We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"Charming Cottage"”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alanmcdad...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“"Charming Cottage"”
Reviewed 2 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at this lovely cottage over Christmas and New Year. We first stayed in September and enjoyed it so much, We actually forfeited a £200 deposit on another property( which is A LOT of money to us) to return at Christmas.
We arrived to find a beautifully decorated Christmas tree, a bottle of bubbly and even a Christmas card!
Bob and Liz could not have done more.
The place was absolutely spotless- and as a slight sufferer of Cleanliness OCD, this is extremely important to me.
I am also an avid cook, so as far as the pevious review states regarding basic equipment- I completely disagree. As far as wifi - there are also spots in centre London where this is not available- all you have to do is take ONE step outside the front door- "wandering about town" Hardly!
Yes the woodburner has been removed- the building is over 300 years old- but to be honest- the replacement still looks rustic, is totally in keeping with the cottage and is faaar less hassle!!
I would reconmend the previous couple check into The Ritz next time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed here in December 2015. On the plus side the location is excellent with the excellent Bitter End pub a few steps away as well as the main town centre with its various eateries,shops etc. On the downside, the cottage, as others have said looks thrown together.. I have stayed in a lot of rentals in the area whilst visiting family and this one was my most questionable choice. The provided equipment is basic at best with a general feel that not a lot of thought or care has been put into what is on offer, with attention to detail lacking. As others have said, there is no wifi in the property which is quite surprising in this day and age. I don't really want to be wandering round town on a cold wet night looking for a wifi hotspot to keep in touch with firiends and family. As I said before, it's the little things... Overall OK if you want a base in the centre of Cockermouth and don't intend to spend much time there. My advice would be to have a good look at what else is on offer before taking the plunge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: General appearance of the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2016
This review is somewhat disingenuous, as it appears to have been posted by the partner of Sam Duske, who has already reviewed their stay and to whose review we have responded. When he refers to "as others have said" he is in fact referring only to the comments by Sam Duske, the only other visitor to have found this cottage "disappointing". All other reviews have been four and five star, and we have many guests making return visits as they appreciate what the cottage has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hufflepuf...
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Okay....”
Reviewed 13 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

A lovely little cottage in an ideal location but sooooo lacks the personal touch. Huge potential to make it into something amazing but everything was just basic and bland. Wood burning stove removed and replaced by electric one - we primarily booked this cottage because it had a wood burner. Very disappointed. On the plus side it was still warm enough in the cottage with just the storage heaters. Stairs were dusty and needed cleaning - also cobwebs in the pantry area, above the fireplace and on the stairs. No wifi. There are far more beautiful cottages in the Lake District to choose so would probably not stay here again.

A few doors down was the Bitter End pub - great place with great food.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of love or tlc put into the place
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2015
We are as disappointed as yourselves that we had to remove the woodburning stove, however we were informed by the chimney expert that it, and the flue, were unsafe, so we had to quickly replace it with a replica, and amend the property description accordingly. We are sorry you did not like our personal touches- fresh flowers, local prints on the walls, toiletries, file of local information etc, which have been commended by many previous guests. Also very surprised that you found the staircase dusty as it had been washed from top to bottom the day before you arrived. Obviously 300 year old character cottages are prone to cobwebs, but we do our best to keep on top of them. There were none in the fireplace after we painted it the week before, when we changed the stove. We don't supply or advertise wifi in the cottage, but many of our welcoming local cafes and pubs offer it free. We hope you enjoyed your holiday, despite the problems caused by extensive flooding in Cockermouth and the rest of Cumbria.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanmcdad...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“"stunning little cottage"”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My fiancee and i just returned from a week at this charming cottage. Bob and Liz have provided everything you will require in a holiday home, along with a very informative folder full of local knowledge. The cottage,everyone we met and the town are absolutely lovely.Although small, it is ample for a couple, but do bear in mind it is a terraced cottage of considerable historic ag- so does not have a lot of storage space or outside area. The woodburner is wonderful and wood can be purchased at the sainsburys close by.Laying in bed Sunday morning listening to the peeling of the church bells. Added to the perfect ambience of church view. we cant wait to return for two weeks over Christmas and NewYear. Thank you Bob and Liz

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S
Chedburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small but central.”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed for 4 nights and found pretty much everything we needed in the cottage. It is certainly small but for 2 people it is fine. The location is great for using the towns shops, restaurants etc BUT parking is not so great.
We enjoyed our stay and found that this cottage made a great base.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;