toddler and the addition of a high chair and stair gate were ideal.
Daphne is very helpful and provided us with plenty of information about the cottage and the surrounding area.
The cottage has a private jetty on lake Coniston which I imagine is lovely in the summer. We were there on a cold, sunny February morning and the views were breathtaking.
I have already recommended these cottages to friends and family and without a doubt we will be returning in the future!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2018
Thank you so much for a lovely review, and do come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda W
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in perfect location”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We loved our stay in Dipper Cottage, it is very well equipped and cozy. We took advantage of the Canadian canoe hire and spent lots of time on the lake which was great fun. To be able to take a short stroll to the lake and enjoy the peace and tranquility it offers was priceless. Our dog loved his stay here swimming in the lake everyday.
There is outside space at the front of the cottage with a bench to sit on but we also took a portable camping table and sunloungers so that we could eat outside and watch the Dippers in the beck which came to entertain us every day. We were also able to look inside Wren and Robin cottage which were both equally as good. If you want a garden area and to be on one level then Robin may be better for you as On entering Dipper you go into the hallway and the two bedrooms and bathroom are on that floor, you then go down to the kitchen/lounge area.
The location is just perfect, you will not be dissapointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private access to the lake offering peace and tranquility
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chope0805
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely short break in this interesting cottage”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Just back from a lovely 4 day stay in this converted water mill cottage. Really lovely location right next to the beck and 2 minutes walk from coniston water. Well equipped cottage with very good instructions for all the amenities. Would highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dominic H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage where you fall asleep to the sound of Torver Beck”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Dipper Cottage is a lovely little get-away, just outside Torver, south of Conniston. the cottage is an old converted mill, perched above Torver Beck which provides a constant soundtrack to your stay. The cottage is one of three in the mill with a bigger house further down the track. It is just a short walk from Conniston Water where you look out over Wildcat (Peel) Island of "Swallows and Amazons" fame - as well as close to the Sunny Bank ferry jetty (although not running during our stay due to storm damage). We found the cottage clean, warm and comfortable. My only criticisms - and they are small ones - would be the main double bed was slightly on the lumpy side; there is only one chopping board for food prep (that we could find anyway); and as with almost every rental cottage I have ever stayed in, the knives were all really blunt! But apart from that the kitchen is well kitted out - we even managed a roast dinner, which you can't always do in a rental cottage. But a lovely place to stay and I would highly recommend it. Falling asleep to teh sound of the Beck was lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing