We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic Location and Fantastic Accommodation”
Hause Hall Farm at the base of Hallin Fell with Lake Ullswater just below down the Hause
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hause Hall Farm at the base of Hallin Fell with Lake Ullswater just below down the Hause
View from the exterior yorkstone terrace of Hause Hall, Weber BBQ and teak garden furniture provided
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Hause Hall Farm at the base of Hallin Fell with Lake Ullswater just below down the Hause
View from the exterior yorkstone terrace of Hause Hall, Weber BBQ and teak garden furniture provided
The Day Room at Hause Hall over looking the fells and the spectacular Lake District National Park
The dining area with a victorian mahogany table is open plan to the kitchen
The breakfasting kitchen
The central reception in Hause Hall with cast iron open fireplace and high speed satellite broadband
The Master Bedroom suite at Hause Hall includes a large dressing room and an ensuite bathroom
The ensuite Master Bathroom at Hause Hall Farm with a cast iron roll top bath and separate shower
The ensuite Martindale Room has an antique king size bed and handmade oak storage cupboards
The Martindale Room ensuite shower room
The Sandwick bedroom has two three foot twin beds and a private bathroom across the Hall
The Bannerdale ensuite bedroom on the first floor, the beds can be arranged as a king bed or twins
Bannerdale Room ensuite with cast iron roll top bath set into the eaves and shower
The ground floor Rampsgill Bedroom with full ensuite
The ensuite to the Rampsgill Bedroom with its cast iron roll-top bath
Hause Hall Farm floor plans, Access Statement available on our website The Rowley Estates
A view of the lake from the top of Martindale Hause
Early morning by Lake Ullswater
Hallin Fell from the shores of Ullswater
The exposed shoreline when the water is low.  A great walk!
Hause Hall is walking distance down to Ullswater and its adjoining fields offer views of the lake
A picturesque view from the yorkstone terrace - sustainable plantation teak garden furniture
An aerial view over Hause Hall Farm and the surrounding fells of the Lake District National Park
Aira Force owned by The National Trust and a great place for a walk
Ride on a steamer
Lady of the Lake one of the historic steamers which sail on Ullswater
Sunset over Ullswater
Map of Ullswater
Steamer leaving Howtown on Ullswater
The summit of Hallin Fell
Glenridding & Ullswater from Place Fell
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RHB111
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Idyllic Location and Fantastic Accommodation”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A group of nine friends and a small dog stayed here in November. Both the location and the accommodation are stunning. With each room having its own private bathroom it has the benefit of hotel style accommodation with the addition of beautiful dining and living space with a cozy open fire at one end and a lovely day room with fantastic views at the other.

From the booking process through to arrival and departure the team could not be more helpful. A lovely welcome hamper not only contained wine and treats for us but also for our dog too.

We popped into the Bar at the Howtown hotel which was very quaint and around 20 mins or so walk. A car is a must really and we hired from local firm Eden Garage who are very helpful dropping off and picking up the cars at Penrith Station.

Hause Hall must be one of the best places to stay on Ullswater. Definitely hope to return one day.

Thanks to all Christine and Jilly for a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay at Hause Hall Farm. We agree with you about the location it is stunning and thank you for all your kind comments they are very much appreciated by us and our team, we will make sure they all get to see them. It's great that you got out and about in the area and that Eden Garage were very helpful, this is good to know and very useful for future guests.
We would be thrilled to welcome you back please get in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lake District. Kind regards Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just a perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed here for a family birthday celebration. There were 14 of us all together, so we used the hall and the barn, which worked perfectly. Both were of a very high standard, with everything you could wish for.
The Wraiths that stayed in the barn called it a Hobbit home, which sums it up, a quirky layout with lots of interesting nooks and crannies.
We were blessed with good weather and the autumnal colours from the living room were lovely.
On the Saturday evening we had Lynn Hilditch Catering, to cook and serve a three course meal, which was delicious. We would highly recommend Lynn.
Thanks must go to Jilly for all her help before and after out stay.
We loved it do much, we all want to go back again soon

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2016
Hi, Thank you for leaving this great review regarding Hause Hall & Cruik Barn. We are delighted that you enjoyed your family birthday celebration and found it to be 'Perfect place to stay' especially with the autumnal view. Thank you for your kind comments they are very much appreciated by us and our team and Lynn. I will make sure they all get to see them. We would be thrilled to welcome you all back for another visit please get in touch next time you are planning a trip to The Lake District. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coopertan
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THE most idyllic location and venue”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I can't believe there's a better place to rent in the Lakes than Hause Hall.

We were a party of 13 spread over two of the three properties for three nights.

Tescos delivered to us so no need to go into Penrith or in fact do any other shopping. The welcome hamper on arrival was a lovely touch, and the views that greet you across Martindale are just fantastic.

The house is beautifully kept and furnished to the highest order and very well equipped. Good size bedrooms, clean en-suites... modern meets traditional, expertly done.

Absolutely no need to use the car - we did all our walks from the house... Pooley Bridge is a 5 mile walk (up the eastern edge of Ullswater) where there's plenty of good pubs to have lunch and then get the 'steamer' back across the lake to Howtown. Howtown Hotel is old school but quiet and well kept - has a small public bar and tea room.

6 miles the other way will take you to Glenridding and Patterdale.
An essential walk is the 30-minute climb up Hallin Fell directly behind the house. As Wainwright points out, for very little investment Hallin Fell offers a quite fantastic reward.

With its remarkable scenery, roaming sheep(!) and peaceful surrounds a stay at Hause Hall provides an immersive Lakeland experience which may well be tough to beat.
The only complaint? I should have booked it for longer

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this very informative review on TripAdvisor. Your comments are not only much appreciated by us and our team but they are very useful for future guests thinking of staying at Hause Hall. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hause Hall & Cruik Barn and loved the views which as you say are 'just fantastic'! and it's great that you were able to walk and explore the surrounding area. What a superb idea to get your shopping delivered to the door! We would be thrilled to welcome you back to Hause Hall & Cruik Barn, please get in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria and The Lake District.
Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoia20...
cotswolds
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Utterly fabulous lake district gem”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I stayed at Hause Hall (and Cruick Barn) with 13 others for my 50th Birthday. The accomodation was absolutely perfect, rustic barns expertly restored with modern amenities and real home comforts. The location was idyllic with unspoilt views, walking and mountain biking on your doorstep and a whole host of other activities. The customer service and attention to detail from the Rowley Estates team was spot on. All in all an utterly fabulous gem in a tucked away, but beautiful part of the Lake District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, ambience
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Hi thank you all for choosing to come to Hause Hall Farm for your birthday celebration last month & for your kind feedback. We hope to have the chance to welcome you for another visit sometime soon! With all our best wishes, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_B1971
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow - a pure gem in a stunning location!”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

3 of us plus Bob (a large old English sheep dog!) stayed in this wonderful house for an amazing week in March. Weather was glorious making the views from the sun room simply stunning (although we all agree we would be equally happy here on a stormy rainy day as the house is so cosy and welcoming).
We booked late (one day before arriving!) so got a good deal that meant staying in such a large house was feasible for 3 people (+ dog) but despite the house size, it really was incredibly homely, warm and snug. We spent most of our time in the wonderful sun room which was a joy (even saw a lamb being born in the field at the end of the garden from the comfort of this room!!). Bedrooms are lovely - comfortable beds and clean, roomy en-suite bathrooms. The kitchen is incredibly well equipped with a cooker and separate aga (although as Aga virgins, we failed miserably when we attempted to cook with it!). There is an enormous dining table that whilst a little large for 3, would be fantastic for a large family gathering or group of friends.
We didn't see inside the two other accommodation buildings but I have no doubt they would be as well equipped as the main house.
In terms of location, this place is second to none. The drive up to the house can be a little hairy but once you are used to it, it only adds to the sense of getting totally away from it all. There are numerous walks right from the door - we only used the car once during our week long stay which was bliss! We pretty much walked every ridge and peak we could see from the sun room and can highly recommend Lowther Barn Cafe as a watering stop (with great scones!) - only 15 mins walk from the house. The walk to Glenridding is also well worth it and whilst the ferry back to Howtown was FREEZING, it was a great way to see more of the Ullswater.
All in all, a fabulous week in the lakes and we are already planning a return trip with friends & family!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Sun room
Liked least: The Aga made the living room a little hot for us but we did have unseasonably warm March weather!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
Hi thank you very much indeed for providing this detailed review and helpful feedback regarding your stay at Hause Hall Farm. It was great that we were able to accommodate you all with one day's notice! We would be delighted to welcome you all for a return visit anytime :) Best regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing