We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a find has to best holiday rental we have...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cazenovia Hall

Cazenovia Hall's private terraced entrance and front gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cazenovia Hall's private terraced entrance and front gardens
The Old Orchard Garden of Blencowe Hall next to Cazenovia Hall and Wythburn Cottage Chef's kitchen - equipped with 4 oven aga, electric oven, gas hob and massive cooking island
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Cazenovia Hall's private terraced entrance and front gardens
The Old Orchard Garden of Blencowe Hall next to Cazenovia Hall and Wythburn Cottage
Chef's kitchen - equipped with 4 oven aga, electric oven, gas hob and massive cooking island
Open Dining Hall with antique beech table which converts to a billiards table (equipment provided)
A view from the dining area back into the kitchen
A view from the dining area in Cazenovia Hall through to the courtyard garden
Looking through the kitchen towards the rear garden
A view from the kitchen area of Cazenovia Hall towards the handmade galleried oak staircase
A view from the oak gallery at Cazenovia Hall over the dining area and kitchen
Main reception room with large open log burning fire and private terraces facing Lake District fells
The Gin Case reception room with an open fire (used to be a gin engine area for horses in the past)
A quiet place for a read and relax in Cazenovia Hall
The ground floor Lincklaen bedroom with zip and link beds
The Lincklaen Room in the afternoon sun
The ground floor Lincklaen ensuite bathroom
The groundfloor Madison Room, ensuite with a shower room and wc with a five foot bed
The first floor Lorenzo Room ensuite bedroom with six foot antique bed
The ensuite bathroom for the Lorenzo room with separate shower and cast iron bath
Chittenango Room first floor ensuite with a shower room and wc, with twin size antique beds
Cazenovia Hall Floor Plans - Access Statements available on our website The Rowley Estates
A view across the gardens towards Cazenovia Hall's private sandstone terrace
Cazenovia Hall's sandstone terraces equipped with Weber charcoal grill
The rear view of Cazenovia Hall facing Blencowe Hall courtyard
The orchard garden at Cazenovia Hall
Cazenovia Hall in the winter with a view towards Mell Fell and the Lake District
A sunny winter afternoon at Cazenovia Hall, relaxing in front of the log burning fire, logs provided
Cazenovia Hall is within the 30 acre grounds of Grade I listed Blencowe Hall
The View from Greystoke Castle nearby looking back towards Blencowe
The Lady of the Lake
Lady Wakefield
Aerial view of Ullswater
Historic steamer on Ullswater
Steamer leaving Howtown
Ullswater in the snow
Ullswater in the spring
Aira Force at the side of Ullswater which is owned by The National Trust
Fishing on the River Eden
Golf in the local area
Lacy's Caves on the River Eden near Glassonby
Lacy's Caves
Long Meg & Her Daughters Stone Circle
Lowther Castle & Gardens, Penrith
The Lost Castle - Adventure Playground at Lowther Castle
The Lost Castle - Adventure Playground at Lowther Castle
Penrith at Christmas
Red Squirrel - see if you can spot any
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“What a find has to best holiday rental we have made”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Searched the internet for days trying to find a place for the family for my sons birthday,
we looked a couple of time at this place and could not make our mind, but am I glad we did fantastic, well furnished, spacious great grounds (pity the weather was bad) but you don't need the weather you could stay here for the duration and not go out.
I have no complaints at all and the owners were so helpful no complaints at all.
I could fill this page with pictures.
we will be back again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sha...
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“All I can say is...wow!”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We had been looking forward to this holiday for a long time and the group was made up of four generations. When we arrived at Cazenovia Hall it took our breath away, no one was allowed to touch anything until all the photos had been taken! I thought we had stayed in nice places before but nothing compares with Cazenovia . We had the master bedroom and the bed was amazing, everyone commented on the comfort and quality of beds, bedding, toiletries and everything else. We loved cooking on the Aga and my grand daughter who was still crawling loved the open space and underfloor heating. The thought that has been put into this property by the owners and the tasteful manner in which it has been converted is astounding. The welcome pack was fantastic and The Boot and Shoe in Greystoke the perfect pub. This easter we are staying at Hause Hall Farm another property belonging to The Rowley Estates and I cannot wait.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn J
Auchtermuchty
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 5 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Cazenovia Hall for a short break with three generations of the same family. We all had an amazing time. The house is beautiful and very clean. The beds are pure luxury......I only tried the master bedroom! I loved the aga and the open fire. There was so much space and we never felt we were on top of each other. The kitchen is better equiped than my own! The welcome pack was amazing. Bathrooms were all lovely and full of complementary products.
The pool table was great entertainment. We didn't want to leave and I'm already planning a return visit.
By far the best holiday house I've had the pleasure of staying in! Pictures don't do it justice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Form the minute I walked in the door I felt at home!
Liked least: Closing the door when we left!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jo C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had such high expectations of this property, having looked at the website at length and we weren't disappointed. Our party had a young child and we were relieved to find the travel cot set up and the highchair in the kitchen as requested. Cazenovia Hall is very spacious and we were all able to relax and enjoy lots of family time both inside and outside. Although we travelled to Cumbria to see the lakes, we actually preferred staying at home and enjoying this beautiful house. We really appreciated having outside space where the kids could run around safely. You can tell that Cazenovia Hall has been renovated with love and care. We found the guest information book really helpful and the manager friendly. The children didn't want to go home as they loved playing in the garden and having their own bathroom! Of all the places we stayed on our trip, we found this was the best value on a 'per person per night basis'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful lien and beds. We all slept so well.
Liked least: Moving on to the next hotel
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;