We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Didn't expect it to be this good”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Squirrels Drey

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view down from mezzanine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
view down from mezzanine
childrens play area
Games room
Pool Table in Games room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
moaad b
1 review
“Didn't expect it to be this good”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We've Stayed in the Squirrels Drey in April me and some friends and it was amazing, the house was very clean and tidy, and furnished to a very high standard. It had everything we needed. The only thing that didn't work was the BBQ as it ran out of gas. Otherwise everything is perfect. I've already recommended the place to few friends, and I'll defiantly come back to stay at the same place in my net visit to the Lake District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and child friendliness
Liked least: No phone signal
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sophie J
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place ”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I recently stayed here and it was lovely more than I expected everything you could want lovely hosts will defiantly be booking again for the summer !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2015
Thank you for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future. Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chugaboom
1 review
“well equipped, cosy warm and very comfortable holiday cottage”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

With beautiful views of skiddaw and within easy reach of Cockermouth, this well appointed cottage provides a great base for exploring the Lake District

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheilagh...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spotlessly clean in a great location”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed in Squirrels Drey for a long weekend with our 2 teenage children and our new dog Bentley. Its a really lovely accommodation, very clean, well equipped with gorgeous views. The only small criticism for me personally is that the kitchen area was a bit tight on space if you did want to cook a meal, we ate in 2 nights and I did struggle a bit. It was a real treat having the dishwasher and that came in very handy and the kitchen area generally was of a high standard and well equipped with plenty of crockery and cutlery. The outside courtyard from the main bedroom on the ground floor is a lovely spot and got the sun in the morning, I imagine in Summer months this would be a great place to enjoy alfresco eating. I would definately return and would recommend to family and friends.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing