We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super-cosy”

Review of Elk Cottage

Elk Cottage rear gated terrace and open plan gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Elk Cottage rear gated terrace and open plan gardens
A view from the upper lawned gardens of Elk Cottage down to the private courtyard garden The courtyard garden with teak garden furniture, a Weber BBQ and locally sourced charcoal for guests
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Elk Cottage rear gated terrace and open plan gardens
A view from the upper lawned gardens of Elk Cottage down to the private courtyard garden
The courtyard garden with teak garden furniture, a Weber BBQ and locally sourced charcoal for guests
The kitchen and utility room at Elk Cottage with dishwasher, microwave and washing machine / dryer
The well equipped kitchen at Elk Cottage, guests receive a generous welcome hamper and wine
The courtyard garden at Elk Cottage looking towards the raised flower beds leading up to the lawns
A great place to relax at the end of the day exploring in the Lake District and the Pennines
The Dining Room at Elk Cottage has french doors opening out onto a lawned area
The Dining Room opens through to the reception room with a cast iron wood burning fire
Elk Cottage living room with wood burning fire
The ensuite Master Bedroom with a five foot king size antique oak bed and 2nd private entrance
Another view of the Master Bedroom with an antique linen fold carved king size bed
The Master Bedroom ensuite bathroom with a shower over the cast iron bath
The second ensuite bedroom at Elk Cottage with a super king six foot bed and hand painted wardrobe
The second ensuite bedroom has a 6 foot bed that can be arranged as twins as requested
The second bedroom ensuite shower room with a rainfall shower and chrome heated towel rail
Elk Cottage Floor Plan - Access Statements available on our website The Rowley Estates
Elk Cottage is a 5* rated Grade II listed sandstone cottage with two ensuite BRs and wood fire
The summertime view from Glassonby over the Eden Valley to the Pennines
The Eden River footpath near Daleraven within walking distance from Elk Cottage
Neighbours in the village of Glassonby and the early morning view over the Estate
The National Lottery funded playground in the village, walking distance from Elk Cottage
The wintertime view from the lane leading to Elk Cottage across our family farm
The view to the Pennines from the village of Glassonby
The nearby village of Melmerby in the foothills of the Pennines with a great bakery & village shop
Sailing on Ullswater
The Lady of the Lake
Lady Wakefield
Dalemain historic house and lovely gardens
Fabulous hiking
A view over Ullswater in the early morning
The top of Honister slate mines in the wintertime
Hutton in the Forest historical home and parkland
Daffodils by the Lake
Great fishing
Our son quadbiking at Rookin House Farm
The Ullswater Steamers
Levens Hall amazing ancient topiary gardens
Sailing on Ullswater
The market town of Penrith
Aira Force managed by The National Trust ideal for walking
The Lady of the Lake - historic steamer on Ullswater
Sunset over Ullswater
Ullswater
Map of Ullswater
Rheged - a Lake Disrtict attraction with family activities, shopping, cafes, cinema and exhibitions
Steamer on Ullswater leaving Howtown
Ullswater in Spring
Ullswater in the snow
Summit of Hallin Fell overlooking Ullswater
Aerial view of Ullswater
Lowther Castle & Gardens, Penrith
The Lost Castle - Adventure Playground at Lowther Castle
The Lost Castle - Adventure Playground at Lowther Castle
Penrith at Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wilhelm O
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super-cosy”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great walks all around. Ideal base for cycling.
Take care to bring food and drink on your first night because the nearest supermarket is miles away.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2014
Hi thank you for taking the time to provide a Trip Advisor review relating to your visit to Elk Cottage. I will post a note on our website about the location of the nearest supermarket and appreciate the suggestion. We love the cycling in the local area and have a friend with a cycle rental business who will drop bicycles to the cottage at your request. Thank you again for coming to Elk Cottage. Best regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ombersley
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Daniel R
Yarm, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We set out and booked two of the Cottages out for the New Year Eve. Time away with friends. The place was booked by another member of the party and we really did not know what to expect.
Driving cross country over the hills in the beautiful surrounding of the Lakes. When we arrive at the Cottage the place looked perfect from the outside. We where soon to realise that the inside was just the same.
This is totally a tremendous place to spend time. Elk and Jennys Cottages had the best of interiors and beautiful decor. Everything we needed was there, we had everything we needed and the real fire was a perfect feature.
We will 100% go back to these cottages and already looking into dates to return.
Brilliant.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Perfection
Liked least: Nothing - Signal
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2014
Dear Mr Robson,

Thank you for your review and we would be delighted to welcome you all back again in future! Best regards, Christine and Charles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bliss in the Lake District”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We went away seeking a break from London and found it at Elk Cottage and the Rowley Estates. The gardens were great with plenty of space for our spaniel to run around well off the country lane leading to Elk Cottage and we appreciated getting out at night to see the stars - certainly no light pollution in Glassonby!
The nearby pub, the Fetherston Arms and newly re-opened Crown Inn were hard to choose between the two and we were able to take our dog into the Fetherston Arms bar which was fab.
The new log burning stove is great and we enjoyed relaxing by the fire after a day out walking. Lacy's Caves and the walk down by the Eden from Elk is great. We also caught the Settle Carlisle out for an afternoon and went right over the bridge on an amazing viaduct where we had walked the day before.

Beds were extremely comfortable, kitchen spotless and very well fitted out and bathrooms immaculate.

This really is 5* lifestyle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the exceptional standard of this cottage, much better than others we have visited
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Reviewed 21 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing