We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$195
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lakes Lodge(Ambleside)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brathay Lodge(Ambleside)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ann Tysons House(Hawkshead)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Ambleside(Ambleside)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Hawkshead(Hawkshead)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Brathay Hall(Ambleside)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveller rating
442
47
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
442
47
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier roomlake districtdrying roomworking farmenjoyed our stayshort walkbreakfast was deliciousdvd librarychoice at breakfastfairfield horseshoeexcellent roomlovely guesthousesurrounding countrysidefour poster bedplenty of choicemini breakhigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 494 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely quiet location, within walking distance of Ambleside. Was our base for cycling in the lakes and was a great place. Breakfast was excellent, best bowl of porridge i have had for a long time (even when i make it).

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LycraJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill H, Owner at Crow How Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your great review - we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second visit to crow how guest house, and this time we brought my sister and her husband, and once again we were not let down lovely clean guest house and beautiful clean rooms, and amazing breakfast would highly recommend thank you for our stay

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 47wendy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill H, Owner at Crow How Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your second visit to Crow How - it was great to see you both again and we hope your sister and her husband also enjoyed their visit. We're really pleased you enjoyed it as much as last year and we hope to see you return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is our second trip to this hotel and once again it was a marvellous stay.
Great breakfast, comfortable beds, friendly helpful staff, a short easy walk into the centre of Ambleside for lots of evening entertainment and food.
There are also some excellent walks in this area that can be done straight from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MarkAKillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill H, Owner at Crow How Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent visit to Crow How. We're really pleased you enjoyed your second visit as much as your first and we hope to see you return for a third - thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From so many outstanding reviews, we held high high expectations for our break, glad to say we were not dissapointed! wonderful Guest House!
Food, Staff, accomadation views all faultless, and only a short walk from Ambleside.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill H, Owner at Crow How Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your time with us. We're delighted we met your expectations and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at Crow How for a 10 day walking holiday. We did a couple of walks right from the hotel and more walks from the famous valleys of Langdale and Borrowdale. We were lucky - the weather was gorgeous during our whole stay.

Crow How was the prefect place to stay. Our spatious room had a cosy seating area at the bay window. Several teas and coffee, even delicate biscuits were provided. We loved the luxury bathroom with garden views.
The house is spotlessly clean and everything arranged with great care to create a unique atmosphere. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast with fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereals and of course the specials from the breakfast menu.

The lovely hosts were most helpful at all times.

Highly recommended place to stay for walking in the Lakes.

Room Tip: We had Room 4 with seating area and spatious ensuite bath room, which we can really recommend.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank andreasA1388VI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill H, Owner at Crow How Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Crow How. We're delighted you enjoyed your time at Crow How and our location in the heart of the Lake District. It was lovely to meet you both - thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews