We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stay and great house”
Perfect place to take off your boots and enjoy something cold at the end of the day!!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Perfect place to take off your boots and enjoy something cold at the end of the day!!!
Quirky, dog friendly retreat! Lounge with flat screen Television
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Perfect place to take off your boots and enjoy something cold at the end of the day!!!
Quirky, dog friendly retreat!
Lounge with flat screen Television
Master bedroom set up with king sized bed
master bedroom set up with twin beds
Master bedroom
Bathroom with electric shower over bath
Bathroom with electric shower over bath
Layout
Kitchen with gas hob, dishwasher, full size fridge/freezer, microwave
Second bedroom with original beams, solar powered velux.  Full of character.
second bedroom with views to the fells
Lounge/kitchen
view from second bedroom
Christmas in 2 The Old Coach House
bedroom lounge area with dressing table.
We absolutely love special occasions!!
captures the serenity of the cottage perfectly - heaven!
So peaceful!!!!
View from master bedroom
Ambleside town centre
The Bridge House Ambleside!
One of many traditional bars - The Golden Rule
Zeferelli's cinema and Jazz bar, wine bar
Compston Road Ambleside
Enjoy a refreshing drink at Zeferreli's and gaze at Wansfell!
St Mary's Church Ambleside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris C
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent stay and great house”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed for three nights in June and cannot really find any fault with the house. It was exactly as described and everything was terrific down to smallest detail. The bottle of wine on arrival and also the milk, tea and coffee for when we arrived just let you know that the owners really care that their guests are catered for.
Myself and my girlfriend and our dog (it is a dog friendly cottage) would certainly have no problem recommending this to anyone. You are literally a two minute walk from the centre of Ambleside and you can set foot out of the door and explore the area with ease. We intend to go back to Ambleside in the future and we will certainly be booking here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent use of space and very nicely decorated
Liked least: No views or outside space to look out onto. Tight parking.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for a wonderful review. Without a doubt one of the best things about the cottage is that you could literally have an amazing holiday without having to drive. There is so much on the doorstep! Would be delighted to welcome you back!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11amanda1...
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

What a wonderful find this cottage was and perfect for myself and my husband to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary. Margaret was the prefect host, preparing the cottage and leaving a bottle of bubbly and a balloon to help us celebrate.
The cottage is quirky and very well presented in cleanliness, furniture and accessories.
I will definitely be promoting this cottage to family and friends and will without a doubt book the cottage again for my next visit to Ambleside.
Keep up the good work and thank you
Amanda and Steve xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quirkiness ok the cottage and locality
Liked least: Nothing, everything was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for a fantastic review. So glad you had a perfect 21st wedding anniversary in our cottage. Would love to have you back again!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to review the cottage. Yes the location of the cottage is perfect with everything on the doorstep. Sounds like you had a great time and would love to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emily B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dr”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here for five nights with our dog. The cottage was perfect for all our needs, so convenient to walk into town for shops, pubs and restaurants. We could also go for amazing walks just by walking out the front door. The cottage was so cosy and I loved the small details in how it had been decorated. It was very thoughtful to have milk, bread and juice ready for our arrival and the bottle of presseco was a lovely touch!
Our stay brought back so many wonderful childhood memories I could share with my husband and we will definitely be back to stay in the cottage in the future!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for reviewing our cottage. These reviews are invaluable to future guests when deciding on such a vast range of accommodation in the Lake District. I am so glad that you have fallen in love with the Lakes all over again with your husband and dog!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Mar 2016
Fantastic, so glad you had a great holiday. The cottage is so handy for all the amenities but yet so private and of course dog owners would not believe how dog friendly Ambleside is!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$140
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing