We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It doesn't get better than this.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glassonby Old Hall

Glassonby Hall has amazing views over the Eden Valley and up into the Pennine Fells
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Glassonby Hall has amazing views over the Eden Valley and up into the Pennine Fells
The rolling Pennines across the fields Glassonby Hall's sandstone terrace - a great place to relax after exploring in the Lake District
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Glassonby Hall has amazing views over the Eden Valley and up into the Pennine Fells
The rolling Pennines across the fields
Glassonby Hall's sandstone terrace - a great place to relax after exploring in the Lake District
The terrace offers wooden garden furniture to seat 8 and a Weber BBQ, charcoal provided.
Glassonby Old Hall has fabulous views over the Eden Valley and no night pollution!
Glassonby Hall in the spring fronted by daffodils
An example of one of the oak mullioned windows
Glassonby Hall's sandstone flagged and galleried Great Hall
The large wood burning fire of the Great Hall
The dining area within the Great Hall
The breakfasting Kitchen and four oven Aga with an American fridge freezer separate hob and oven
The Snug at Glassonby has a cast iron log burning stove and traditional oak mullioned windows.
A cosy corner of the Snug showing an oak mullioned window
The ground floor Daleraven Bedroom has an adjoining wc and shower room
The first floor Addingham Bedroom has an antique five foot wooden carved bed and oak mullion windows
The Addingham bedroom
An original 18th Century oak mullioned window frame on display
The Salkeld Bedroom located on the first floor has two antique mahogony three foot beds
The first floor bathroom shared between the Addingham and Salkeld bedrooms
The Master Bedroom with a king size antique four poster bed and private entrance to the rear garden
Glassonby Old Hall Floor Plan - Access Statements available on our website The Rowley Estates
Glassonby Old Hall has a private front and rear garden.   The rear garden is gated and fenced.
The Eden River near Daleraven, a lovely public foot path which is walking distance from Glassonby
A view of the Eden Valley across the lane from the gardens of Glassonby Old Hall
A view of the beautiful Lake District scenery
There are many stone circles in the surrounding area, such as Castlerigg circle.
Cumbrian Fields in the early morning
Blea Tarn, a Site of Special Scientific Interest in the Lake District
Hikes are available everywhere, offering spectacular views and photo opportunities
Long Meg and her daughters, a nearby ancient stone circle
The bridge over the nearby River Eden
The steamer on Lake Ullswater is a great day out
Walks in the snow make visiting Glassonby in winter a great idea
Sailing on Lake Ullswater
Hutton in the Forest, a historic house in Cumbria
The beautiful gardens in Hutton
Cumbria in the spring
Levens Hall, a classic Elizabethan Mansion
Some local Herdwick sheep crossing a footbridge
Keswick Town centre
Boats can be rented for Sailing on Lake Ullswater
A view of the fields around Glassonby
Discover the market town of Penrith
Rheged, a Lake District attraction for family activities, shopping, cinema and exhibitions.
Aira Force owned by The National Trust ideal for walking
The Lady of the Lake - historic steamer on Ullswater
Steamer on Ullswater
Sunset over Ullswater
Map of Ullswater
Steamer on Ullswater leaving Howtown
Summit of Hallin Fell over looking Ullswater
Aerial view of Ullswater
Ullswater in Spring
Ullswater in the snow
Golfing in the local area
Lacy's Caves on the River Eden near Glassonby
Lacy's Caves
Lowther Castle & Gardens, Penrith
The Lost Castle - Adventure Playground at Lowther Castle
The Lost Castle - Adventure Playground at Lowther Castle
Penrith at Christmas
Red Squirrel - see if you can spot any in Glassonby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Violet A
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It doesn't get better than this.”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We came here for a four night stay after spending a week in
London at a rental property that was very disappointing. Glassonby was everything the London flat was not. Beautiful, peaceful, appointed with taste and style, and designed to provide everything a self-catering traveler might need.

The surrounding area is breathtakingly lovely, we enjoyed many walks on the narrow roads and loved the friendly cows who came to fence to greet us. We enjoyed excellent pub meals at the Featherston Arms and the Crown Inn in Kirkoswald, and we did some cooking for ourselves in the gourmet kitchen with AGA cooker.

The owners have done a great job respecting the historical integrity of the property while providing modern conveniences and comforts. There are not many large windows due to the type of building, but the lighting is excellent and it's easy to figure out which switches control which lights. The bed and bathrooms are spacious, and there are wonderful skylights in the upper floors, easy to open and close to allow air to circulate. There is a feeling that the property is loved and well cared for, not just an investment rental someone is trying to make money from.

We enjoyed fires in the family room fireplace and meals at the big table in the kitchen. The birds, cows, and sheep wake up early, so if you like to sleep late, choose the downstairs bedroom and not the master suite. Closing the skylights makes it quiet, but it was nice to have them open in July. The owners have provided a great guide to local activities and attractions, and have a large basket full of maps and literature about things to do in the area.

This was our first visit to the Lake District area. We fell in love with the house and the surroundings. We visited Lake Windermere and found that area to be very crowded and touristy, quite the opposite of the Glassonby area. So glad we chose to stay here, will visit again as soon as we can.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are all really pleased that enjoyed your stay at Glassonby Old Hall. It is very much appreciated that you wrote in such detail about the properties and surrounding area. I agree with you that the area is unspoilt and quiet (apart from the farm animals!). I will pass on your appreciation to all of our team. We would love to be able to welcome you all back again to stay at Glassonby Old Hall or at anyone of our cottages. Kind regards, Charlie, Christine and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KLP80
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I was surprised to read the reviews of Glassonby Old Hall and to find that everyone who had stayed there had given it 5 stars. After staying there myself I can now see why!

We stayed here as a group of ten adults and five toddlers all coming up for 2 years old. This took quite some arranging and members of the group had multiple questions at the last minute, ranging from how many high chairs would there be, to cots, bedding provision, were the properties attached, would baby monitors reach from one to the next etc, yet no question was too much trouble for this team to answer. Every Email I sent received a prompt, helpful and friendly reply.

On arrival the property was immaculately presented, had thoughtful details provided such as a welcome hamper with wine, eggs, milk and shortbread in addition to tea and coffee, and the house was beautifully WARM!

I stress the warm because it was snowing that weekend and it is often a concern with old properties that they might be cold. Not so this place. Underfloor heating and an Aga meant that if anything it was on the warm side. This was not in any way a problem as the radiators could all be individually turned off if required and temperatures quickly adjusted around the house.

At one point a fuse blew and we called Jilly to ask where the fusebox was. She explained that it was locked and was at the property within 5 minutes to sort it out for us, instructing us that we must call her straightaway if we had any other problems at all.

We enjoyed walks in the snow, built a snowman in the garden with the children, had groceries delivered to us with no difficulty at all, and overall had a fantastic weekend with everything we could possibly need provided for us.

Staying at Glassonby Old Hall was a joy, both in terms of the beautiful property itself and the unparalleled customer service. This is one venue who go the extra mile to look after their guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2015
Hi thank you so much for your review following your visit to our cottages at Glassonby. We particularly appreciate your kind comments regarding Jilly who puts in more than 100% effort for our guests. We hope to have a chance to welcome you all for another family visit - perhaps in the summer next time :) Best regards and thank you again, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babs H
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous property with stunning views!”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Decided to treat ourselves to a pre-Christmas family break. We were not disappointed as the property with its idyllic surroundings was just awesome!! It was easy to communicate with Christine to book Glassonby and when we arrived, all the rooms were 'kitted out' to a very high spec. The only thing that we regretted was that we didn't book to stay for a longer period of time! Looking forward to going again soon!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning surroundings and soooo peaceful.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2015
Hi,
Thank you for leaving such a great review of your stay at Glassonby Old Hall. We are delighted that you had such a nice pre-Christmas break and hopefully we can welcome you back for a longer stay next time !
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The family kitchen
Liked least: Struggled to master turning the heating down
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Feb 2015
Hi,
Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at Glassonby Old Hall and we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on our property etc. We also love the "Feathers" (as it is known locally!) especially their lovely home-cooked meals.
We will pass your kind comments onto our team and hope that we can welcome you all back again soon.
Kind regards,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SeeSea_11
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just WOW!”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Glassonby Old Hall and the adjoining Jenny's Croft are absolutely superb. We were in a group of 11 celebrating my birthday and were blown away by the restoration and grandeur of the properties. The feature dining hall was perfect for us all to sit and catch up over a meal, and the properties were excellently equipped with everything we needed. Don't hesitate in booking this property you will be thoroughly impressed! Hoping to visit Haus Hall next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2014
Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your birthday celebration weekend at Glassonby Old Hall and Jenny's Croft. We really appreciate your feedback and are so pleased that you all had such a great time at the two cottages.
We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back for a stay at Hause Hall next year.
With all our best wishes,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing