We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay!!!”
Perfect place to take off your boots and enjoy something cold at the end of the day!!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Perfect place to take off your boots and enjoy something cold at the end of the day!!!
Quirky, dog friendly retreat! Lounge with flat screen Television
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Perfect place to take off your boots and enjoy something cold at the end of the day!!!
Quirky, dog friendly retreat!
Lounge with flat screen Television
Master bedroom set up with king sized bed
master bedroom set up with twin beds
Master bedroom
Bathroom with electric shower over bath
Bathroom with electric shower over bath
Layout
Kitchen with gas hob, dishwasher, full size fridge/freezer, microwave
Second bedroom with original beams, solar powered velux.  Full of character.
second bedroom with views to the fells
Lounge/kitchen
view from second bedroom
Christmas in 2 The Old Coach House
bedroom lounge area with dressing table.
We absolutely love special occasions!!
captures the serenity of the cottage perfectly - heaven!
So peaceful!!!!
View from master bedroom
Ambleside town centre
The Bridge House Ambleside!
One of many traditional bars - The Golden Rule
Zeferelli's cinema and Jazz bar, wine bar
Compston Road Ambleside
Enjoy a refreshing drink at Zeferreli's and gaze at Wansfell!
St Mary's Church Ambleside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nemmylou
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic stay!!!”
Reviewed 26 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Margaret was fantastic! My husband and I stayed for our anniversary and she had a balloon and champagne waiting on our arrival! The cottage it situated in an ideal location. Lovely and clean and had everything that we needed! Margaret was available if we had any questions (and when we locked the key in the property on the first day and needed a spare!!!) we will definitely be booking to stay in one of her properties again next year. Couldn't recommend highly enough!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for a fantastic review. It was our pleasure and we would love to have you back again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill W
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic - need I say any more?”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed many times at various cottages around Ambleside, but have to say that this cottage is absolutely outstanding - heads above anywhere else we have stayed. It has been beautifully decorated and kitted out, but it's the little extras which were a fabulous and personal touch.
Everything about our stay was just brilliant - thank you for arranging warm and sunny weather too!!
We're so excited to have found you - can't wait to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving to a warm and cosy welcoming cottage
Liked least: Leaving ...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for an amazing review and thank you for already booking your next holiday. This is the best compliment we could hope for.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“FANTASTIC!!!! 10 out of 10!”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A brilliant place to stay. Close to the town centre and a short walk to the Lakes. The property was a joy to stay in and owners Margaret and Graham could not have been any more helpful. Very accomodating. Looking forward to going back next summer

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for a great review. These reviews are invaluable to guests choosing holiday accommodation in the Lakes. It was our pleasure to have you and look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebecca s
Lancashire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“gorgeous cottage, and lovely owner!”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

we visited the cottage for Aug bank holiday weekend, we wanted a quiet stay in the lake district with our friends, the cottage itself is beautifully done, and we were made to feel very welcome by Margaret who even went to the trouble of asking me the reason for our visit, which was my partners birthday, When we arrived Maragaret had gone to the trouble of getting a balloon, and a bottle of prosecco aswell as milk, orange juice and bread for the following morning! Little things like this just make your holiday! we were central to ambleside and only a ten minute drive from windermere! we will definitly be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was great we cannot fault a thing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. These reviews are invaluable when guests are choosing accommodation in the Lake District as there is so much choice. Would love to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb12_8
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here for a week in August '15. Ambleside is a great central place to stay as it's only a stone's throw from my favourite place in the Lakes: the stunning Langdales, minutes from Windermere Waterhead on foot and only a short drive from Keswick.
The cottage itself is lovely: well equipped with everything you'd need, beautifully renovated and a great place to come back to after a long day's walking. Margaret, the owner, maintained regular contact and was very amenable when I wanted to change my booking.
The only downside was it took me two attempts on the one way system round Ambleside to find it!

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for taking time out to review our cottage. Glad you had a wonderful time and we would love to have you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing