We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish at its best”

The Old Fishmarket by Sankey's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$92
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Situated in the Old Fishmarket building in the heart of the Pantiles, Sankey's exclusive Champagne & Seafood bar is the jewel in the town's crown. Serving a wide range of Champagne & sparkling wines from around the world, it's a fabulous place to relax and enjoy the very best british fish & shellfish. We specialise in Oysters and Shellfish. A range of Oysters never before seen in the town from Carlingford, Colchester, Lindisfarn, The Dutchy of Cornwall to name a few. Fresh crabs & lobsters from cornwall arrive live and direct fron Cadgwith cove and are dressed by our chefs on site daily. The menu comprises of Oysters, Starters & Mains as any contempory menu does, but also allows you to build your own platters. So be it for a a light lunch, pre evening nibble or a full banquette The Old Fishmarket is the ideal venue.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Walked in a Saturday night and managed to get two places at the bar overlooking the chefs . Started with the warm brown shrimps which were delicious. Also the the fish chowder which was homemade chunky and very tasty . Both helped down by fresh sourdough.
Main courses were a roasted seafood mix with lobster as the star. Excellent.
I had the local Dover sole wish was cooked to perfection in front of me.Again excellent.
Deserts of crime brûlée and coffee ice cream were fresh and tasty.
This is a small intimate restaurant serving good fish and a must if in Tunbridge Wells.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank michaeloV8163UO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a most pleasant and tasty lunch. Seafood is never cheap, but the quality and service was superb

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank paulsig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

We have been to the Old Fishmarket many times, both as a couple & with friends: we have never been let down. The food is superb, the staff attentive & efficient and the ambience is second to none. It always feels like a special occasion when we eat here. This time I tried lobster and it was superb. We are so lucky having many excellent restaurants in Tunbridge Wells, and this is one of the very best.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jolleyrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

Made a booking based on the reviews on TA and not disappointed. Had the basic seafood platter which was a delicious mix of various sea foods washed down with excellent white wine. Staff attentive. Recommended

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

followed by moules marinière is quite probably the best way to pass a Sunday lunch in the sun. Attentive, friendly staff made it a most pleasurable visit.

Perhaps I'm a heathen but, I do prefer pommes frites with my moules. That said, the House baked bread took a pretty good second place.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spooncarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Fishmarket by Sankey's also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to The Old Fishmarket by Sankey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing