We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderfully relaxing, welcoming and beautifully...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Esther's Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

victoria...
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderfully relaxing, welcoming and beautifully finished.”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Had an amazing time in the Lakes for this time of year especially, which the house and our stay at Southwaite Green contributed to greatly. Such a relaxing place, beautifully finished, with great modern furniture yet brilliantly in keeping with the countryside feel of the place. Really impressed with the kitchen especially, and all the little touches - was better even than our own kitchen! Marna was extremely obliging and welcoming too – we only wish we could have stayed longer.

Date of stay: January 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feel and design of the place.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing. Can't recommend enough.”
Reviewed 12 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Very high quality accommodation. The house is very well designed with an excellent kitchen. However the best part is grounds which are very large and include many different placed for kids to explore. The swimming pond is beautiful and not something you see every day. Very good.

Date of stay: July 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsH75
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Luxurious, very relaxing, peaceful, ethical and extremely comfortable.”
Reviewed 14 July 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Southwaite Green is a fabulous, peaceful, pretty and luxurious place to stay with the added bonus of being both ethical and environmentally friendly.
Marna is a perfect host, with great attention to detail.
The accommodation is spotlessly clean and truly five star self catering venue.
A selection of local fare, vegetables and essentials as well as fresh flowers greeted us on arrival.
The site surrounding it is beautiful and perfect for either a peaceful stroll or a voyage of discovery for little ones.
This was my third visit to Southwaite and I always truly relaxed here. Each time standards are as high as before and our stay just as enjoyable. I travelled with my husband and two young children and I cannot recommend it highly enough - in fact I have recommended this venue to both friends and family. And I have already booked to return again in 2012.

Date of stay: May 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLea013
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, excellent accomodation, friendly owner and lots to enjoy without going far”
Reviewed 17 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We statyed at Southwaite Green for a week from 4/6/11. It was very easy to book via the internet. The cottage was very clean and is well equipped to a high standard. The owner, Marna, was welcoming and the local produce, including veg box and beer, was great. It was interesting and inspiring to see and hear about the approach taken to applying sound environmental principles to the buildings, their interiors and operation and the grounds. Wonderful also to be able to have access to such beautiful grounds and to be able to sit out in the evening at the property, relax and observe the wildlife.

The country lanes around the property were quiet, rich with wildlife and with great views of the surrounding hills. It was easy to enjoy walks from the property such as around the Whythop Valley and to some of the lower fells such as Sale Fell and Low Fell. The eastern shore of Bassenthwaite Lake is close by, is beautiful and at this time of year also has the ospreys to see.

The closest town, Cockermouth, was full of independent shops including an excellent book shop, outdoor gear shop and shoe shop, as well as excellent places to eat. Keswick is also only a short drive away,

All in all a fantastic place to stay whether you want to simply relax at the property, try out ecologically sound living or enjoy the wonderful Lake District landscape.

Date of stay: June 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Reviewed 10 April 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Date of stay: March 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
South Africa
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.