We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast butties & cakes... not at same time!!”

Herdwicks Cafe and Bistro
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Coniston
Price range: US$4 - US$13
Description: Set in the heart of the English lake districts, at the base of the fells sits Herdwicks cafe and bistro. Serving light lunches, and hearty meals Herdwicks has the best views in the village. You are sure to recieve a warm welcome from husband and wife team Spencer and Gemma, who as village locals strive to provide the best service, using only local produce where possible.
Restaurant details
Description: Set in the heart of the English lake districts, at the base of the fells sits Herdwicks cafe and bistro. Serving light lunches, and hearty meals Herdwicks has the best views in the village. You are sure to recieve a warm welcome from husband and wife team Spencer and Gemma, who as village locals strive to provide the best service, using only local produce where possible.
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

Visited a couple of times in recent trip to Coniston... 1st for a great sausage butty and second for coffee and cake... both visits were excellent.... great food, really friendly staff and lovely coffee... definitely one of our go to places for future visits

Thank WendyB660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metcalfe88, Owner at Herdwicks Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thank you for taking your time to write a review and calling us one of your go to places. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

A real "cut above" your average cafe.
The food (we had a bacon, Brie and cranberry toastie)
Was absolutely delicious, crammed with bacon and Brie
With a beautiful little side salad.
The presentation was beautiful. Our loose leaf tea in glass
Pots was excellent too.
Beautifully clean, and lovely toilets.
Finally,staff delightful.
This, by the way ,was our second visit, as we discovered
It by chance,earlier in the week.

1  Thank robertsP586NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metcalfe88, Owner at Herdwicks Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thank you for an outstanding review, we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

Only called in for a cuppa and stayed for the best lamb and mint burger we’ve had in a very long time. Wasn’t put off by the field of “Herdies” next door either. Table could have done with wipe rather than a gather up of cake crumbs and swept on to the floor as our food arrived though.

Thank BusGirlBecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metcalfe88, Manager at Herdwicks Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and mentioning our burgers. I can only apologise that the table wasn’t wiped properly, we were extremely busy with only one member of staff out front, completely my fault I had not staffed sufficiently (not expecting it to be as busy as it was) we have reviewed the rota and have made sure we have sufficient staff on for the following weeks. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

We stopped at Herdwicks for refreshments on a beautiful sunny day, Fabulous service from Gemma and the team , dog friendly, child friendly and VERY welcoming .... we will definitely return. Coniston is a stunning place to visit and Herdwicks comes well recommended. Thanks xxxx

P.S fab value for money, my beer was nice and cold and the coffee great . Gemma made the kids a brilliant chocolate milkshake , thumbs up all round. Thanks

Thank Linsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metcalfe88, Owner at Herdwicks Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you so much for your lovey review, we hope to see you again for more beer and milk shakes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Shared the Herdwick lamb burger with chips and salad and it was lovely and tasty and we'll presented. Only thing that spoilt it was staff more interested in dogs and discussing a mailing. Oh and not fussed with the poncey tea.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metcalfe88, Owner at Herdwicks Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and mentioning how good the lamb burger was, it was me working in Sunday with my husband (head chef) in the kitchen. YES we love dogs and the majority of our 5* reviews include how fantastically dog friendly we are, there are other places in Coniston to go that don’t allow dogs, but it’s clear we are dog friendly with bowls of water outside, free biscuits on the counter for them and 2 pictures of dogs on the front page of the menu that explains we are dog friendly. At the time I believe Jeeves was in (one of the dogs on the menu) and yes I do make a fuss of one of my fave doggy friends so I can’t appologise for this.
I can appologise for getting slightly excited about thinking I saw the post lady, (I had been waiting for a parcel) am not sure what this had to do with yourself or the service?
As for the “poncey tea” I can’t understand what’s “poncey” about it? Loose leaf tea is the same as tea in a tea bag just without the bag, in fact we have the same tea in bags if you prefer. Again a lot of our reviews rave about how good the tea is and the fact we have 8 different teas to choose from. I usually take every positive Critisism and try my best to rectify them for the future. However in this case I won’t be.
Thanks again for writing a review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Herdwicks Cafe and Bistro also viewed

Coniston, Lake District
 
Coniston, Lake District
 

Been to Herdwicks Cafe and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing