We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch”

The Poachers Pocket
Ranked #17 of 144 Restaurants in Chatham
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had a meal in here , it was a very reasonable price , service was good , plenty of parking .They do offers , and there was a good selection of non alcoholic drinks as well as alcohol .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank merritt402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni D, Manager at The Poachers Pocket, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks for ure review they mean a lot to us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

So decided to go for something to eat at the poachers pocket (they have a new menu) have been going here on and off for a while now well tonight Thursday 29/03/18 at around 6ish arrived got a table and our drinks and ordered food, starter fine!! Waited another 45 mins after that for mains and a dish that says comes with mash it didn’t it came with chips which I didn’t want (as I ordered a dish with mash) and the new dish in the menu of pie with steak on-top well the pie was fine the steak on top was cold and chewy and over done as I ordered it medium but we couldn’t find any waitress to tell her and normally they come up part way through the meal to ask if everything is ok but they didn’t so I ate the pie and peas and left the rest when a waitress finally did come to ask if we had finished I told her should of come with mash she said sorry we have run out of mash you should of been told when ordering(we wasn’t) but strange running out of mash!! And I told her about the steak being cold and over cooked she said she would go and have a word with the kitchen but she never returned to us with and answer or anything then another waitress just put our pudding on the table in-front of us without saying anything either.
Very disappointed in tonight’s events and will seriously be thinking to go somewhere else local to eat, and this is the issue about paying for your food before you even get it doesn’t matter does it once the establishment has your money!!!!

Thank Kezzyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni D, Manager at The Poachers Pocket, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

We are sorry that your recent visits was not up to our normal standards and can assure you that this will not happen again we hope you return so that we can prove this to you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Parking: On walderslade rd, so very easy to find and loads of parking and side roads close to Restaurant are free and plentiful. Outside is tidy and pleasant on the eye with a grass area with tables and chairs but no children's play area as before.

Inside the area is well looked after and feels clean even if there always seems to be a mess from kids as it can get busy. The atmosphere is inviting and easy going but don't forget it is on the edge of 2 council estates and is very cheap to visit.

Food : Is very reasonable and offers different items on special everyday. the restaurant is a Hungry Horse and website is easy to master. Tables cant be booked on a Friday Saturday Sunday, but a quick phone call they will confirm how busy.

You will get seated and a bucket will be delivered to the table with cutlery and sauces, but you place your order at bar and pay so don't forget your table number. Staff very friendly but when busy food can take a while but very tasty.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnB250250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni D, Manager at The Poachers Pocket, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Most of the food was sold out, the chicken was dry and looked like processed chicken and staff don’t communicate properly, wasn’t told they had sold out of food till after 1 hour of waiting for our dinners

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank meganrandall1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni D, Assistant manager at The Poachers Pocket, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

We are sorry that your experience wasn’t up to the normal standard that we give please come back and try us again as I’m sure this was a one off

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Regularly go to The Poachers. Always very good value for money and friendly efficient service. Have daily offers for all tastes some including drinks also a smaller portion menu for us 'oldies' although if you choose a sweet that is normal size.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gillyr46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni D, Manager at The Poachers Pocket, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you for you kind review and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Poachers Pocket also viewed

 

Been to The Poachers Pocket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing