We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
148
114
38
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
148
114
38
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manager dan sunday carvery lovely hotel some tlc two nights overlooking the garden home cooked old house steak pie lake district portion sizes family run piping hot dinner menu two night stay hotel is situated full english
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018

We stayed here as a group of 5 friends who travelled up for a wedding as we couldn't get into any other note,s suggested we found this one. Very friendly staff, lovely setting, rooms were clean , beds were comfy, breakfast was nice and very good value for money overall. If I was back in the area I would defiantly stay again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank rebecca h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Lovely family run hotel. Charming staff, food is very good value but not gourmet. Bedrooms need updating, not enough sockets to charge phone and still have bedside light and kettle plugged in. Beautiful grounds well maintained.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Our son got married here on the 14th July we could not ask anymore from the hotel, the whole day was perfect the hotel went above and beyond for us even going out the night before to buy irn bru for my Scottish relations , myself and my husband stayed over on the wedding night and the breakfast was also lovely . Thank you to everyone there that made the day so special.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank karenb625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel is set in a beautiful rural location and on first approach appears very grand. There are even peafowl wandering the grounds!

On arrival we were shown to our room which was large and spacious with a decent amount of wardrobe space. The room was clean and had the usual tea and coffee facilities as well as a hairdryer and television. The wifi worked well especially for such a rural location, it did drop out a couple of times but only for a few seconds. There were a couple of tiles missing in the bathroom and I feel the lighting could have been stronger. The water pressure seemed variable which meant the toilet would need a couple of attempts to flush sometimes.

The food was basic but generously portion sizes. If you are arriving on a Friday be aware that food stops being served at 7pm, this was different to the information in the room. Breakfast was again a generous serving but the coffee was from a machine.

As previous reviews have stated, the decor and furniture is tired in appearance but is functional. There seems to be a skeleton staff operating, but the gentleman on the front desk was helpful.

We felt that with some TLC this hotel could be great. The stay was very relaxing and peaceful, we were out exploring for most of the day and so for some food and a bed the standard was acceptable.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank emvic497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

We were lucky to be complimentary surprise guests for two nights at this marvelous property. The views are spectacular and the rooms are nice, but could use furniture updates, larger beds and fans are necessities. Upon check-in we were under greeted by the Front Desk Manager, who we had to retrieve from sunning in the garden to receive us. He seemed quite put out and never even offered to assist us with our luggage which we had to walk up a steep flight of lobby stairs. He only warmed to up us on check out day. What a shame that this is a family-run historical business, with a front line person who doesn't seem to want to be there. Lots of potential for customer service to encourage future business and promotion. We are fortunate our generous friends gifted us this stay. Hope this feedback helps.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank karenmanion419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews