We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly relaxing, clean, comfortable, idyllic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cazenovia Hall

Cazenovia Hall's private terraced entrance and front gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cazenovia Hall's private terraced entrance and front gardens
The Old Orchard Garden of Blencowe Hall next to Cazenovia Hall and Wythburn Cottage Chef's kitchen - equipped with 4 oven aga, electric oven, gas hob and massive cooking island
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Cazenovia Hall's private terraced entrance and front gardens
The Old Orchard Garden of Blencowe Hall next to Cazenovia Hall and Wythburn Cottage
Chef's kitchen - equipped with 4 oven aga, electric oven, gas hob and massive cooking island
Open Dining Hall with antique beech table which converts to a billiards table (equipment provided)
A view from the dining area back into the kitchen
A view from the dining area in Cazenovia Hall through to the courtyard garden
Looking through the kitchen towards the rear garden
A view from the kitchen area of Cazenovia Hall towards the handmade galleried oak staircase
A view from the oak gallery at Cazenovia Hall over the dining area and kitchen
Main reception room with large open log burning fire and private terraces facing Lake District fells
The Gin Case reception room with an open fire (used to be a gin engine area for horses in the past)
A quiet place for a read and relax in Cazenovia Hall
The ground floor Lincklaen bedroom with zip and link beds
The Lincklaen Room in the afternoon sun
The ground floor Lincklaen ensuite bathroom
The groundfloor Madison Room, ensuite with a shower room and wc with a five foot bed
The first floor Lorenzo Room ensuite bedroom with six foot antique bed
The ensuite bathroom for the Lorenzo room with separate shower and cast iron bath
Chittenango Room first floor ensuite with a shower room and wc, with twin size antique beds
Cazenovia Hall Floor Plans - Access Statements available on our website The Rowley Estates
A view across the gardens towards Cazenovia Hall's private sandstone terrace
Cazenovia Hall's sandstone terraces equipped with Weber charcoal grill
The rear view of Cazenovia Hall facing Blencowe Hall courtyard
The orchard garden at Cazenovia Hall
Cazenovia Hall in the winter with a view towards Mell Fell and the Lake District
A sunny winter afternoon at Cazenovia Hall, relaxing in front of the log burning fire, logs provided
Cazenovia Hall is within the 30 acre grounds of Grade I listed Blencowe Hall
The View from Greystoke Castle nearby looking back towards Blencowe
The Lady of the Lake
Lady Wakefield
Aerial view of Ullswater
Historic steamer on Ullswater
Steamer leaving Howtown
Ullswater in the snow
Ullswater in the spring
Aira Force at the side of Ullswater which is owned by The National Trust
Fishing on the River Eden
Golf in the local area
Lacy's Caves on the River Eden near Glassonby
Lacy's Caves
Long Meg & Her Daughters Stone Circle
Lowther Castle & Gardens, Penrith
The Lost Castle - Adventure Playground at Lowther Castle
The Lost Castle - Adventure Playground at Lowther Castle
Penrith at Christmas
Red Squirrel - see if you can spot any
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vereor
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Truly relaxing, clean, comfortable, idyllic”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We've stayed in a fair number of holiday rentals over the years with the same group of friends and this is probably the best we've ever been to.

The location is fantastic with a couple of supermarkets only 10 minutes away (drive) and within an hours drive to much of the lake district.

The house itself is finished to a very high standard and with every possible amenity provided. The only thing we found we didn't have was a corkscrew (as the one that was provided was broken) but we picked one up in town and left this for future guests. There were red, white and champagne glasses, plenty of pots and pans and utensils, dishwasher, washing machine, magazines and books, plenty of wood for the fire, soap, etc.

The welcome hamper was a lovely touch and we were also grateful that things like tea bags, coffee, milk and herbs were provided. It is annoying sometimes trying to cook when you realise you've forgotten to buy something you would have in abundance at home, so this seemed to make the kitchen a lot more homely.

The beds were excellent, the blackout blinds and total silence meant I had the best nights sleep I've had in a long time.

I really can't think of any faults and we will be back either to this or one of the other Rowley Estate properties.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2014
Hi Vereor

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your visit to Cazenovia Hall and we really appreciate your feedback and your generosity of helping with another cork screw which is definitely essential equipment for a long weekend in the Lakes! Please get in touch if you all plan another visit to our cottages and we would be happy to give you all an extra bottle of wine to say thanks for the help with the shopping for the cork screw on this stay! Best regards Christine and Charlie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful building and bedrooms
Liked least: Having to leave so soon
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Oct 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review of your weekend stay at Cazenovia Hall. We are so pleased that you all had such a great time and also that you managed to mingle with fellow guests at Blencowe Hall!
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Oct 2014
Hi,
Thank you so much for leaving a lovely review of your break at Cazenovia Hall. We are delighted that you all had such an enjoyable stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Oct 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review of your stay at Cazenovia Hall - we are so pleased you all had such a great time and enjoyed the pool table too!
Hopefully we can welcome you all back again soon.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephanie...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning house with beautiful view. And a cracking pub in the next village!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Cazenovia Hall is as beautiful as in the photos. Loads of space, a perfect place to entertain a large group.

Surrounded by stunning countryside, but near enough to the lovely village of greystokes (20 min walk along the lane). The local pub serves excellent food and ales.

Good location if you're planning to drive to explore the lakes. Only 30 minutes to Ullswater and 15 minutes to Penrith.

Would definitely go back again with friends or family. Big enough to not be falling over each other, with great spaces to spend time all together.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2014
Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review of Cazenovia Hall. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay so much. Let's hope we will get the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$299
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing