We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A delightfully cosy cottage and a good 'home' for...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Manse Cottage our cosy house in the North Lakes
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Manse Cottage our cosy house in the North Lakes
The Lounge and stairs, The Manse Cottage Snuggle up after a fabulous walk
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
The Manse Cottage our cosy house in the North Lakes
The Lounge and stairs, The Manse Cottage
Snuggle up after a fabulous walk
The Lounge and dining area, The Manse Cottage
A host of golden daffodils - a perfect time of year
The Dining area, The Manse Cottage
Bedroom 1 The Manse Cottage
Bedroom 2 The Manse Cottage
The Landing The Manse Cottage
Bathroom The Manse Cottage
The Western Fells Lake District Buttermere
Chandelier on landing
Shuttered windows
View from village
Bedroom window
Our cosy cottage near Cockermouth
Broughton carnival
Great Broughton procession
The parade in front of our cottage
Punch Bowl Inn opposite serves real ale
Borrowdale
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
PCT4
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A delightfully cosy cottage and a good 'home' for those who go to the Lakes in order to get out and about.”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cosy little cottage is situated in a 'working village' where people get up and go about their daily business early, so don't expect a quiet lie-in in the mornings, but there again, the village community-run pub, which is directly opposite, will serve you a magnificent pint of local Jennings beer in the company of chatty locals rather than tourists and the staff of the village stores have time to impart upon you any amount of local gossip. This is a village in which to linger and savour the quieter side of Lakeland life. This delightful cottage is situated at the North West corner of the Lake District, away from the hustle and bustle of the Central Lakes but near enough to the Western Fells or the coastal region to give good days out whatever the weather and if the weather is really 'pants' Robert & Lesley have supplied a plentiful selection of books, maps and DVDs to while away the hours. But the big problem is - the beds are so comfortable it is difficult to get out from under the covers, go down stairs and switch on the coffee machine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2015
Nice to see our cottage is getting known in far flung places like Cornwall. Thank you for your lovely comments and your time taken to do this review. We have lovely guests now from all over the world now which we find amazing. Please come back again or tell your friends.

Best wishes,
Robert and Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Pleasant House”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

One of the best houses in the village. Two shops very nearby and some pubs. Easy walk to the River Derwent, south west of the village along Coldgill Avenue. Handy for Cockermouth and for visiting the north of the Lake District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House itself
Liked least: No rear garden
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lil_tun
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great little place.”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Myself and two friends chose this lovely cottage as our base for our Lake District trip back in August. Our first impression was 'it looks really cute' and it was. It was like a little home from home and was the perfect size for the three of us (or four). The wooden kitchen door and stairs were a nice feature to the living room/dining room space. We comfortably spent our evenings here. There's even some DVDs and books to entertain.

The kitchen was well equipped and appliances easy to use, and if they weren't there's a folder full of all the manuals just in case. There is also a folder with leaflets of places to go and eat as well as maps. We found these very useful on our drives out to the lakes.

The bathroom was well cleaned and the towels provided were fluffy and soft. Both bedrooms were comfortable and a good size with plenty of storage space.

Most windows look out onto the main street of Great Broughton; a small and quiet village which you enter across a river from the A66 (Keswick). There's a pub just along from the cottage (which was quiet) and a convenience store. You can also see the hills if it isn't foggy and raining!

Nearby Cockermouth is a nice little town with high street shops and an Aldi (probably more places - we only drove through). For a 'big food shop' we drove a few miles in the opposite direction (through picturesque narrow country lanes) to Workington where they have a huge ASDA and retail park.

Keswick is only a 20 minute drive away past Bassenthwaite Lake and other places of interest beyond there (Honister Pass, Wast Water, Hardknott Pass, Windermere etc) are within pleasant driving distance. It's always a pleasure to drive anywhere in The Lake District, it never feels like a long journey with such great views to be seen.

We'd thoroughly recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a cosy, homely base for their trip to The Lake District :)

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The cosy feel of the place.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
We were really pleased you chose our cottage and we thank you for all your feedback it is really appreciated.

Many thanks

Robert and Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M
1 review
“Cute, comfy and cosy”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at the Manse cottage for ten days recently.

We had a great time exploring and the cottage was the ideal base to do it from.

Our two boys loved their room and the beds were really comfy. It felt like a real home from home - very relaxing. So thank you for that.

The cottage was really comfortable and really well equipped (the walking maps and books were particularly useful as I am planning to take a group of eight of us on the Bob Graham Round (walking not running I might add!) next year so the books were ideal to get some valuable info from.

Robert was very helpful with the arrangements and in the communications required to sort it all out.

We would definitely recommend the cottage to other family's and would definitely return.

Thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Fantastic cottage - cosy, well equipped, great beds & so quiet despite the road nearby. Handy local shop & nice walks by the river.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Thank you for your lovely review we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday. We do hope you get the chance to visit again.

best wishes

Robert and Lesley

themansecottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing