We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great venue for a group holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Big White House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
66 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
11 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fifit79
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great venue for a group holiday”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We're just home from a girls weekend at the big White House. It was a perfect venue for us. The bedrooms were lovely & the beds very comfortable. The kitchen was really well stocked with utensils & we wanted for nothing. The large dining table was great & the wee bar area was well used. They've really thought of everything, with extra fridges, the drying clothes room & the three lounges & pool room. We would definitely recommend the house to friends & we had a great time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peg79
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic house for a get together & Everything you want in one house.”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

This is an amazing house with enough bedrooms, bathrooms & living areas for a family get together with kids of all ages or a big friend get together.
I am just back from the Big White House from a girly catch up & we all had the best time. The dining room & kitchen is great. It has everything you would ever need. The garden is a good size with a wee summerhouse too. It is an easy distance to cockermouth too which is a lovely place to visit.
Will definately be back and would 100% recommend it. We had the best weekend ever. Xxxx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whiskeyta...
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“perfect for a family get together”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Booked this for hubby's 40th birthday, it was perfect for a get together we had ages from 4 to 64 (21 people in total) but never felt crowded plenty of space for everyone. It has all the cooking utensils you would ever need and the pool table was a big hit. The only things I think need updated are the toilets and sinks in the bedrooms these look very dated compared to the rest of the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size
Liked least: toilets in bedrooms
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2013
Thank you for your valued comments regarding your stay at Big White House I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay.
Working with Our interior designer we are over the winter re decorating the bedrooms and en suite toilets.
Watch our Facebook page for updates
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sukie D
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What an amazing place to stay!!!”
Reviewed 6 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We were a party of 24 aged from 1-76yrs. The house was perfect for our family, we were surprised that the property actually caters for so many people... having two dishwashers, two kettles and two toasters was a great help. The kitchen was definately well equipped.
We were unable to locate the BBQ however one call to the maintenance number soon solved that!!
Bedrooms are a decent size, the beds and bed linen are clean fresh and comfortable. The location is pretty remote however that shouldnt be a problem if you have a car.
I can not fault this property in any way, I would certainly recommend it for a large group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the property and the well equipped kitchen.
Liked least: not applicable - I loved everything about this place
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasidot
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent choice for a large group”
Reviewed 14 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Fantastic large house near to the lovely village of Cockermouth. Excellet for large groups with plenty of outdoor space for kids to play and ample parking. The rooms were all very clean and very well appointed. The beds were excellent. The diningroom was amazing with ample room and hot plates at the side if you are cooking for a large group. The TV room was very well set up with points available to plug in Games/Karaoke Machine. Would highly recommend this house we all had a lovely time and would love to go back sometime in the near future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the propery
Liked least: No blackout curtains in the bedrooms - very light in the morning
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing